The Bonerowsksi Palace is a beautifully restored hotel in a wonderful location and we had a lovely few days in this fascinating city. But why have untold sums of money been poured in renovating this hotel only for it to be run by people who are clearly have no interest in, nor understanding of, what guests require of a hotel?
If considering a visit, you may wish to be aware of the following:
1. Lack of attention to detail
My husband booked online direct with the hotel. The confirmation came back with the wrong dates. Unfortunately he had to cancel at the last minute, so our son came with me. The hotel assured us in writing that the driver at the airport would be holding up a sign in my name and that an extra bed would be placed in our room. This did not happen.
2. Quality of room
We had three nights in the Bonerowski Suite. This is enormous and beautifully decorated set of rooms. However:
- although there were 8 chairs and 2 sofas in the suite, they were cheaply and meanly made and not comfortable for any length of time. Picture 1.
- there is no chest of drawers so the only place for clothes is on shelves in the wardrobe.To open this side of the wardrobe an armchair must be moved each time. There is no place for a suitcase
- there were four large windows in our suite, three facing the square and one facing the side street. Each had wonderfully extravagant looking curtains but they were not hung on curtain tracks and so would not close. While I was ok about having to leave the curtains open at the front, the side window - picture 2 - looked straight into flats and office across the street - picture 3. Bear this in mind if you need darkness to sleep or if you would rather the locals did not see you in your undies.
- there is no hospitality tray, not unexpected in this type of hotel, but neither was there any mention of room service. So anyone fancying a cup of coffee, say, must nip out to find a cafe on the square which offers take out.
- there is a minibar but, contrary to the room folder, there was no price list for the contents
- there is apparently a sauna in the hotel but we saw nothing that indicated where it might be
- no face cloths are provided nor any shampoo, only head and body gel
- the shower was over the bath rather than in a separate cubicle, which is a surprise at this level.
- lengths of rough, non slip tape had been stuck to the bath which, unless you like lying on sandpaper, rendered the bath useless as somewhere for a relaxing soak.
- there was a fixture to attach the shower head but this was not strong enough and the shower head either fell out completely or it just about held on at the lowest possible position. So only guests under about 5'3" can shower in comfort.
The suite appeared clean when we arrived, but crumbs accidentally dropped onto the carpet on our first day were still there when we left. Ditto rings from glasses on the bedside table and coffee table.
In trying to get comfortable on one of the sofas, I dislodged a seat cushion and discovered a previous occupant's favourite snack - picture 4
This was a major problem. Due to the wooden floors, the exposed beams and the obvious lack of sound insulation, noise travelled from floor to floor. Fine if there is a Chopin piano recital on the floor below and just about ok when there is a painter working all day in the room above. Not so good when
- on our first morning we were awoken at 8am by the sound of drilling in the room above. Apparently the electrician needed to drill channels for the wiring in the room upstairs, which is being renovated. Surely the manager could have thought that guests may wish to lie in?
- on our second night, I was awoken at 3.15 am by the sound of someone in the room above walking about in what sounded like steel tipped boots. He spent about 15 minutes marching up and down, presumably inspecting the renovation work. Next morning, the receptionist said the security guard had been up there in the middle of the night, having a look round. As this meant that my sleep had been disturbed two nights running I asked that some adjustment could be made to the bill.
- on our third night, the function rooms below were taken by a party. Happily the live music stopped at 11 as we heard every note.
When it came to checking out, a different receptionist was on duty. She printed off our bill which showed no reduction, as promised by the first receptionist. When I pointed this out, she said that it was not possible to offer any adjustment to compensate for my two nights' disturbed sleep (in a £300/night room). Apparently the manager had checked the cctv and no one had been in the room above us in the middle of the night. Positively no security guard had been up there. It must have been guests and the hotel cannot be responsible for what guests do. In fact, madam is wrong - the noise had not come from above, but from the room next door. But that room was unoccupied. Again madam is wrong. Surely a noise from above is very different to a noise from next door. Madam is wrong yet again. No one is calling madam a liar, she is merely wrong. So then I produced a leaflet from the room offering a 10% discount at the hotel which apparently only applied to meals there, although it didn't actually say so anywhere on the leaflet. Eventually the receptionist conceded and produced a second bill with a 10% discount. Except she hadn't actually taken 10% off, so a third bill was produced. Still not 10% off. Eventually she allowed me to borrow her calculator and work it out for her. Bill number 4 was right and we left to the sound of the receptionist’s profuse apologies to the guests behind us for their having to wait so long while she dealt with us.
Finally, as far as I know, the only rooms which overlook the square are those of the Bonerowski suite in which we stayed. The ground floor is taken up with the coffee shop, the first floor with the function rooms, the second with the Bonerowski suite and the third floor is currently being renovated . Unless there are guest rooms in the attic, then all other guest rooms overlook the side street – back to picture 3 again.
To conclude, if you must stay here, I hope that you have a really lovely time, but I am sure that there are many finer places to stay in Krakow.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thank you for your comments. As I am a new GM at the hotel I can not be responsible for a person being in charge for the hotel in March 2012. However, I am very sorry you were not satisfied with your stay in the Bonerowski Palace. Each detail you mentioned will be checked and approved by myselfe. If you are going to visit Krakow in the future, please add a comment you wish to meet me - I would like to thank you for all suggestions. GM, Adam Koc.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC