Just returned from a week at the Coral Beach and can recommend it. The hotel is not ultra modern or full of glass and steel but looks well loved and cared for - homely but not in a twee way.
Service was excellent. The staff are so friendly and helpful. Reception staff couldn't do enough to help in finding out information for buses and bike hire etc. Service in the bars was fast and efficient and tables were cleared quickly in the restaurants with no fuss at all.
We found the hotel good value for money but it was off peak so prices for rooms will rise later in the year and may not be so good then but at this time we couldn't complain. Drinks in the bar which were not included in the all inclusive deal that we went for were expensive but there are plenty of bars around outside of the hotel where they are much cheaper. There is a good selection of cocktails, some lagers, shorts, including whisky, brandy, vodka etc, soft drinks and all teas/coffees, house wine etc, water in the AI price so no shortage of choice.
The hotel was very clean - even my husband commented on this! Rooms were cleaned quickly and public rooms, including toilets, are kept spotless.
The hotel is in a quiet area of Coral Bay but not in an out of the way location at all. A leisurely 20 minute stroll will take you to the centre of the town but there is also a very frequent and reliable bus service - 3 euros a day to use any bus in the Paphos area and they run until at least 11pm at night.
The hotel is on a beach which is small and made up of small stones so shoes may be needed. There is a little marina in front of the hotel where various boats can be hired and there is also a PADI diving centre. A small sandy beach is a bit further on from the hotel - 2 minutes walk at most has beds abd umbrellas for hire and free use of toilets and showers.
The hotel grounds are on several levels and there seemed to be an abundance of beds both around the pool and in the gardens. Towels are provided for use on the beach and at the pool - don't know if you would have to pay a deposit as it was part of the AL deal.
We had a junior suite on the same level as the pool - room 2313 - and the position was excellent. Our private terrace had 2 sunbeds and a table and chairs and unbrella. Although we were on a level with the pool we were far enough away to not have any pool noise so rooms around this number are a good choice and give good access to the pool.
The room was quite large with comfortable beds and pillows (I took my own pillow as usual but wouldn't have missed it if I had left it at home). The bathroom was large and well equipped with bath and shower, bidet and sink. Nice towels too and bathrobes and slippers provided. Three rubber ducks sat on the vanity unit - a nice touch.
There was a free safe in the room and tea and coffee making facilities. There was also a mini bar but we didn't use it as it was quite expensivebut the top shelf was empty so you could keep things chilled if you wanted to.
The food was plentiful in the buffet and well cooked. We thought the variety was pretty good and we also ate in the two other restaurants as part of the AI deal so had a break from the buffet. Breakfast was usual buffet fare and filling. You could not complain about the quality or quantiity of food. Try the porridge - I don't usually eat it but decided to give it a go after my husband commented on it - sprinkled with raisons and almonds it was delicious!!
Didn't use the spa but it seemed comparable to UK prices.
Lots for children to do - clubs, some free, some payable, looked well organised and there was babysitting available.
Although there are lots of steps and levels in the hotel, it seemed particularly accessible for wheelchair users as there were several people in wheelchairs in the hotel, including a group of disabled athletes.
The hotel was nowhere near full and there may be a problem during high season with towels on beds etc as the htoel is huge. Could also see a problem with possible queues in the restaurants, although a timed sittings would help. There was no need for this as there weren't enough people in at any one time when we were there.
The air conditioning in the room didn't seem that good and we wondered whether or not it would cool the room sufficiently during the summer. We didn't find it that good at 20C and found the room a bit stuffy at night which is why we give only average for sleep quality..
The hotel has those awful hairdryers in the bathroom. Why do they use them? It limits the use of the bathroom to one at a time as anyone showering steams up the mirror and you can't see what you are doing. They are also useless at drying hair. I have stayed in many hotels where the hairdryer is attached inside a drawer in a vanity unit in the bedroom. Having a hairdryer that you can alter the speed and heat on it is useful too.
Evening entertainment was pretty poor. A pianist played in the main reception area most nights and while she was undoubtedly talented, she played the same tunes each night. In the disco bar a duo sang most nights and they were pretty dire. We heard a chap sing and play guitar one night in the Irish bar across the road and he was excellent.
Overall a lovely hotel run by lovely people and we would certainly return.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Report response as inappropriate
First we would like to thank you for taking your time to share your thoughts and experience you had at the Coral Beach Hotel & Resort.
It is a pleasure for us to see that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we would like to thank you for your lovely comments and recommendations on our services.
Thank you also for your minus points and your suggestions.
Concerning the air-conditioning in rooms – our hotel officially starts the a/c from May (depending on weather conditions) and for the winter season, it is switched to heating.
This year the weather was extremely changeable throughout April.
Thank you for bringing to our attention this issue regarding the hair dryers in rooms, we will take it into consideration.
With regards to the entertainment, we would like to apologize that it did not meet your expectations.
Since the hotel caters for an international clientele, we have to ensure that it satisfies all nationalities visiting our hotel.
So far we have had lots of good comments, but we will still continue working on improving our program.
Once again, we would like to thank you for your review. Your feedback is very important to us and it will definitely help us maintaining our high standards.
Your comments are also very encouraging to all of us and we are looking forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.
Coral Beach Hotel & Resort
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC