Interested in Dublin?
We'll send you updates with the latest deals, reviews and articles for Dublin each week.
In 1994 County Dublin (the area excluding the city) was sub-divided into three, each new area with county-level status and its own administration, namely: Dun Laoghaire-Rathdown; Fingal; and South County Dublin; Administration of the Dublin Region as a whole is now co-ordinated by the Dublin Regional Authority. Dublin is a modern sprawling city of seemingly endless suburbs. Luckily however most of the sights are within a relatively small area in the centre so the visitor should not need to do much traveling around.
The city is bisected by the River Liffey and the centre of the city is generally agreed to be O’Connell Bridge. Pretty simply, the area on the O'Connell Street side is commonly referred to as the North Side and the other side (Grafton St side) as the South side. For ease when reading directions etc, all even postal codes (IE Dublin 2,4,6,8 etc) are on the south side of the city and all odd postal codes (Dublin 3,5,7,9 etc) are on the north side. Dublin 1 & 2 are the city centre with the numbers increasing the further out from O'Connell Street you move.
The area within a radius of about 2 km (1.5 miles) of O’Connell Bridge contains most of the historical sights, cultural attractions, nightlife and shops. This area is generally simply referred to as the "City Centre", or "town" for locals. Typically if further detail is required to describe a place in the city centre, people will refer to a well-known street or landmark, e.g. "the Grafton Street area", synonymous with shops and cafes.
Probably the best know example of this naming system is the Temple Bar area which is the rectangle immediately south-west of O’Connell Bridge and bounded by the Liffey to the north, Dame Street to the south, Westmoreland Street to the east and Fishamble Street to the west. Officially dubbed "Dublins’ Cultural Quarter" it is better known as home to a large number of pubs and restaurants. The cobbled streets and old street pattern contrast with the more modern and ordered street layout in the rest of the city centre. On Saturdays a popular food market is held in Meeting House Square while jewelery and clothing stalls line Cows Lane off Lord Edward Street.
Most of the streets in the centre of Dublin were laid out in the Georgian era of the 18th and early 19th centuries but in most cases the original buildings have been replaced at some stage. However in the southeast section of the city centre, around Baggot Street, Merrion Square and Fitzwiliam Square, most of the original townhouses remain. The elegant streets with their colourful doors are still popular with the city’s lawyers and estate agents as offices and the area is well worth a wander.
Most of the areas further out are primarily residential with some shopping malls and office parks but few places to interest most visitors. The Northside is generally seen as working-class, while the Southside is characterised as richer. In fact the reality is more complex and a more accurate division is probably between the east and the west - Dublin lies on the east coast of Ireland and many of the most desirable residential locations such as Clontarf, Malahide and Howth to the north and Blackrock, Dalkey and Killiney to the south lie along the coast. As you move inland you experience more modern housing estates for newer families working their way up the housing ladder.
National Museum of Ireland - Decorative Arts & History Museum - Benburb St, Dublin 7 (in Collins Barracks ),
It’s home to a wide range of objects which include weaponry, furniture, silver, ceramics and glassware, as well as examples of folk life and costumes.
One of the largest collections of Irish silver in the world,
An exhibition is based on the life and work of Eileen Gray (1878-1976), who became one of the most influential designers and architects of the 20th century.
The Fonthill Vase, a Chinese porcelain vase made about 1300 A.D., it's one of the rarest pieces in the museum. The William Smith O’ Brien Gold Cup and the Lord Chancellor’s Mace.
Some beautiful Irish Period Furniture and an exhibition of clothing and jewellery worn in Ireland over the past 250 years
Opening hours: Tue-Sat 10am-5pm, Sun 2pm-5pm Closed Monday
How to get there: Buses: 90 (Aston Quay), 25, 25A, 66, 67 (Wellington Quay) in the City Centre and the Museum Link bus (172)
Luas: The Red line from Connolly Station to Tallaght has a stop at the Museum Trams run every ten minutes
Artane, sometimes spelled Artaine (Ard Aidhin in Irish), is home to the Artane Boys' Band which was set up in 1872 in what was then an industrial school run by the Congregation of Christian Brothers for orphaned boys. In 1969 the school was moved to the old refectory, with its previous building becoming a secondary school. The Artane Boys Band still continues to this day, but girls are now permitted to participate as well. Artane is the birth place of Larry Mullen, drummer with the Irish band U2, and perhaps the most famous former member of the Artane Boys' Band. In February 1981 a fire in the Stardust Nightclub in Artane killed 48 people.
A sea-side town located 32km (20mi) north of Dublin City Centre in North County Dublin. The name of the town in Irish is either Baile Bricín, meaning Town of the Small Trout, or Baile Brigín, meaning Town of the Small Hills. The town was originally a small fishing village where King William of Orange and his army set up their camp after the Battle of the Boyne in 1690. In 1920 the town was burned and looted by the “Black and Tans” (a British Military force similar to the SS) after a Royal Irish Constable was murdered during the 1916-21 War of Independence.
Balbriggan has much to offer tourists. Safe sandy Beaches: an operational harbour and light house as well as the beautifully restored Ardgillan Demesne and Castle (1783) set in 83 Hectares (200 acres) of rolling parklands, with access to beautiful rose and kitchen gardens. Balbriggan Golf Club, an 18-hole championship course with full facilities including bar and restaurant. Historical Sites dating back from the 14th Century at Balrothery, Bremore & Four Knocks. The Fresh Water lake at Balrothery near Balbriggan offers good trout fishing. There is also a tourist information office located on Georges Square in Balbriggan.
You'll find Ballsbridge if you need to contact your embassy - most of which are located in this expensive area just to the south of Dublin city centre.
A relatively run down town on the southernmost tip of Dublin. Some people consider Dun Laoghaire (a bit further north) to be the most southern part of Dublin and that Bray is outside Dublin and part of Wicklow. Bray is a popular seaside resort situated 21km (13m) from Dublin City Centre. Bray is an ideal place to visit or stay because of its proximity to both Dublin and the sites in Wicklow. A quick car journey down the N11 from the City Centre brings you here within 25 minutes. The town is essentially the creation of the 19th century railway entrepreneur William Dargan.
Only really of interest to a tourist if you want to see some local people in their daily surroundings, Cabra is a suburb on the northside of Dublin approximately 5km north-west of the city centre. Much of Cabra was built in the 1940's as a result of a building program for public housing by Dublin Corporation. Before it was built, the area was mostly fields and open countryside on the edge of the city. Many of the people who moved to the new suburb were from the rooms and tenement buildings of the city centre. Cabra West has many factories in the industrial park and also along Bannow Road. One of The most famous of these being The Bachelors beans factory.
Some famous children to have come from Cabra include world champion boxer Steve Collins and singer Dickie Rock. Also from St. Attracta Road in Cabra was Liam Whelan, one of Manchester United's Busby Babes, who died in the tragic Munich plane crash. Other sportsmen from Cabra include Republic of Ireland International Goalkeeper Wayne Henderson and Irish football legend Johnny Giles.
A village on the Dublin-Navan, road, at the edge of the Phoenix Park. It is an ideal place to stay due to its proximity to the city centre, which can be reached through the Phoenix Park. There is also excellent access to many parts of Dublin via the M50 Ring-Road. The airport is a ten to twenty minute drive in good traffic conditions.
Chapelizod is named after Seipeil Izod, or the Chapel of Isolde. Isolde was the daughter of the 6th century Irish King Aengus. She had a legendary romance with Tristan, on which Wagner's opera Tristan and Isolda is based.
Cluain Dolcáin (Dolcáin's Meadow, or as some new research may suggest, the Meadow of Thorns) is a village with a long and varied history, now largely swamped by sprawling housing estates, traffic congestion and bad urban planning.
It does have some interesting features however, the most notable being its Round Tower. Believed to be one of the oldest surviving, the tower still has its original cap roof, and although very little of the 7th century monastery it was part of now survives (the nearly Church of Ireland graveyard contains some stonework from the original buildings), the roads which form the one way system through the village follow the outline of the ancient monastery exactly. In recent years, a passionate campaign by locals halted a planning decision which would have seen a pub and apartment complex built beside the tower, and instead an interpretative centre is promised for the near future.
Tully's Castle on Monastery Road is one of the '10 pound castles' built to defend the Pale. It is closed to the public, but visitors to Ashtown Castle in the Phoenix park can experience good displays in a similar building.
Round Towers GAA Club on Convent Road is one of the oldest in the country.
There is a Holy Well at Newlands, known locally as St. Brigid's well it is believed to be especially effective for those suffering from eye complaints, and in the same area, Corkagh Park is a lovely oasis of mature trees, streams and meadows.
