Town Hall

 

The Town Hall is located at Calle Infante Don Fernando, 70. This building belonged to a convent of the Franciscan Terceros order until the Desamortizacion of Mendizabal, when church property was confiscated by the state in 1836. The facade was rebuilt in a modern Neo-Baroque style but the cloisters from 1679 and the impressive staircase were maintained. The materials were very rich, such as different colors of polished marble for the banisters. The whole convent building was acquired by the Town Hall in 1845 and work was done to convert the convent into the Town Hall. The impressive rooms are the assembly hall, which has portraits of illustrious citizens and a very good portrait of King Juan Carlos when he was young. There is a Hall of Kings, which has portraits of King Alfonso XII and his first wife.