Interested in Brewster?
We'll send you updates with the latest deals, reviews and articles for Brewster each week.
The windmill dates from the 1790's. It is a good example of the many wind-powered gristmills that were located on Cape Cod during the 1700's and 1800's. The mill was originally located at Ellis Landing. In 1974, the windmill was given to the Brewster Historical Society, moved to it's present location at Drummer Boy Park, and restored. The original millstones and much of the original timber construction survive. It is in fully operating condition, although no longer used for milling corn.
The Harris-Black house, also located at Drummer Boy Park, dates to 1795. It is believed to be the only surviving small houses that occupied the Cape during that period. It is one room with a sleeping loft and was believed to be occupied by a family of twelve. Originally located at Red Top Road in Brewster, it was dismantled and relocated to it's present location in 1982.
The Higgins Farm Windmill and Harris-Black House are open for viewing, free of charge, on Thursdays, Fridays and Saturdays, 1 to 4 PM, from Mid-June to early October.