Chipping Campden got its last name from the Saxon Camperdene, which denoted “valleys with fields” in the Domesday Book compiled by Britain’s first kings back in the eleventh century.  Chipping, which means market, was put before the valley appellation a couple hundred years later, as the city became increasingly popular as a market center of wooltraders.

In the fifteenth Century, St. James’ Church was transformed by these merchants into the architectural gem it is today.

The Market Hall was constructed after the Elizabethean era in 1627 by one Sir Baptist Hicks in order to accommodate the city’s traders.  Hicks, in addition to the Hall, constructed numerous almshouses and a mansion next door to St. James Church, of which only the gatehouses still survive.

By the early twentieth century, Chipping Campden had become a handicraft center and began to blossom as one of the country’s leading tourist towns.  Today much of its history is still visible, not only in its numerous monuments and attractions, but in the rustic nostalgia atmosphere that pervades in its streets and its shops.