We had a booking for 7 nights in the beginning of February. The room was quite ok, although the shower was not really having much water pressure, shower drain was not working well, and bathroom was missing the glass in one of the windows (bugs and noice coming). Also the bed was really shaky, making a lot of noise whenever you tried to turn in the bed. Further, the room had only thin wall separating it from the main street, and there was a lot of traffic noise (tuktuks, motorcycles, cars, you name it) coming from the street very late in the night. It should also be noted that while the hotel promotes to have massage and pool services, these are actually located in the sister hotel's premises 5-10 minutes walk away. For some reason the lady in the reception did not mention this at all when we made a booking for a massage, so this walk (with no maps provided) was a bit of surprise when a few minutes before the scheduled massage we went to ask where in the hotel the massage parlour is located. Further, there are no chairs etc. that you could get/rent when going to the beach - which unfortunately is quite dirty in many places. The worst thing about our Thaproban experience however were the bed bugs that we noticed in the mosquito net around the bed after the first night. We naturally had many bites around our bodies and rushed to inform the hotel receptionist about the situation. The receptionist did not seem to understand the severity of the problem at all, but after some talking offered to change the mosquito net in the room. While a bed bug infestation really requires a more thorough approach for eradication, and we certainly did not want to get our own stuff infested with bugs, we requested for a new room. The hotel was fully booked so we then asked about the possibility for a refund for the 6 unused nights if we manage to find a new hotel. The receptionist agreed to give us a refund but had changed his mind when we came back to him with a booking to another new hotel. Extremely disappointed we went to collect our stuff from the hotel room and at that point one of the hotel managers came to the room shouting aggressively "what's wrong with the room", claiming that he himself had checked the room to be now clean (net and bed sheets had been changed). At that point we were extremly glad to just leave this place behind and fight for the refund later on. Luckily we ultimately managed to get the refund with the help of the online booking agency we had used for making the hotel reservation. So while this hotel has received a lot of positive feedback - the reason why we made a booking in this hotel in the first place - our extremly bad experience really prevents us from recommending this hotel to anyone.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
17 April 2012
Report response as inappropriate
Thank you for your review, the reason why the reception staff was not able to give a proper answer about your refund as your booking was made via agoda and the hotel cannot give a refund to your hand unless the booking agency refunds it back to your credit card.
The room category which was booked by you was a standard category of which the pictures clearly shows the room setup. Also we never had complaints of bed bugs in the room ,once you complained the staff had changed the mosquito net, sheets etc... It could be the bed bugs came from the hotel which you stayed the night before. since there were no complaints from the guest who checked out the day of your check in about any bed bug infestation. Also from the guest who took the room after your check out.
We do pest control every month to both our properties.
Yes the pool and spa is at the Retreat which is just 5 minutes walking distance from Thaproban and there is directions in every turning point also the reception staff normally gives directions to every guest on request.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC