W.E. Adams, who owned the Adams House at the time, had the museum built in 1930 and turned the building over to the city of Deadwood but placed the operation of the museum under a Board of Directors. This museum has three floors and all three are filled with items from the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. The museum is about the history of Deadwood and has photos and newspaper clippings as well as films from the city's early period. There are firearms and other items from that period including a small locomotive. It's interesting to read about the mixture of ethnic groups who made up the city in its early days (Chinese, African-Americans, European immigrants, Native Americans). One can easily spend a couple of hours browsing through this place.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC