• Historic District - The walking tour of the Historic District is 20 blocks of easy walking.  Buildings from the 1700s and 1800s are listed in the National Register of Historic Places.   A map with descriptions of significant buildings is available at the Visitors Center.
  • Fields-Penn 1860 House Museum - This house reflects Georgian, Italianate, and Greek Revival architecture.  Tourguides interpret the lifestyle of the original owners.  Special features include herbs and kitchen garden, a loom room to demonstrate home textitle production, and a collection of regional decorative arts.  Free admission.
  • White's Mill - Built in 1790, this is one of the state's oldest grist mills and is a Virginia Historic Landmark.  It provided flour and cornmeal for the Rebel forces during the Civil War.  Today visitors enjoy demonstrations of early crafts such as blacksmithing and broommaking as well as milling of grain.  The owners have obtained a grant to restore this mill including a sluice to drive the wheel. 
  • Overmountain Victory Historic Trail - About 57 miles of a planned 300-mile trail are open for travelers.  Commemorating the campaign leading to the battle of Kings Mountain, the road follows the Revolutionary War route of the Patriot militia from Virginia, Tennessee, North Carolina, and South Carolina to the battle site at Kings Mountain National Military Park in South Carolina.  There is both a hiking trail and a parallel motor route.  The motor route uses both existing state highways and the historic roadway.
  • Parson Cummings Cabin - Parson Charles Cummings, the first minister in Abingdon, preached for the Sinking Spring Presbyterian congregation.  Known as the "Fightin' Parson," he carried his rifle to church always keeping it handy at the pulpit while preaching. His cabin has been preserved and relocated to the Sinking Spring cemetery at the intersection of Valley Street and Russell Road.