We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
  • Stable Cottage, local village pub 300 meters away & 1 mile walk from the coastal path/sea
    Stable Cottage, local village pub 300 meters away & 1 mile walk from the coastal path/sea
    Stable Cottage, local village pub 300 meters away & 1 mile walk from the coastal path/sea
    Spacious living room with woodburner and inglenook fireplace
    Master bedroom featuring King Size bed and Egyptian cotton bed linen
    Second bedroom - can be made up as twin or double
    Bathroom featuring roll top bath
    Property description
    Dorchester
    |
    Holiday Rental House – 
    2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
    A delightful ancient stone thatched cottage which has been tastefully modernised to give spacious accommodation of great character with many exposed beams. The cottage has recently been completely redecorated and a new kitchen installed all with new white goods, gas hob and electric oven. Downstairs there is a large open plan living area with log burner and a separate kitchen and bathroom, while upstairs there are two comfortable bedrooms, the master bedroom has a large double bed.and the second room can either have a second double bed or two smaller single beds for children etc.

    Outside is a completely fenced sunny garden with lawn and terrace edged with shrubs and BBQ. Parking for one small/medium car. Nearest shop is one mile; nearest pub 200 yards. Stable Cottage sleeps 4 plus a...
    more
  • Amenities & details
    • Central Heating
    • Cooker
    • Cots:(1)
    • Dining Seats (6)
    • Dishwasher
    • Double Beds:(1)
    • Dryer
    • DVD Player
    • Fireplace
    • Freezer
    • Grill
    • Hairdryer
    • Highchair
    • Internet Access
    • Iron
    • Kettle
    • Linens Provided
    • Living Room Seats (6)
    • Microwave
    • Parking
    • Private Garden
    • Refrigerator
    • Satellite TV
    • Single Beds:(2)
    • Stereo System
    • Telephone
    • Toaster
    • Towels Provided
    • TV
    • VCR
    • Washer
    • Wi-Fi
    Suitability
    • Wheelchair Access:
      No
    • Elder Access:
      No
    • Pets Allowed:
      Yes
    • Smoking Allowed:
      No
    • Suitable for Children:
      Yes
    Additional amenities & feature info
    Lounge large open plan room with ceiling beams. The lounge incorporates a living area with large sofa, chairs and hi-fi, Television with DVD and video player and a large inglenook fireplace with log burner. There is also a dining area with a round dining table and chairs which comfortably seats 4-6 adults.

    Kitchen/Dining Room: in former stable, features a separate grill, oven and hob, dishwasher, washing machine, fridge & freezer. There is a wooden kitchen table and chairs in the centre of the kitchen. A high chair is also available.

    Bathroom with roll top bath and shower overhead, basin and toilet.

    Upstairs: 2 staircases (one steep) leading to 2 bedrooms which have an adjoining landing connecting the 2 bedrooms.

    Master bedroom a spacious double with a large 5ft bed, wardrobe a...
    more
    Listing #HL168256 by: Holiday Lettings
  • Rates

    Rates are calculated based on the latest information provided. Please contact the manager/owner to confirm actual rates for your requested dates.

      Begins Ends Min stay Per week
    Christmas and New... 19 Dec 2014 5 Jan 2015 7 nights
    £800
    Additional Rate and Availability Information
    We are open to discuss short breaks in non-busy periods. Please contact us.

    First payment is 50% of total rent plus dog fee (£15 each) if applicable. Linen is included. Final payment is due eight weeks prior to holiday. Full payment is required if booking is made within eight weeks of holiday.
  • Property location
    Restaurants
    Things to Do
    Access
    Car advised
    How to get there
    The village of Chaldon Herring or East Chaldon is in a small valley off the A352 Dorchester to Wareham road, about 8 miles East of Dorchester or 2 miles from East Knighton if approaching from Wareham and Wool.

    Nearest train station is Wool or Dorchester South.

    Nearest airport Bournemouth or Southampton.
    Activities nearby
    Fishing Nearby, There Is A Golf Course Within 30 Mins Drive, Horse Riding Nearby.
  • About this property
    How do I know if the property is available?
    How can I contact the owner?
    How will the owner contact me?
    What if I don't hear back from the owner?
    How do I pay?
    Is my payment insured in any way?

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travellers find the perfect holiday rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cazj1982
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 24 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

After reading the last couple of reviews we were slightly anxious about our stay at this cottage- but we were very pleasantly surprised! It's evident that the reviews of late have been acted on- the cottage was spotless, all linen was clean and ironed, the kitchen was up to my ocd standards and was all ready to be used. Communication... more

Management response:

We are really glad to hear this thank you, people don't always take the time to do positive reviews which is a shame and we really appreciate it. more

Report response as inappropriate
roger_coo...
Solihull, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 10 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Picturesque village, lovely pub,chocolate box cottage until you open the door! Kitchen didnt look as though it had been cleaned from previous occupants. Crumbs,food scraps and dirt in fridge and on sides, sink dirty with filthy scourers left on side, microwave dirty and rusty and food spillage left in oven, bin filthy with mouldy teabags stuck to base. After exhausting...

more

Management response:

After apologising profusely to the guests the housekeeper has been dismissed as the cleaning clearly wasn't up to the level expected. The house has had a deep clean less than 2 months ago and all windows, carpets and lampshades were deep cleaned at this time. It was a shame the plumber had not been able to fix the tap whilst... more

Report response as inappropriate
jenniferd...
Andover, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 8 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We arrived to find dirty linen on the floor no beds made the whole cottage needs a good clean and the garden was overgrown. When we rang the contact number we were told the housekeeper had the wrong week booked. We had to travel home with two dogs to our own cottage which was having renovation work done which was... more

Management response:

This was a total disappointment for us too as we had just employed a new housekeeper who had sadly misunderstood the booking schedule so she had not done a changeover. As soon as I was contacted (the bookings manager) I offered them a free meal locally whilst I sent the housekeeper straight to the property to do a changeover for... more

Report response as inappropriate
Enter dates for more accurate prices
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
£800
/ Week
Request to Book
Or, send the owner a message
Send Message
this property has payment protection
Owner
Philip B
44 7802767987
Speaks English
Listed since : Feb 2013
Response Rate: 90 %
Response Time: Within a day
Calendar Updated: 4 days ago
Peace of Mind Payment Protection
Receive our exclusive payment protection when you pay for this rental on Tripadvisor. It's how we keep your payment safe, guaranteed.
Learn more
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travellers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing