This agriturismo looked very attractive on their website but was huge disappointment when experienced in real life. The villa itself is nice, especially the main hall were breakfast is served is a place to linger. By the way, breqkfast is good. Vast selection of sicilan breakfast, including their homegrown orange jam and orange juice. And not to forget plenty of cakes.
But there is something wrong. Tomatoes with mould, dirty apartments, bad plumbing (noise every time we used water in apartment). A lack of basic equipment in the kitchen. All in all we felt uncomfortable about this. May I point out that we have been to a dozen recidences and agriturismos in Italy and never experienced such a disappointment.
In all fairness it might be that the rooms (we stayed in a suite in the old house) in the new small houses are of a better standard. But avoid the so called suites in the palazzo. We informed the staff about our issues and despite their politeness and friendliness, they were not able to do anything to sort out our issues. In fact they were surprised that we found a kitchen with greasy walls to be below standard because in their view it was very clean.
I guess we come from a different culture. In the end we left the villa before our prebooked stay was over, so we could spend the rest of the holiday at a better location.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
7 July 2011
Report response as inappropriate
sorry for your disappointment, it is not true that we did nothing to help and solve your problems, we checked your room and when we came to see you could not tell what was actually dirty, I think it was a general feeling rather than a specific reference to something, otherwise you would have pointed out something to be cleaned!
The equipment of the kitchen includes dishes, cookware, cutlery of all sizes, cups, colander, cutting board, cups and saucers ... and it seems quite complete. I don't know what you would have found in, besides you asked for a coffee maker and we gave two, one large and one small, but they were both not good for you.
It's not a problem of different cultures and cleaning is the same in any country, what changes is the attitude of people and their needs.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC