Old Bisagra Gate (Puerta de Alfonso VI)

 

The Puerta de Alfonso VI is located at Calle Alfonso VI. It was the main entrance to the town during the Moorish times. It was constructed in the 10th century and renovated in the 13th century. It is known as the Old Gate of Bisagra. The Emperor Carlos V constructed the New Gate of Bisagra nearby and the Old Gate was closed and accumulated debris. However in 1905 the Marques de Fuensanta de Palma had it opened and restored. The façade has two fortified towers and there are three arches. The central arch is circular and the two side arches are pointed. Under the central arch there is a horseshoe arch with a lintel and this allows one to enter the city.