Church of San Luis

The Church of San Luis is located at Calle San Luis, 37, in the Barrio Macarena. This Baroque church was constructed between 1699 and 1731. The church was named after San Luis (St. Louis), King of France. The church plan has the form of a Greek cross. The architect was Leonardo de Figueroa, who also constructed other churches in Seville. The facade is very impressive with its elaborate decoration and it has two octagonal towers. Next to each tower are statues that represent the four evangelists. The tympanum is decorated with the figures of the three archangels, St. Rapahel, St. Michael, and St. Gabriel. The interior is not very big and is more like a chapel, and it has eight twisted Solomonic columns and there are large windows that let in light. The paintings of the cupola and walls were done by Lucas Valdes. There are figures of San Agustin, Santo Domingo de Guzman, San Pedro Nolasco, San Benito, San Francisco de Asis, San Juan de Mata, San Francisco de Paula, and the prophet Elias. At the base there is an anagram of the Jesuit order done in carved wood. The main altarpiece was the work of Pedro Duque Cornejo and finished in 1730. The altarpiece of San Ignacio de Loyola was done by Juan Hinestrosa. The altarpiece of San Francisco de Borja was constructed by Pedro Duque Cornejo. Lastly the altarpiece of San Luis de Gonzaga was the work of Pedro Duque Cornejo and finished in 1727. Above is the sculpture of Ecce Homo by Pedro de Mena. The church is considered a masterpiece of the Baroque.