East Anglia is the traditional name for the region of eastern England, named after the ancient Anglo-Saxon kingdom, the Kingdom of the East Angles. The Angles took originated from Angeln (in northern Germany).

East Anglia initially consisted of Suffolk and Norfolk, but following the marriage of an eastern England princess Etheldreda, the Isle of Ely (now part of Cambridgeshire) also became part of the kingdom.

East Anglia now forms part of the East of England government office region comprising the counties of Suffolk Norfolk and Cambridgeshire including the city of Peterborough (a unitary authority area).