Church of Santa Maria Magdalena

The Church of Santa Maria Magdalena is located at Calle San Pablo, 12. The old Dominican monastery of San Pablo was founded by Fernando III in 1248. The architect Leonardo de Figueroa built the present church in the old Gothic church between 1691 and 1709. This church now has three naves and five chapels and a transverse nave. He also built an octagonal cupola that allows light into the church. The exterior of this cupola is adorned with figures that resemble Inca Indians. The interior of the church is decorated in the Baroque style and has plenty of stucco adornment and wood with a gold patina. The main altarpiece comes from the 18th century. Most of the pictures were done by Lucas Valdes and his followers. These include the paintings of The Entrance of Fernando the Saint to Sevilla and the Autos de Fe, in the transversal nave. In one of the side chapels (Hermandad de la Quinta Angustia) there is a beautiful Mudejar cupola that has a star design in the center. There are two paintings by Zurbaran in the church, Historias de Santo Domingo en Soriano and La Curacion de San Reginaldo de Orleans. This church is considered as one of the most beautiful Baroque churches in Seville.

Hours: 8 to11 am and 6:30 to 9 pm.