Puente Romano

 

The Roman Bridge was built in the 1st century A.D. during the reign of Marcus Ulpius Traianus. The bridge crosses the Tormes River and has 26 semicircular arches, with strong pillars. The measurements of the bridge are 176 meters long by 3.7 meters wide. The bridge was part of the Via de la Plata Roman road that went from Merida to Astorga. There is a sculpture of a male pig or boar beside the bridge that was created by the Celts and is shown over the shield of the city. The bridge is open only for pedestrians. In 1931 the bridge was declared a national monument.

The address of the bridge is Calle de Teso de la Feria, 31.