Country Code 64 and International Dialing Code 00 

Local telephone numbers have a two-digit area code and seven-digit local number. Drop the zero in the area code if you are calling from overseas. Note that you will need to dial the area code for out-of-town calls even if the town you are calling has the same area code

  • South Island (incl. Nelson, Christchurch, Dunedin and Invercargill) - 03.
  • Wellington - 04 .
  • Lower North Island (incl. Palmerston North, Wanganui, New Plymouth, Napier, Hastings and Gisborne) - 06.
  • Waikato and Bay of Plenty (incl. Hamilton, Tauranga, Rotorua and Taupo) - 07.
  • Auckland and Northland (incl. Whangarei) - 09.  

There are three main providers of Cellular/Mobile Phones. SIM cards are available at most major retailers:

  • Telecom - Public company, carved out of the old Post Office in 1987 and privatised in 1989. Numbers start with 027 followed by seven digits. Operates a 850/2100 MHz UMTS network only (older GSM mobiles will not work).
  • Vodafone - Multinational company. Numbers start with 021 followed by six to eight digits. Operates a 900/1800 MHz GSM and a 900/2100 MHz UMTS system.
  • 2degrees - Local company. Numbers start with 022 followed by seven digits. Operates a 900/1800 MHz GSM and a 900/2100 MHz UMTS system.

Toll-free numbers start with 0800 or 0508 followed by six digits. Premium-rate numbers start with 0900 followed by five digits.

The operator is 010 for national and 0170 for international. Directory assistance is 018 for national and 0172 for international.

The emergency number in New Zealand is 111.


  •  00 (zero zero) is the International Dialing Code (prefix) you use to make an overseas call from within New Zealand

  • 64 (sixty four) is the International Country Code you use to call New Zealand. 

  • 00 + overseas country code + area code + local number