Basilica of Santa Engracia

The Basilica of Santa Engracia is located at Plaza de Santa Engracia. It was constructed in the 15th and 16th centuries and has the Renaissance style. The façade is the only part conserved of the old Monastery of Santa Engracia. The founder of the church was King Juan II of Aragon, who was thankful that his cataracts were cured. His son Fernando el Catolico continued the construction and this was finished by the Emperor Carlos. The façade was damaged during the War of Independence against the French in 1808, but was restored by the sculptor Carlos Palao. The façade was one of the first Renaissance facades and was the work of Gil Morlanes el Viejo and his son, and is carved in alabaster. It is in the form of an altarpiece. The church has two Paleochristian sarcophagi made of marble of three Christian martyrs from the 4th century. These martyrs were Santa Engracia, San Lamberto, and San Lupercio. One of the sarcophagi is called Receptio Animae and is dated from 330-350 AD. The second is called the Trilogia Petrina and dates to 340-350 AD.