Designed by Austrian architects Ferdinand Fellner and Hermann Helmer. Built in 1884-1887 at the site of a previous theatre, which was destroyed by fire in 1873. Opened 13 October, 1887. Lately in 1998-2001 the building underwent foundation repair works, and in 2003-2005 major exterior and interior renovation. The main entrance to the theatre is located at Lanzheronovskaya (Langeron) Street. Tickets are available at the theatre's ticket office and other ticket offices in the city.

Next to the theatre there are the Palais Royal Garden, the Teatralnaya (Theatre) Square with fountains and the renovated Martitime Museum.