I sent this review in an email format, which was ignored by the Avani Spa and Abbey Resort Management. I noticed how the Resort manager seems to respond to positive reviews, but ignore all negative comments. This seems to be the approach this tired and dated facility has adopted.
My visit to the Avani Spa on Saturday with two close friends was less than a good experience. To begin, the salon facilities are overrated because the florescent lighting, beige and stained walls and linoleum flooring do not = world class/ 4-5 star as claimed. The spa is ok, but the salon needs significant upgrade. Additionally, fair warning to all that just like some down market Club Med resort, guests are allowed to "save seats" at poolside by leaving them covered in towels, notwithstanding the fact they are NOWHERE in sight and do NOT return (if at all) for HOURS. There was NO poolside seating available for me and my 2 friends during the first 2 hours of our visit, and there were NO EMPLOYEES assigned to the pool, who might have picked up towels off chairs to make them available to other guests.
As far as the "4-star" Avani experience the pedicure had much to be desired. We had reservations for two pedicures, however:
1. Pick-up for ME alone in the fireplace room finally occurred at 3:15, 15 minutes after the scheduled start of the service;
2. When I was called, I suggested my friend (who had arranged for us to spend over $600 for a day at Avani) accompany us to save further delay. This suggestion was met with indifference, so she walked through with me;
3. When we arrived, it became clear that the spa personnel were UNAWARE my friend was scheduled for a pedicure. The woman who performed (eventually) her service directly stated that she "did not think she had another appointment until 4";
4. When we arrived the 2 middle chairs (of 4) were occupied. When we requested to be seated together the spa manager LOUDLY and DISRESPECTFULLY stated to her subordinate: "just tell them they have to separate". I intervened and indicated "that is VERY dissappointing. We made the reservation together and expect to sit together". The manager was indifferent to the point of rudeness and it was not until a GUEST, already in her chair, OFFERED to move did she do anything. The spa manager did NOT thank the other guest for her kindness, that was left to us. Clearly, this should NOT have happened, and would not have occurred if the salon's schedule was updated and accurate.
5. While this was going on, a technician was rounded up to provide my friend's service;
6. We were put into chairs after the other guest moved. At this point all 4 chairs were occupied with 3 of 4 of the guests starting /restarting their service at roughly the same time. The guest that moved had presumably some part of the pedicure before the move.
7. To say that we were RUSHED to the point of being PUSHED OUT THE DOOR was an understatement. The guest who remained in place during the whole late arrival/look for a technician/find a chair process was JUST having her nails base coated by the time we were up, out of chairs and DONE. My friend and I were given EXTREMELY short attention, with almost no massage and QUICK QUICK QUICK everything else. BOTH of the guests who were in chairs PRIOR to our arrival were still being serviced as we were walking out the door and THE NEXT GUESTS were seated in the chairs we had vacated.
My friend and I were both EXTREMELY DISSATISFIED with our salon service and will NOT return. We have been to many salons locally and received VASTLY BETTER service for one-half (or less) the price. We do friendship weekends with other women regularly and now know to avoid Avani salon. The manager who spoke so loudly to her subordinate and clearly did not care that 1) we heard her nasty tone and indifference to our expectations and 2) HER scheduling issues cost us $120 plus gratuity for a completely negative experience ruined what we expected to be a nice experience.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
23 February 2012
Dear OnlyWork to Travel,
Report response as inappropriate
I do want to thank you for contacting us. I have had the opportunity to read the message that you sent to our resort and I did repond back to you with a personal email. Your feedback is much appreciated and I can assure you that it is taken very seriously.
We take great pride from a service and facility standpoint with the goal of exceeding our guest's expectations. It is very dissapointing when we do not accomplish this goal. I am deeply troubled by how unhappy you are. Please accept my sincere apology.
While I cannot undo what ocurred I can assure you that we will meet internally to see that it does not happen again. I have left you my contact information in the email that I sent to you and I hope that I will hear back from you to discuss the situation.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC