My husband and I have just had a three night stay at The Crown, in Room 14, which overlooks the Market Place.
Although we were happy enough with our room, we were both enormously disappointed at the amount of noise at night. There was absolutely NOTHING on their website about the excessive noise at the front – if there had been, I would have requested a room at the rear. The hotel, after all, is by no means cheap!
When we arrived we were told that there MAY be some noise from about 5am on the Friday night, due to the Saturday market being set up (there is apparently also one on a Wednesday). It actually started at 4.30am and went on for some hours, with metal poles being noisily set up. We started our day on Saturday absolutely exhausted!
On Saturday night we were looking forward to a good night’s sleep, but unfortunately it was not to be, as we were woken up at around midnight by drunks using foul language (one actually kicked over one of the charity glass fibre swans in the road). This carried on until around 3.30am.
We were not to have any better a night on Sunday either, as deliveries to the shops in the square started to come quite early, and a man presumably working for the Council, arrived at around 4.30am with a lorry containing two large water butts, and he then rather loudly started to water the hanging baskets!
On every occasion we were either given the option of being absolutely sweltering with the windows closed, and therefore unable to sleep, or opening the windows, which obviously made the noise worse, although to be honest, even with the windows closed, due to the age of the hotel, the windows could not have been expected to have kept the noise out, as buildings of this age do not have double glazing.
Although we were told there were ear plugs in the room – alas, they were insufficient to stop all the noise.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
7 August 2012
We were sorry to hear your comments via email and on Trip Advisor following your stay and wish you had brought your concerns to our attention during your stay or upon check out.
Report response as inappropriate
Noise out on the Market Place is, unfortunately, beyond our control and the experience you had was exceptional.
We have spoken with the market manager about setting up early in the market place and he has assured us he will address the issue.
Drunken behaviour in the market place is not the norm and, unfortunately damage was done to the public art swans that particiular weekend.
Being a City centre inn, we provide earplugs to minimise disruption by noise to our guests and provide fans in every room should it be too warm.
We are an inn, not an hotel and market ourselves thus. We are competitively priced for a city centre inn.
As we have said here and in correspondence to you, it is a pity you did not bring your concerns to us whilst you were staying here when we may have been able to do something to rectify any bad feeling.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC