Staying here last year was a pleasant experience, but this time I think we ran into every possible problem others have experienced. Check in was long and confusing. We had three rooms booked by three different people. Not rocket science. Dirk went in circles for over 30 minutes before we all were paid up and had our keys. They prefer payment in $US, a pain for Canadians, and charge extra if you want to pay with your credit card. When we wanted to pay in pesos, the exchange was chore, he first told us that $176 equalled 3000 pesos. I'm not a total idiot and made him show me his calculations - surprise - it was only 2300 pesos. Had my mother been dealing with him alone, she would have ended up paying the extra. My mom's room had also been listed with 4 people, there were only three staying. This had been clarified through an email. Dirk took the extra $10 a night (for 3 nights) off the bill when we paid. Anna came back 2 days later and asked for the money! We did make an agreement to pay half - her problem was with booking.com, so we were a little sympathetic.
The 2 rooms booked through booking.com included breakfast, while mine did not - not a problem, I didn't expect it to as i had booked directly with Anna. Dirk made sure we knew that we wouldn't get the meal vouchers. We normally just head out to a juice stand and the bakery around the corner. $5 feeds the 4 of us a nice breakfast. The first morning he handed my sister vouchers for all of us. I thought it was a nice touch of customer service after the awkward check in. No mention of paying for them. I thanked him after breakfast. Next day, same thing. I thanked him again for breakfast - maybe he's making up for the noise? Third day - again. When we went to check out, Anna wanted an extra $60 for the meals! She went right off the deep end when I told her I wasn't paying. She could not understand how I would not pay for something I did not ask for, and really didn't want. Good customer service would have been to apolgize for the error and promise to make it clearer next time. Instead I got shouting and a door slammed. She needs to figure out that if her husband offers something, it's pretty tacky to come back later and ask for the money back.
The guy atthe desk at the time was apologetic and quite nice about things. I did make the mistake of leaving the luggage there while we went for lunch. We had 2 hours after checkout before our bus left.
I really didn't think she might stoop so low, but when we made it to the Cancun airport and were stowing our last few purchases in our luggage before checking in, we discovered the suitcases had been gone through. We have a very specific way of packing and it was completely out of order. We put the luggage on on the bus, we took it off - nobody touched them there. The only place it could have happened was at the hotel. Several hundred dollars in jewellery and souvenirs was missing. Nice - everything from tacky little cloth wallets to a silver and amethyst bracelet were missing. All had been wrapped up and placed in the centre of suitcases inside other clothes. You really had to dig to get at them.
The bar next door was in full swing every day. It did stop at 9pm, but you couldn't stand to be anywhere near your room until then. No afternoon siestas, that's for sure.
Construction on 10th ave made it pretty dusty on the patio.
Overall, it was all things we could have put up with if it hadn't been for Anna and the theft. I would never stay there again as long as she is around.
To avoid some of the bar noise, do not stay in rooms 4 or 5.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
5 August 2012
We value your feedback as we are always glad to receive constructive criticism which allows us to improve our services. We are sorry that your vacation wasn't as satisfying as it was the previous year.
Report response as inappropriate
I would like to answer to all of your complaints point by point as I feel they are giving an image of our business that doesn't coincide with our standards, neither with the impression our other guests have had.
As for the problem at the moment of the check-in we recall that you and your family booked three rooms with various rates, demand a discount and wanted to pay in different currencies, all of which created a little confusion. By no means did Dirk try to overcharge you and when he realized that he made a mistake only asked for the price he was entitled to charge. We are honest people and never let our customers pay for something they didn't consume. We apologize, it clearly wasn't our intention to overcharge you but rather a result of a momentary confusion.
When your family booked through the agency the only option to book the Grand Superior rooms in our hotel was for either two or four people, which makes it necessary to book a room for four people if you have three guests staying in a room. We cannot influence the online booking system, but we would like to remind you that out of curtesy we gave you a discount although we had to pay the full price to the agency.
The breakfast vouchers that you received were requested by your sister so that you could have breakfast together as a family. Apart from the breakfasts that were included in the price of the reservation you consumed 12 extra breakfasts that were not included in the price (and that nobody mention being complimentary) for a total cost of 60USD, which is a very reasonable price.
We think that it is very usual to pay for what you consume and it would have been impolite to remind you every day we handed out the vouchers to your family that they would have to pay for the meals which were clearly not included in the rate.
Now I would like to comment on this very heavy and false accusation about one of us supposedly opening your luggage and taking things out. We understand that you were very upset when you wrote this review but you are accusing someone in a temper of a crime and thus causing serious damage to our reputation.
I would personally never steal from anyone and we take all of the precautions to prevent any theft in our Hotel.
We are sorry about your personal belongings being stolen and we cannot tell you who opened your luggage but it definitely wasn't us.
This would have been clear by checking your luggage at the hotel in the moment you got it back from our free of charge storage.
We welcome also your remark about the noise pollution coming from the bar next door that prevented you from having afternoon siestas. We pride ourselves on being one of the most centrally located hotels in Playa del Carmen. Occasionally due to the site of the hotel we experience some noise disturbance. With the support of the local authorities we compel our neighbor to limit the sound level so this problem has been solved for good.
Finally, we understand any inconvenience caused by the building site of the street, which was beyond our control. The 10th Avenue has been beautifully finished since April 2012 and the hotel patio is clean again.
Again, we are very sorry about your dissatisfaction and that your experience with us did not meet your expectations.
Anna Paola Colombo
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC