Williamsburg was founded as Middle Plantation, and was renamed Williamsburg In honor of King William III, after the Capitol moved from Jamestown in 1699.  The College of William and Mary was already established.  Its oldest building, indeed, the oldest academic building in continuous use in the United States, is Wren Hall.  Wren Hall was constructed between 1695-1699.  The College of William and Mary is the second oldest college in the United States, founded a short time after Harvard University, which coincidentally, claims the second oldest academic building in continuous use.  The Wren Building may or may not have been designed by Sir Christopher Wren, but it certainly bears signs of his influence in the design.