“Trip from hell. STAY AWAY!”
I have been to the Caribbean a numerous amount of times, and I can honestly say that I have never been so disgusted in my life. I am going to keep this short and to the point, because in all honesty, I am trying to save you from both your time AND your money!
Service: The service was all over the place. Very disorganized, scattered all over the place, and it was just a mess. The entire vacation seemed like it was in midst of a jungle. The staff was not friendly, and it seemed as though no one genuinely cared whether you were there or not.
Food: Terrible, terrible, terrible. As you may have read in previous reviews, I am not a picky eater, but I came back 5 pounds lighter after the Bahia Principe San Juan. The variation was atrocious. I survived on pasta and bread all week after trying the chicken and experiencing an entire day in bed due to extensive hours in pain from an upset stomach.
Beach: Um, what? There was a beach? I thought I was in Lake Ontario. Are you looking for clear water and white sand? Turn away before it's too late. You'll find grainy, dark sand and dark blue water with a rocky bottom and huge rocks in the middle of the water. If I knew I'd be swimming in Lake Ontario, I would have stayed home.
Rooms: Average. Although they were on the verge of breaking down and needing serious renovations. (ahem, the hair dryer outlet seemingly broke off as I was blow-drying my hair. Experienced a serious scare there).
And last but not least...... I came home with a nasty bug I caught somehow that was pesky enough to spread to the rest of my family. As soon as I came back to Canada and had visited my doctor, it turned out that I had caught some bacteria while there. Some of the symptoms were fever, sore throat, nausea, a terrible cough, loss of voice, diarrhea and an entire week off work! Yes, this bacteria was bad enough to keep me from work. I was on antibiotics for 2 weeks. Needless to say, I tried contacting the hotel manager to see if they would try and compensate for my poor experience - and they showed little, if any sympathy towards my situation. I responded back again and never heard back from them again. Let me remind you, this was in March... it is now almost August.
The Bahia Principe San Juan has made it official, I will never step foot in the Dominican Republic again.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
7 August 2012
Report response as inappropriate
Thank you very much for sharing your comments on our Tripadvisor community regarding your experience in our hotel. In Bahía Príncipe San Juan, we put a greatest interest on our client’s opinions, both positive and negative.
We regret so much that you did not enjoy your holidays as you were expecting and the fact that we did not meet your expectations regarding our facilities & services. Please be aware that your comments have been forwarded to the Hotel Management as well as the management of all our affected departments in order to evaluate and take the appropriate measures to avoid this kind of discomfort.
We are very impressed with the observation regarding our staff as generally we always received positive comments regarding how helpful, friendly & professionalism they are. And also, it does not reflect the professional behavior to which our employees are formed and trained. However, we apologize if you felt that our staff did not offer the treatment you were entitled to.
Concerning our food. I would like to explain that our restaurants were designed to cater to our diverse international clients. We are rather surprised as we carefully selected products which compose our gastronomy, in order to satisfy the demands of clients from many different nationalities who visit our hotel. I must say that the level of satisfaction obtained concerning the quality & variety of our food has always been very elevated according to the opinions reflected in our quality questionnaires. It is important to point out that our hotel is a safe and disease free complex. We can assure you that we follow strict program of hygiene and we work with established sanitation standards, which are monitored continuously by internal and external audits. Indeed, the Tour Operators organize frequent visits to our Resort, in order to make sure that we follow the established safety and hygiene patterns. For your tranquility, we would like also to mention that Bahía Príncipe San Juan has been recognized by Cristal America Consulting - Check Safety Group, which on a frequent basis, audits our Hotels in all Hygiene and Sanitary procedures, for our performance in hygienic and sanitary risks control. As you may know, certain risks are involved when travelling to the tropics, there are various factors that may contribute to illness, such as climate, temperature variation, combination of food and beverages, excessive sun exposures, personal reactions, consumption of food and beverages out of side of the property, and so on. We feel very regretful to learn that you became sick during your stay and hope that you have fully recovered.
We are very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the beach as you were expecting. Unfortunately the sand of the beaches on the north coast of our country are mostly dark and sometimes when it is rainy the water has an aspect of darkness but this is due to the tide and turbulence which caused the appearance of plants and algae but as this is a phenomenon of the nature we do not have any influence on it. Furthermore, regarding the sandbags these are situated just on one small part of the beach and the use of these are to protect the beach. Maybe, it does not look beautiful but this is the only way to protect the beach as we do not have any influence to the force of the nature.
In regard to the room condition. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience that you may have experience. We can assure you that our rooms are subject to a very strict daily supervision as well as the Housekeeping & Maintenance departments follow up established procedures. However, we look daily for ways to improve our facilities. We truly regret any discomfort and once more, we apologies for any difficulty caused.
Finally, we must say that our guest’s safety and well-being are two of the most important priorities that we care about. It represents a huge responsibility for a big part of our staff, organization and a big effort in order to create a safe environment that satisfies our clients' requirements, especially on a special time when they do not expect more than relax and enjoy their holidays.
We hope that regardless of your experience you would give us the opportunity to welcome you back in our hotel Bahía Príncipe San Juan to experience the hospitality of our people, the quality of our services & facilities and change any misperception that you may have about us, thus please feel free to contact us at: firstname.lastname@example.org.
Jefe Calidad & Customer Service Bahía Príncipe San Juan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC