First off, the grounds and building look great. There is a nice view of the marina and bay behind the hotel itself. We were all smiles when when walked in the door. We sat at the reception desk and asked for room availability. We did not have reservations made. We asked how much two king size bedrooms would cost and were immediately given prices for a suite. It immediately became apparent that there was a language barrier, but we were working through it. We tried to pay for the two king size suites but were told we could not until the rooms were ready. The needed to prepare the rooms and turn on the hot water. This was at 6:20pm. We didnt't think much of this and decided to eat at the hotel restaurant while the staff did what they needed to do. We relaxed at the dinner table and took our time having been assured there were no problems.
After dinner, we went back to the reception and again attempted to pay for two king size suites. The price had increased from what we were told. We asked why and the clerk told us that the rate that she showed us on the paper was not in the computer and could not be offered. So we asked for the new price again. It again changed. The same thing happened about three times. At this point we had no idea what was being charged for what and just wanted a total price with no add ins. We simply wanted a basic room rate and were not getting an answer. The clerk had no way of telling us why the room rate went form $234 to $366 per room, per night.
At this point, we were in the DR at almost 9pm and finding a new place was not at option. We knew we had to stay here so we paid whatever it was that the clerk finally decided on. I asked if there was a manager that we could speak to and was told no. I then asked if there would be a manager the next day and was again told no.
Okay fine, so we get worked over for extra money and had to stay. We were very tired and just wanted to shower and sleep. Here is where the fun started.
We are taken to our rooms by the bell hop (who did not ask or attempt to carry out bags). We were shown the rooms and they looked acceptable. A small kitchen, seating area, king size bed, and nice bathroom with a shower. After the bell hop left we started to organize our things and then take a shower.
No hot water.
We called the front dest and told them of the issue but they were more concerned about whether or not we actually knew how to use the faucet. They sent a person up to demostrate the proper use of the faucet. I began to get really irritated at this point and made him check himself. Again, No Hot Water. At this point I also mention the tripping circuit breaker that is causing a lack of electricity to the bedside lamps.
Now it's about 10pm and we all really want a shower and to sleep. And only now are they attempting to call service staff. We asked for new rooms, but were told they needed to be prepared in the same way.
At 11:05 we are brought to our new rooms. Two suites in a different part of the hotel. Issues arise immediately again. The rooms were smaller, they were not king size beds, and not what we were charged extra for. In one room, the bedroom door was locked and could not be entered. The bell hop finds this funny as we are upset and begins to laugh at us. It took more time to find the key to open the door for one room. At least there was hot water.
In the second room, there was a pile of garbage from a contruction repair in the main room to great us. At this point I just stay quiet and want to shower and sleep. I check for hot water and was happy to see that it worked. The shower however was broken. The knob on the shower head faucet was broken and we had to use the hand wand to bath. There was no tub so that was not an option either.
I was extremely unhappy with the stay. We ended up paying top dollar prices for a luxury suite that was not provided. There was a lack of staff to work out our issues. The staff that was there was unprofessional (one openly laughed at us).
I will be contacting management but judging by the treatment we got while we were there, I do not expect to hear from them.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
28 February 2012
Dear Mr. M.,
Report response as inappropriate
First of all we would like to thank you for sharing your comments about our Hotel. The Bannister Hotel’s team is always open to receive constructive remarks so that we can improve our quality and service to our guests.
In the name of all our staff, I would like to apologize for everything you had to deal with during your stay, it is completely unacceptable for us to have an unhappy guest. We assure you that measures have been taken to ensure that this will never happen again to any of our guests.
As you mention in your comment, I would be glad to speak to you about your experience. Below is my contact information.
We stay at your entire disposition for any further information,
+1 809 5036363
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC