Room was a time share apartment unfortunately we must have been allocated one of their last rooms, the room was tired and the decor in serious need of an upgrade, despite waiting to be let in till well after 2 pm when we got in the room the coffee table was broken with splayed legs this was eventually fixed a week later. The door to the rather large balcony was sticky to open and potentially could put your shoulder out, there was a smell of drains and we where advised to leave the plug in the bath however they did send a man up to try and remedy the problem which persisted till the end of our three week stay. The shower was very powerful and was uncomfortable to use, the cleanliness of the room was very basic and other than changing the towels and making of beds was mainly cosmetic. The TV had a number of channels however the true movie and sky news channels kept losing the sound which became slightly irritating as it was one of the better channels. The air conditioning to the room just recirculated air and being on the top floor was warm and air conditioning was useless although a fan was provided. A look at some of the other rooms in the hotel on the same floor appeared to be to a better standard. The use of the room telephone for overseas calls even to landlines is to be avoided as it is prohibitively expensive at approximately over 3 euros per minute (compared with 7c a minute at a 5 star hotel) and no tariff information provided within the room which resulted in a nasty telephone bill of over 220 euros after 10 days of the holiday, although following a complaint management allowed me a discount to 1 euro a min it still left me with a less hefty 83 euro bill. Staff where generally friendly and helpful, there are also an animation team who did their best to generate interest and launched activities at various times around the day these staff too where friendly, very approachable and contributed to a better holiday experience. The food of the hotel has a reasonable mix of choices although slightly weaker at lunch times, the biggest problem is that some of the pasta dishes where often just warm. The sweet counter was more inviting however for some strange reason HB excluded ice cream at lunch times which had to be paid for separately if requested. A bus stop is conveniently located immediately outside the hotel and buses are quite frequent although even at early season can be very busy and people often had to stand for up to 20 mins I think this would be a problem for elderly people especially as the season picks up. The price of drinks in the hotel was very reasonable and time share residents could also get a further discount on drinks at this hotel. I find this resort very quiet and though the hotel sits in front of the sea with good panoramic views it is a considerable distance to walk to reach the main square (15 mins) and the bus terminus (6 mins) not particularly good for people watching (I personally prefer Sliema for people watching) although there are allot of bars around. There is an electronic bag weighing machine within the reception popular with budget airline travelers conscious of weight but is a rip off as it weighs one case at a time naturally, but charges 1 euro for the privilege it would be better if it gave you 30 seconds so as to weigh all your cases. From a fire safety point of view the hotel appears to have some separation of corridors, some emergency lighting provision and a basic fire alarm although it is doubtfull if it would be loud enough to wake you, the fire alarm had been tested at least once within my 3 week stay at this hotel, the fire doors to the staircases needed some maintenance however by Maltese standards it appears that an effort has been made. I have been to this hotel before so I knew this resort however the room was a let down, this would not stop me from going back if I got the right price.
Get a room to the front which faces the sea rather than one to the back of the hotel and do not use...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
We thank you for your lenghty review - but I presume being here for 3 weeks you have a lot to report. I p;resume you are a time share client who had banked some time.
Report response as inappropriate
Linen changes are done every 4th day, so being here so long you had quite a few changes of course.
We are glad you also have a positive word for our staff. When it comes to taking a bus - it is advisable to walk to the terminus (around 8 minutes) to make sure one does not have to wait as busses do sometimes come by full.
We are glad you would still consider coming back to our hotel.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC