The Spanish Arch was once an extension of the Galway city wall from Martin's Tower to the River Corrib. It was contructed in 1584 as a measure to protect the city's quays.  In the 1700's, the arches were added to allow access from the town to new quays called the Long Walk along the riverside.

The Spanish Arch is located on the east banks of the River Corrib with Claddagh on the other side.

 Spanish Arch

Long Walk