Collinstown is the area which Dublin Airport has now absorbed into it's environs. Originally there was several houses in this area, several of which still exist. The only section of Collinstown which is not part of the airport complex is south of the airport, just before you undercross the M50 inbound on the old Airport Road.
Dalkey is a quaint suburban village about 10km south of the centre and easily reached by DART (suburban train). Dalkey is a coastal suburb and resort located 13km (8 miles) south-east of Dublin City Centre. Dalkey or Deilginis (Irish for Thorn Island) is named after its neighbouring island. It grew up as a Medieval port, and thrived as a seaside suburb from the 19th century onwards after the construction of the railway. Dalkey is well served by bus and rail. The DART (Dublin Area Rapid Transit) service stops in Dalkey in the train station on Railway Road. You can also reach Dalkey by taking the number 59 bus from Dun Laoghaire. Here you can stroll down Vico Road and see the spectacular views of Killiney Bay and Dalkey Island. It is a 30-40 minute walk to Dalkey village, but it is worth it.
Deansgrange is an area near Stillorglin, Foxrock and Dun Laoghaire in South Dublin. It is predominately middle class. Deansgrange is famous for it's graveyard.
The name Donabate has its origin in two Irish words. Domhnach is an old Irish word for church and Bate an Irish word for boat or ferry. Famous for it's 3.4 km-long beach and its six golf clubs.
Home of R.T.E. Ireland's National Television and Radio Brodcaster. Many famous people have lived in Donnybrook. Marconi the inventor of the wireless lived on the grounds of RTE in the Jameson House (he married into the Jameson family, the whiskey people), author and playwrite Brendan Behan, novelists Anthony Trollope and Flan O' Brien. John Boyde Dunlop inventor of the pneumatic tyre and the explorer Sir Ernest Henry Shakelton.
Donnycarney was the boyhood home of Charles Haughey (1925-2006), former Taoiseach. He represented his northside constituency in the Dáil from 1957 to 1992.
Dublin Bay winds its way from Howth on the North Side of Dublin to Dalkey Island on th South Side. Take the DART train around the bay for great views Also see Howth, Sutton, Dollymount, Bull Island, Clontarf, Sandymount, Blackrock, Dun Laoghaire and Dalkey
Drumcondra (Irish: Droim Conrach) is a residential area on the Northside of Dublin, Ireland. Is the birthplace and residence of ex-Taoiseach Bertie Ahern, ( Prime Minister of the Republic of Ireland). It is the site of the palace of the Roman Catholic Archbishop of Dublin and three colleges are located nearby: All Hallows College, Mater Dei Institute of Education and St Patrick's College of Education. All three of these colleges are associated with the Irish Roman Catholic Church. In lower Drumcondra Croke Park, home of one of the largest sports stadiums in Europe and headquarters to the Gaelic Athletic Association (GAA) there is a fine museum covering all aspects of the national sports of Ireland including Hurling, Gaelic Football and Handball. Access from St. Josephs Avenue off Clonliffe Road, 20 minutes walk from city centre (O'Connell Street) Bus route 51A from Lower Abbey Street to Clonliffe Road or take routes 3,11,11A, 16,16A, or 123 from O'Connell St., to Drumcondra Train Station and take a 10 minutes walk down Clonliffe Rd., Admission Rates - Museum + Stadium Tour Adult: €9.50 Child (under 12): €6.00. Drumcondra is also the location of Tolka Park, the home of Irish Premier League soccer team Shelbourne F.C. Drumcondra is served by a railway station, on lower Drumcondra road. The Cat and Cage Pub on the Drumcondra Road was the site of an old postal stop and the point at which rebels, during the 1798 rebellion, seized a postal cart in order to signal to others in north Co. Dublin to revolt. Dublin City University. (DCU) is in upper Drumcondra, also Griffith Ave., the longest Tree Lined residential Avenue in Europe.
Dundrum used to be a quiet village in south Dublin. In recent years, it has become the home of the biggest shopping centre in Ireland - the Dundrum Town Centre - and is easily accessible by the LUAS (suburban tram) Green Line from St. Stephens Green. Do not leave the LUAS at the Dundrum stop - disembark at the next stop, Ballaly, which is much closer to the Town Centre. If shopping is not high on your list of things to do, then head away from the shopping centre to Airfield Farm, a wonderful green oasis in this built up area. There you'll find a farm (of course) plus a shop selling local produce and a restaurant overlooking the farm and with views of the Dublin mountains. Next door to the Ballaly LUAS stop is the V.H.I. accident and emergency clinic where the guarantee is that you will be seen and treated in less than one hour. Pristine, comfortable, new with friendly, competent staff, and according to recent traveler experiences, it's true.
This Seaside town with beautiful sea views and walks is reachable on the DART from Dublin City. There is shopping here and a good range of restaurants. On Sundays there is a market in the Peoples Park in Dun Laoghaire. Dun Laoghaire also hosts the annual Festival of World Cultures every Aug - well worth going to if you happen to be around when it's on!
Dun Laoghaire is a popular tourist spot due to its vast selection of activities. A visitor can relax in one of its many restaurants or pubs, or take a walk along one of the piers. Fishing is also quite a popular attraction and boats, rods and lines may be rented from Dun Laoghaire Harbour or any of the local harbours. It is also possible to fish anywhere along the coast. Sailing, of course, can also be enjoyed here. Swimming is a nice way to cool off after a hot day, and there are many points along the coast that are safe for swimming. Horse-riding, rock-climbing and more activities are easily available.
Dún Laoghaire is one of Ireland's major passenger ferry ports and yachting centre situated 13km (8 miles) S.E. of Dublin City Centre. Dún Laoghaire was once a small fishing village located on an inlet of the rocky coast near Salthill, a small hillock once noted for the production of salt. It was called Dunleary until 1821 when a completely new town developed to the east as a result of the building of the present large harbour, and the construction of the railway. It was renamed Kingstown until 1920. It makes a surprising introduction to Ireland with its brightly painted villas, parks and palm trees. On a good day it exudes a decidedly continental feel. Many visitors head straight out of Dún Laoghaire from the ferry, however the town offers some magnificent walks around the harbour and to the lighthouse along the east and west piers. The town has experienced a renaissance in recent years which has transformed this once-faded ferry port into one of the most interesting places to visit and stay in County Dublin. Much under-rated in the recession of the 1970s and 1980s, the town has acquired the look of a place on the way up. There is a sense of good things happening in the town. The new Bloomfields Shopping Centre has shifted the focus of the town northwards and revitalised an area that was lacking in amenities. A 12-screen cinema has just opened, which is encouraging young people to use this end of the town more. Dún Laoghaire is a compact town, and everything you need is in easy walking distance. The swift train connection (takes just 15 minutes) makes it perfectly possible to explore central Dublin from here.
A quiet village, home of The National Botanic Gardens 19.5 hectares founded 1795 open to 6p.m. summer (4.30p.m winter). Entrance free. A wonderful place to take a walk by the river or to see the recently refurbished Victorian glasshouses (Turner's curvilinear range ). There are some magnificent trees, many outstanding displays of shrubs and perennials. The garden contains over 20,000 plant species including many exceptional specimens and wild squirrels and ducks. Glasnevin is famous for it's historic graveyard, guided walking tours are available.
Harold's Cross (Crois Araild in Irish) is on the southside of Dublin. Harold's Cross park was the execution ground for the city of Dublin and 'Harold's Cross' was the name given to a gallows. Mount Jerome Cemetery across from the park is mentioned in James Joyce's Ulysses. Harold's Cross has a Greyhound Stadium
A quiet fishing village with a Marina at the most northerly end of Dublin, Howth is home to some of Dublin's most famous residents including some members of U2 and the seminal broadcaster Gay Byrne. Great restaurants too. Howth Head has great views across Dublin Bay.
Howth (rhymes with both), is a fishing and yachting port, and popular suburban resort on the north side of Howth Head, 15km (9½ miles north-east of the city centre. Its attractions are easily appreciated, particularly at the coast. Howth Head gives fine views of Dublin Bay and the Wicklow Mountains or Boyne Valley beyond. In the bay is the rocky bird sanctuary and monastic island of Irelands Eye to which boat trips may be taken in summer. Cliff paths lead around the coastline, through Howth village and its ruined abbey, and past Baily Lighthouse.
The 15th-century Howth Castle and Demesne is within easy reach of the DART railway station. The Castle is a private residence but the grounds are open to the public, it has fine rhododendron gardens and two 18 hole Public Golf Courses (Deer Park Golf Links) with lovely sea views, and a small, but impressive, transport museum featuring Howth's famous open-topped tram.
Howth's pubs, hotels and fish restaurants make it a pleasant and popular outing from Dublin by train, bus or car
Irishtown, beside Ringsend, was founded in the mid 1400s when Dublin Corporation ordered all people of Irish blood to leave the city within a month. The area outside the city walls that they moved to became known as Irishtown.
Further west again lies Kilmainham, home to Kilmainham Gaol and the Royal Hospital. The former is now a museum and the later houses Irish Museum of Modern Art; both are well worth visiting. The area is about 3km out of town and is covered by most of the organised city tours; you can also reach it by taking the LUAS Red Line tram to Heuston or James’ Hospital, or catching a 78A or 51/B/C bus.
Killiney is the home of many celebrities. It is located approximately 13 miles south of Dublin City Centre and is accessible by road and rail (Southbound DART rail services). Famous residents past and present include Enya, Bono and the previous Taoseach (Prime Minister) and president of Ireland Eamon DeValera
Immediately southwest of the city centre lies the residential district called "the Liberties". Its name derives from the fact that it was the part of Dublin granted a certain amount of autonomy by the British monarch in the Middle Ages. The Guinness brewery complex lies in the Liberties along James’s Street. Their visitor centre, called the Guinness Storehouse, is one of Dublin’s most popular visitor attractions. Traditionally a poor part of Dublin it has become popular as a residential location due to its centrality and a large amount of new building and regeneration has taken place.
A suburb sited on the River Liffey. Accessible by dual carriageway from the city, the most picturesque approach is via the Strawberry Beds and Chapelizod. Lucan's (or the Place of the Elms) history can be traced with accuracy from after the coming of the Normans in 1169.
Lusk is charming little village located 23Km (14mi) north of Dublin City Centre. Features include a delightful thatch cottage on the way into the village and a formidable looking building which includes a round tower, housing Lusk Heritage Centre.
Malahide is a pretty town in County Dublin located 16km(10mi) north of Dublin City Centre. The sea has influenced much of the development of the town. The broad Velvet Strand stretches to the horizon and is very popular with swimmers and water sports enthusiasts. One of modern Malahide’s key features in the 300-berth marina making it place a very popular place for sailors. Thus Malahide is a popular destination for Irish and International yachts visiting the area.
Malahide is familiar place to those who like good food. With an array of restaurants renowned for the quality and diversity of their food representing numerous nationalities. This town is a wonderful place to visit. There are a selection of good pubs with traditional music.
Malahide has become one of Dublin city’s satellite towns in but the town can be dated back to the 12th Century when a castle, Malahide Castle was built here and Sir Richard Talbot was made Lord of the Malahide Estate. This castle is open to the public and is one of Dublin’s favourite places to visit. Also in the ground of the castle are a model railway museum, and an arboretum. Malahide was a prosperous industrial centre during the 18th and 19th Centuries. A silk factory, cotton manufacturing, salt works and cod liver oil manufacture are just some of the trades that were here. The introduction of the railway from Dublin in the 19th Century transformed Malahide into a residential area and a tourist destination for Dubliners. Despite some modernisation Malahide largely maintains its character.
Marino was named after the sea. Located at Marino is the Casino a perfectly proportioned small building designed by Sir William Chambers as a pleasure house for James Caulfield, 1st Earl of Charlemont. It is one of the finest 18th century neo-classical buildings in Europe. The Casino, meaning "small house", contains a total of 16 beautifully decorated rooms. Open Sat + Sun noon to 4pm (closed January) check with the tourist office for other complicated opening times. Buses, take the123 to its terminus on Griffith Ave., turn left up Malahide Rd., or the 20B, 27, 27C/X and get off at the Griffith Ave. stop. Train, Take the to DART to Clontarf Road Station, then walk 20 minutes from the station up Malahide Rd. It’s on the left. Watch for the sign.
Monkstown is named after the Cistercian monks of Saint Mary's Abbey, who built Monkstown Castle. The lands later passed into the ownership of Sir John Travers, master of Ordnance in Ireland, and later still the Cheevers family.
The first 'village' outside Dublin city centre as you travel north west. A mere 20 minute walk from O'Connell Street, it has many cheap accommodation options for those on a budget. It is also home to Bohemians soccer club.
One of the largest enclosed city parks in the world (and the largest in Europe) at 1760 Acres. Within the park are the homes of An Uachtarain na hEireann (the President ) and the American Ambassador. Dublin Zoo is also in the park Open till 6pm (Dusk in Winter) Mon-Sun. While driving or walking through the park watch out for the Wild Deer.
Portmarnock Golf Club, one of the finest golf links in the world. Although visually less dramatic than its famous peers at Ballybunion, Royal Portrush or Royal County Down, Portmarnock's design probably makes the best golf links in Ireland from a pure golfing perspective. Portmarnock Golf Links at the Portmarnock Hotel is one of Ireland's most prestigious and challenging courses. The course, designed by Bernhard Langer. The Martello tower at Portmarnock was built in 1800's to ward off an invasion by Napoleon. The early 19th century saw a considerable amount of activity along the coast. Strong round towers were built from 1804 on. Martello Towers are a curiosity to most people and their history is not widely known. The story begins on the island of Corsica on the 9th of September 1794. A British force attacked a French headland on Cape Martello. The British military were so impressed by the defence that they built their own towers for the defence of Ireland. The forts were positioned about a quarter of a mile apart along the coast of Dublin. Each tower had it's own water reservoir and the walls were about eight feet thick. The interior was divided into three stories. The ground floor was used for holding ammunition, stores and provisions. The first floor acted as living quarters Portmarnock's Martello Tower is a private home. Portmarnock's famous Velvet Strand starts to the right of the Martello tower
An area near the South Circular Road near South Richmond Street and including Clanbrassil Street. The area was also known as Little Jerusalem because in the first half of the Twentieth century, it was the heart of the Jewish community in Ireland. The area is home to the private Portobello College, as well as various pubs and restaurants and has a lively and vibrant air. The Irish Jewish Museum is located nearby on the South Circular Road, as this was formerly Dublin's Jewish quarter. Leopold Bloom, the fictional Jewish character at the heart of the James Joyce novel Ulysses, lived at 52 Clanbrassil Street Upper; a plaque commemorating this can be found on the wall of that house. The famous playwright George Bernard Shaw was born on Synge Street, in the Portobello area.
Raheny is where you will find Saint Annes Park which was once owned by the Guinness Family. St. Anne's Park is a public recreational area which lies between Raheny and Clontarf, both suburbs on the northside of Dublin, Ireland. The Park is part of a former 500-acre estate owned by Arthur Guinness and Benjamin Lee Guinness. The estate, which dates to 1835, was named after the Holy Well of the same name on the lands. Sir Arthur Edward Guinness (Lord Ardilaun) was the person most responsible for expanding and developing the estate and gardens and planted evergreen (holm) oaks and pines along the main avenue and estate boundaries. In the park there is also the infamous Rose Garden, the "Secret Garden" as it is referred was owned by the Guinness Family is still there and has many visitors everyday there are also other remains of the Guinness Family Estate, even the hill where the Guinness Mansion used to stand until it burned down in the early twenthieth century. Raheny is in Dublin 5 not that far from the city centre and clontarf. There is a beach, restaurants, bars and much more. Raheny is also where you will find Manor House School which is one of the top all girls schools in county Dublin. Raheny is definetely one to check out if you like a bit of history or if you are just looking for a good place to visit.
Cullenswood was the Middle Ages residence of the Archbishops of Dublin and their servants. In the 1500s it was taken over by the Fitzwilliams, and later by Sir William Ussher of Donnybrook.
Ranelagh is on the green Luas line, which travels from St. Stephen's Green to Sandyford. Ranelagh is a good place to find a restaurant to suit any taste. The main hotel is the Hilton, on the north side of the Grand Canal. There are nice broad streets with grand Victorian houses. A quiet neighbourhood just a few minutes outside of the city centre.
Rathgar is named from the Gaelic Rath Gharbh, meaning the Rough Ring Fort. It is a high wealth area in the prestigious postal code Dublin 6 (D6). The majority of housing in this area is of Victorian era, including five and six story gothic red brick mansions. Rathgar would have originally been a highly Protestant dominated area at the turn of the 20th Century, but with Irish independence, many doctors, civil servants, property developers and even several celebrities reside in the area. The infamous William Martin Murphy - The Irish Freestates first true "Entrepreneur" owned the gothic castle style mansion on Orwell road, which is now engulfed by high value housing estates.
Although now considered part of the city centre, Rathmines still maintains a feeling of an urban village within the fabric of the city. Rathmines is named after the de Meones family, who came to Ireland from Hampshire in the late 1200s.
Ringsend is named from the Gaelic Roinn Aun, meaning Sea Point. In the 17th century it took over from Dalkey as Dublin's main port, and it was in Ringsend that Oliver Cromwell landed in 1649 with over ten thousand soldiers.
Rush is a pretty sea-side town and a centre of market gardening located 26Km north of Dublin City Centre in North County Dublin. Broad beaches north and south of the harbour have always attracted visitors from Dublin City. The seascape view here includes Lambay Island, a large, privately owned bird sanctuary. You may feel that you are in rural Ireland which makes it difficult to believe that you are just a 30 minutes drive from the City Centre.
Sandymount was originally named Scallet Hill, and was owned by Richard de Saint Olof in the 1200s. The local soil was discovered to be excellent for making bricks and in the 1700s it became known as Brickfield Town when a brick manufacturing industry was based there. In the late 1700s James Gandon designed Sandymount Park. From the beach there are nice views of Dublin Bay: at high tide the sea comes up to the sea wall, and at low tide the sand flats extend some 2-3 km into the bay.
The James Joyce Tower in Sandycove was one of a series of Martello towers built to withstand an invasion by Napoleon and now holds a museum devoted to the life and works of James Joyce, who made the tower the setting for the first chapter of his masterpiece, Ulysses. The museum's collection includes letters, photographs, first and rare editions and personal possessions of Joyce, as well as items associated with the Dublin of Ulysses. March-October inclusive: Monday-Saturday: 10am-1pm, 2pm-5pm. Sunday & Public Holidays: 2pm-6pm. Adults: €6.50 Family: €18 DART to Glenageary (or Dun Loaghaire, followed by a short stroll along Dublin Bay)
Skerries is another of North County Dublin’s sea-side towns located 31km (19mi) north of Dublin City Centre. It is a prosperous fishing town with much on offer to tourists. Skerries is now one of Dublin’s most desirable residential areas due to its character and its lovely seaside.
Skerries’ long sandy beach, an ideal spot for safe bathing for adults and children alike, is watched by lifeguards during the summer months. It is joined to the Red Island Scenic Park, with excellent views and a children’s playground.
The Skerries Mills is one of the area's best tourist attractions and is well worth a visit.
Stillorgan is named after an old chieftan called Lorcan, and what may have been his burial chamber was found in the area in 1716.
You'll most likely know Stillorgan because the N11 in Dublin is often called the "Stillorgan Dual Carraigeway" as it runs through the suburb. It is also home to the first shopping centre in Ireland - but hurry it's slated for redevelopment soon!
Swords is an ancient settlement dating back to 560, having been founded by Saint Colmcille. Legend has it that the saint blessed a local well, giving the town its name Sord meaning "clear" or "pure". However, An Sord also means "the water source" and could indicate a large communal drinking well. In 1994 Swords became the county town of the then newly established county of Fingal, and in 2001 it became the administrative centre for the county upon the completion of the €12m Fingal County Hall.
Tallaght was once a small townland, then a village. The Irish translation for the word "Tamlaght" from which Tallaght derives it's name mean Burial Ground, which may be owed to the many early to mid Christian burial sites around the area. Tallaght suffered much social deprivation until recent investment, and today with a population nearing on 200,000, Tallght would be the Republic Of Ireland's third largest city, had it not been engulfed into Dublin City by mass development of the areas of Knocklynn and Templeogue in the 1980's. Tallaght is the terminus for the Red Luas Line and is home to the Square shopping centre, one of Ireland's largest shopping outlets.
Templeogue was once a small village about four miles from Dublin City Centre. Today it is an affluent area with a population of c. 20,000 people.
Terenure, Drimnagh and Kimmage, on the south side of Dublin City, were given to the Barnwell family by King John in 1215. The Barnwells gave some of the land to St John The Baptist Hospital outside Newgate, and Cromwell confiscated the remainder from them. Terenure passed through the hands of various owners since then, including what is now Terenure College, bought by the Carmelites in 1860. Famous residents past and present of Terenure include James Joyce, George Bernard Shaw and Bob Geldof's The Boomtown Rats. Terenure is a bustling place for a quick visit with many fine dining restuarants and traditional Irish pubs. Terenure is an affluent area since it's early incarnation as "Roundtown" as far back as the late 1700's. It's current population is c. 18,000.