We booked a tour at the Kualoa Ranch. Bus arrived late and broke down. We transfer to new bus. Get to the ranch. Told we are not allowed the choices we picked because we got their late. No refunds. Their bus broke down, it was not our fault we got there late. We move to the horseback riding area. Family is given horses. All barn sour-- that means they hate their job and they are very stubborn. I am given a horse with the comment "this one is white, like you"??????by a man with a smirk on his face. My horse bucked the whole way that we were guided through dry ugly brush with steep trails making one wonder if their worn out barn sour horse was going to stumble. Meanwhile, guide kept riding by on their "nice" horse, irritating mine. My horse would flatten his ears and buck every time they did this and the guide would say "Oh, mad horse" no duh, stop riding by it and making it mad! I spoke with the manager whose comment was she would look into it and came back with the comment that the horse had flies on its belly and that was why it acted that way. I was not given any compensation for this horrible experience. The catamaran ride to secret island was only made nice by the wonderful people that worked the catamaran, otherwise...secret island consists of a volleyball net, a few kayaks and gnats! Save your hard earned dollars and do not come here. I recommend not spending much time in Oahu. For a safe place for families to enjoy the beach, Hunama bay, Waikiki Beach for water activites, Germaines Luau is a really nice evening event, North Shore for the experience and shaved ice and move on to another island for a real Hawaiian experience. The money we spent on this lousy ranch could have paid for our transfers to Maui, Hawaii, or Kuai! If you work hard a for your dollars and want your moneys worth, then read all the negative comments about this place and believe them!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 May 2012
We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your horseback tour at Kualoa. As most of our guests enjoy their experience, our staff did remember your visit and were dissapointed that they were not able to accomodate you to your satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
As you mentioned, the particular horse you were riding was irritated by flies on that day and was using he leg to "kick at the flies" which may have caused an uncomfortable experience. We apologize that this happened and we appreciate your feedback as it brings situations to our attention and opens up discussion with our staff to continue towards "Po`okela", improving and striving for excellence.
We do hope we have an opportunity to serve you again and again, mahalo for your feedback.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC