We stayed here for 5 nights in July. When we arrived an hour and a half early, our room wasn't ready and we couldn't be accommodated until the correct check in time of 1500. No efforts were made to get us into a room as soon as possible, and we had the option of sitting in the reception area or outside in the park... we chose the latter (could have given us a cup of tea or something???) great welcome.
Cut to the chase, the service in this hotel is below average for what you pay, and as a young couple staying here we were not made to feel welcome. On entering the hotel once, after being guests for 3 nights already, we were asked where we were going when trying to get to our room....
On our arrival we had arranged to keep our bags at the hotel for a few days after our stay. Everything had been OK'd by reception, so we were very surprised when checking out, that the guy at the reception flatly refused. Basically we had to really argue/ get annoyed with the guy to get him to hold our bags for 2 nights extra. Then after that it didn't seem to be a problem, like it wasn't in the first place.
Overall: Comfy Bed. Impractical shower, the vanity gets soaked every time you have a shower. No complimentary robe. Extortionate prices for in room wifi. Incompetent housekeeping- walk in unannounced, forget towels, leave us with dirty cups & saucers.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
26 August 2012
Report response as inappropriate
Thank you very much for your recent review.
First and foremost, I must sincerely apologise to you for the variety of concerns that you have raised. Please rest assured that the experience that you have described here is not indicative of the usual high standard of hospitality and service that we are known for here at the London Hilton on Park Lane.
We do always make every attempt to have a room ready for our guests as soon as they arrive. That being said, in certain instances we are unable to check our guests in until the advertised check-in time of 3pm, and I am sorry to hear that in this instance we were not able to check you in until that time.
As regards to being stopped on the way to the room, while security is of course of the utmost importance for any hotel, it is an issue that must be approached with tact, and from what you have said I am under the impression that you did not feel that this was approached in an appropriate manner. I shall forward your comments to the head of our security department for further investigation and a follow-up with their team.
I must apologise again regarding the situation with your luggage storage. In most cases, we will store luggage for returning guests and in certain situations we will hold luggage for more than one day for non-returning guests. However, during the Olympic period due to security reasons we were unable to hold luggage for non-returning guests under any circumstances. I suspect that this was the case in this situation, and I do apologise that this was not clarified for you in the first place.
All in all, it does sound like your stay was not to your satisfaction, and I must apologise for this. I am glad to read that the bed itself was comfy, and I do hope that you were able to have an enjoyable visit here to London at the very least. Thank you very much once again for your review, and please do contact me at firstname.lastname@example.org if you do have any further enquiries or feedback.
Guest Services Manager
London Hilton on Park Lane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC