We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
  • The Perigordian Cottage
    The Perigordian Cottage
    The Perigordian Cottage
    The pool with amazing views
    The hillside setting
    Property description
    Perigueux
    |
    Holiday Rental House – 
    2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
    The Cottage offers a Secluded, Romantic Setting with Heated Pool.
    A quaint yet spacious Perigordian cottage in Dordogne, France. Located just over half an hour from the capital of the Dordogne, Perigueux.
    The beautifully converted Cottage and Granary are totally independent and therefore offer their own privacy. The Cottage is completly self contained with its own private terrace and BBQ area. Offering beautiful views over fields and woods this idyllically positioned cottage makes an ideal rental property for couples looking for romantic breaks or families with children.

    Situated up a private driveway with no immediate neighbours this property is surrounded by fields. The large shady walnut trees nearby offer plenty of shade.

    The 10 x 5 metre heated swimming pool* is set into the hills...
    more
  • Amenities & details
    • Balcony
    • Central Heating
    • Cooker
    • Cots:(1)
    • Dining Seats (4)
    • Dishwasher
    • Double Beds:(1)
    • DVD Player
    • Fireplace
    • Freezer
    • Grill
    • Hairdryer
    • Highchair
    • Internet Access
    • Iron
    • Kettle
    • Linens Provided
    • Living Room Seats (5)
    • Microwave
    • Parking
    • Private Outdoor Pool (Heated)
    • Refrigerator
    • Satellite TV
    • Single Beds:(2)
    • Stereo System
    • Terrace
    • Toaster
    • Towels Provided
    • TV
    • Washer
    • Wi-Fi
    Suitability
    • Wheelchair Access:
      No
    • Elder Access:
      Yes
    • Pets Allowed:
      No
    • Smoking Allowed:
      No
    • Suitable for Children:
      Yes
    Additional amenities & feature info
    Accommodation - The Cottage - sleeps 2 - 4
    The open plan layout of the cottage gives an wonderful feeling of spaciousness with patio doors from the lounge and kitchen/dining area opening directly to the rear of the cottage. With views across the fields the atmosphere is one of peace and tranquillity.

    The Cottage is tastefully furnished with brand new top quality furnishings and fittings. The new oak kitchen has oven and hob, double sink, integral fridge freezer and dishwasher. The spacious well equipped kitchen has doors to the front and rear. The dining area of the kitchen has a good size round table and plenty of chairs, with easy access to the rear terrace for the outside dining area. The lounge has a chimney with wood burning stove, leather sofa and leather chairs. With terrace doo...
    more
    Listing #HL176208 by: Holiday Lettings
  • Rates
    View Details
  • Property location
    Access
    Car advised
    How to get there
    Airport: Limoges: 50.0 km
    Ferry: Calais: 700.0 km
    Lavaud is situated ten minutes drive East of the main N21 trunk road, approximately 30km from Perigueux.

    With cheap flights available with Ryanair getting here has never been so easy!
    Limoges is our nearest airport.

    Limoges Airport (47.7 kms)
    Limoges airport is served by Ryanair (from several locations in the UK, including Stansted, Liverpool
    Angouleme Airport (67.3 kms)
    Angoulême’s Brie-Champniers airport welcomes low cost airline Ryanair
    Bergerac Airport (79.3 kms)
    Bergerac is situated east of Bordeaux and is the most convenient airport for those travelling to the Dordogne
    Bordeaux Airport (151.1 kms)
    Bordeaux is a very modern, very clean and very well organised airport.
    Activities nearby
    Fishing Nearby, There Is A Golf Course Within 30 Mins Drive, Horse Riding Nearby, There Are Tennis Courts Nearby.
  • About this property
    How do I know if the property is available?
    How can I contact the owner?
    How will the owner contact me?
    What if I don't hear back from the owner?
    How do I pay?
    Is my payment insured in any way?

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travellers find the perfect holiday rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Knotweed7...
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 25 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Lavaud Cottage is an excellent base to explore the region. We still have plenty to see so a return stay is inevitable. We did have a couple of rest days by the pool in 32 degree heat with just the sounds of the crickets and aerobatics of the many small birds. This is an ideal holiday cottage both inside and out. Photos don’t do the accommodation justice as it is of a very high standard. The supermarket (with fuel station) is on the main road about 5 miles away. Our only complaint is we should have booked two weeks instead of one but that will be remedied next time.

more

IanandD
United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 July 2013 for a stay in April 2013

As a self-catering option the cottage is not too bad. There were some problems initially which the owners rectified during our stay.

The most alarming issue was that the waste bin in the bathroom had not been emptied and was full of used feminine hygiene products. (Actually, I didnt look too closely at this ghastly discovery, but I think that was what the bin contained.)

Another concerning feature was that the wi-fi was not working when we arrived on Saturday and did not work until Tuesday evening when the "problem" was fixed.

The advertisement says that the cottage has a hairdryer and an iron. Neither were in evidence. I asked for an iron and one was provided as well as an ironing board and a teapot which I had also requested.

However, the worst thing about our stay was the self-guided (and self-catered) walking holiday component that we opted for. We paid for this for one week of our two week stay. This was at a cost of 550 GBP...
more

Management response:

Hello Dale. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I am sorry to hear that you found the cottage accommodation “not to bad” as we truly try and offer a quality rental. Upon your arrival and on the day of your departure you had told me how lovely the accommodation had been and had commented on its... more

Report response as inappropriate
Enter dates for more accurate prices
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
£400
/ Week
Request to Book
Or, send the owner a message
Send Message
this property has payment protection
Owner
Jeanette R
33 611 197871
Speaks English, French
Listed since : Sep 2009
Response Rate: 100 %
Calendar Updated: 26 days ago
Peace of Mind Payment Protection
Receive our exclusive payment protection when you pay for this rental on Tripadvisor. It's how we keep your payment safe, guaranteed.
Learn more
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travellers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing