Navarra Museum

The Navarra Museum is located at Calle Santo Domingo, 47. The Navarra Museum is the most important museum in Pamplona. It is located in the old Hospital de Nuestra Señora de la Misericordia, in front of the Palacio Real. It has archaeological collections and artistic collections related to Navarra throughout its history. The building was converted into the museum in 1965. The only parts of the original hospital that were conserved were the Plateresque façade created by Juan de Villareal and the chapel. The chapel has the Gothic-Renaissance style. The new part of the museum was inaugurated in 1990, the work of Jordi Garces and Enric Soria. The four floors are ordered chronologically from the bottom to the top. The first floor shows prehistory, Roman art, and medieval art. The second floor shows medieval art and the Renaissance. The third floor shows the Baroque and the 19th century. The fourth floor shows the 19th and 20th centuries. The bottom floor shows temporary exhibitions. The garden has some mosaics and archaeological exhibits.

Among the most important exhibits is the Teseo Mosaic. This shows a Roman floor mosaic found in an old rural villa that shows the legend of Theseus fighting the Minotaur in the labyrinth. The mosaic measures 140 x 60 cm. It was made in the 2nd century. The Arqueta de Leyre is a casket made of ivory with a Mudejar design showing a scene of courtesan. It was made in 1005 in a workshop in Medina Azahara for the son of Almanzor. The portrait of the Marques de San Adrian was created by Goya in 1804. The Marques was Jose Maria de Magallon y Armendariz and was a good friend of Goya. He later became the chamberlain of Jose Bonaparte, the king of Spain.