Useful Links for visitors to Ayr and Ayrshire

Overview of Ayr: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ayr

 Transport:

Ferries: www.calmac.co.uk

Trains: www.thetrainline.com

Glasgow Prestwick Airport: www.gpia.co.uk

Driving Route Planner and mapping: www.theaa.com

Taxi: www.ayrblacktaxis.com

Public Transport: www.travelinescotland.com

Car Rental Companies at Prestwick Airport: http://www.gpia.co.uk/AirportInfo/Fac...

Small Plane flights/trial flights/pilot training from Prestwick Airport: http://www.ayroplanes.co.uk/trial_fli...

 

Tourism and Attraction Websites: 

www.visitscotland.com

www.rampantscotland.com

www.undiscoveredscotland.com

Robert Burns Birthplace Museum (opened 2011) 

Ayr Racecourse: http://www.ayr-racecourse.co.uk/

National Trust for Scotland: www.nts.org

Burns Heritage Park: http://www.burnsheritagepark.com/

Walking Tours: http://www.walkaboutayr.com/

Ayrshire Golf Tours: http://www.golfmadesimpleinscotland.com/

Shopping - just a small selection: http://www.ayrcentral.com/

Museums and Galleries: http://www.south-ayrshire.gov.uk/gall...

 

Children's and Family Attractions: 

Pirate Petes Indoor Play: http://www.piratepetes.co.uk/

Kidz Play Indoor Play, Prestwick: http://www.kidz-play.co.uk/

Heads of Ayr Farm Park and outdoor fun: http://www.headsofayrfarmpark.co.uk/

Horse Riding and Trekking: http://www.ayrequestrian.co.uk/

Shanter Riding Centre (rides on beach or Culzean Country Park): www.shanter.co.uk

 

Golfing: 

South Ayrshire Golf Courses: http://www.golfsouthayrshire.com/

Royal Troon Golf Course: http://www.royaltroon.co.uk/

Turnberry Golf Course: http://www.turnberry.co.uk/

Western Gailes Links: http://www.westerngailes.com/

Brunstol Castle Golf: http://www.brunstoncastle.co.uk/

Roodlea Family Golf and Driving Range: http://www.roodleahouse.com/

 

History and Castles: 

Culzean Castle and Country Park:http://www.culzeanexperience.org/

Dundonald Castle: http://www.dundonaldcastle.org.uk/

Crossraguel Abbey: http://www.historic-scotland.gov.uk/p...

Souter Johnnies Cottage: http://www.nts.org.uk/Property/54/

Rabbie Burn's Batchelors Club: http://www.burnsscotland.com/tours/ta...

 

Visitor Explorer  Passes are available through the National Trust for Scotland and Scottish Heritage websites.