St. Mary Roman Catholic Church is the third oldest parish in Detroit, Michigan. (The parish is better known as Old St. Mary's Church to avoid confusion with other St. Mary's parishes in the Redford neighborhood of Detroit or nearby cities of Royal Oak, Monroe, or Wayne). The parish was founded in 1834 by Father Martin Kundig to serve the German-speaking immigrants who settled in this part of Detroit,which nowadays is known as Greektown. The first church was constructed in 1841 at this site on land sold to Bishop Peter Paul Lefevre for one-dollar by Antoine and Monica Beaubien. 

The current church was completed in 1885. German born and trained architect Peter Dederichs designed the red-brick church with a blend of Pisan Romanesque and Venetian Renaissance influences. The west facade of the church is flanked by twin towers which frame a large rose window. The Romanesque-Venetian style carries over to the rectory. The church is 176 ft (54 m) long. The nave is 80 ft (24 m) wide and reaches a height of 90 ft (27 m). The church interior has ten polished granite columns which divide the main and side aisles. The columns are each cut from a single piece of granite and were originally planned for the Michigan State Capitol which was being built in Lansing at the same time as the church. The church, school and rectory were listed as Michigan Historic Sites in 1979. St. Mary Parish has been staffed by the Spiritans or Holy Ghost Fathers since 1893. 

Official Web Site: Old St. Mary's Church