We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
  • Property description
    Acharacle
    |
    Holiday Rental House – 
    1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
    Dondies, set on the hills which encircle Portuairk bay, was once a byre. It has now been converted into a cosy, fresh, modern and fully equipped cottage ideal for a couple to enjoy. A multi-fuel stove creates a cosy atmosphere no matter what the seasons bring. Through the patio doors, there are stunning views of Eigg, Muck, Rhum and on a clear day the Cullins of Skye can be admired from the comfort of the living room. Also just a stroll away awaits sandy shores and secluded coves to enjoy and explore.

    All on one level with laminated wooden flooring throughout: open plan kitchen and lounge with dining area and multi-fuel stove. Front entrance to hall leading to one double bedroom and shower room with toilet and washbasin.
  • Amenities & details
    • Cooker
    • Double Beds:(1)
    • Dryer
    • DVD Player
    • Fireplace
    • Freezer
    • Kettle
    • Linens Provided
    • Microwave
    • Refrigerator
    • Secure Parking
    • Shower Rooms (1)
    • Stereo System
    • Toaster
    • Towels Provided
    • TV
    • Washer
    • Wi-Fi
    Suitability
    • Wheelchair Access:
      No
    • Elder Access:
      Yes
    • Pets Allowed:
      Ask
    • Smoking Allowed:
      No
    • Suitable for Children:
      Yes
    Listing #HL246807 by: Holiday Lettings
  • Rates
    View Details
  • Property location
  • About this property
    How do I know if the property is available?
    How can I contact the owner?
    What if I don't hear back from the owner?
    How do I pay?

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travellers find the perfect holiday rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
maxmayo
London, England
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 27 February 2013 for a stay in February 2013

My husband arranged this as a surprise for Valentines. It was fabulous and fully equipped with everything we wanted, ideal for a romantic break. So comfortable and cosy and the wood burning fire was just great to sit round with a glass of wine and relax after a day out walking and exploring the area. The views across Sanna Bay from the patio windows are just breathtaking. We are planning to return in the summer. more

addersDer...
Derbyshire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 17 August 2012 for a stay in August 2012
2
people found this review helpful

The location is amazing but having paid a significant fee to rent Dondies for a week we were left feeling slightly cheated. My wife and I had booked to include our 7 year old son and when the sofa bed we were promised turned out to be just a small, hard sofa he spent the first night on the floor. We were hardly better off in a bed which was as hard as rock but to the owner's credit they quickly delivered a fold-up bed when we complained. We are regular tourists to this area and have stayed in many types and levels of accommodation but Dondie's was one of the worst prepared and equipped we'd seen. Unfortunately for a relatively expensive let everything had an air of cheapness. The "ddrive" is little more than a potholed mess and when you get there things don't improve. From the broken coffee pot and cheap and worn utensils to the tiny shower (where there is actually plenty of space for a better one) it seemed that comfort and quality takes second place to profit. Having said... more

Management response:

We are sorry to see you felt the property was not to your liking. Steading Holidays took the booking for 3 people when in fact it is only designed for 2, that was our mistake and we apologies. We hope that you will book again with us and will make sure that you do get the quality you are looking... more

Report response as inappropriate
Enter dates for more accurate prices
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
£340
/ Week
Make Enquiry
22 travellers
viewed this property in the past week
Talk to the Manager
44 01972510262
Manager
Jacqui Chapple (Property Manager Steading Holidays)
Speaks English
Listed since : May 2012
Response Rate: 95 %
Response Time: Within a day
Calendar Updated: 1 day ago
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travellers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing