We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Railway Crossing Cottage

  • Saved Save
    You added Railway Crossing Cottage to your Saves list.
    Railway Crossing Cottage
    Railway Crossing Cottage
    Railway Crossing Cottage
    Lounge Area with Log Burning Stove
    Outside Hot Tub
    Open Plan Lounge and Kitchen/Dining Area
    Kitchen Area
    Property description
    Crail
    |
    Holiday Rental House – 
    2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
    Railway Crossing Cottage is a charming detached stone cottage, originally a crossing keeper's cottage on the now disused Anstruther to St. Andrews Railway. It is located in tranquill countryside 2 miles from the villages of Crail and Anstruther and It has recently been beautifully and sensitively restored and extended, providing a cosy and warm holiday retreat for family and friends. There are distant views to The Firth of Forth and The Isle of May.

    There are 2 bedrooms at the property, a double room and a twin room, and a lovely characterful open plan sitting room and kitchen/dining area. The sitting area has a cosy wood burning stove, wooden flooring and comfy leather sofas. There is a private hot tub on the decking area with wonderful views to the surrounding countryside. The garde...
    more
  • Amenities & details
    • Balcony
    • Central Heating
    • Cooker
    • Cots:(1)
    • Dining Seats (4)
    • Dishwasher
    • Double Beds:(1)
    • Dryer
    • DVD Player
    • Fireplace
    • Freezer
    • Grill
    • Hairdryer
    • Highchair
    • Hot Tub
    • Internet Access
    • Iron
    • Kettle
    • Linens Provided
    • Living Room Seats (6)
    • Microwave
    • Ocean Views
    • Parking
    • Private Garden
    • Refrigerator
    • Single Beds:(2)
    • Stereo System
    • Telephone
    • Terrace
    • Toaster
    • Towels Provided
    • TV
    • Washer
    • Wi-Fi
    Suitability
    • Wheelchair Access:
      Yes
    • Elder Access:
      Yes
    • Pets Allowed:
      Yes
    • Smoking Allowed:
      No
    • Suitable for Children:
      Yes
    Listing #HL372560 by: Holiday Lettings
  • Rates

    Rates are calculated based on the latest information provided. Please contact the manager/owner to confirm actual rates for your requested dates.

      Begins Ends Min stay Weeknight Weekend night Per week
    JUL 2014 4 Jul 2014 17 Jul 2014 7 nights -- --
    £655
    JUL/AUG 2014 18 Jul 2014 21 Aug 2014 7 nights -- --
    £700
    AUG 2014 22 Aug 2014 28 Aug 2014 7 nights -- --
    £640
    AUG/SEP 2014 29 Aug 2014 4 Sep 2014 3 nights
    £99
    £132
    £560
    View all periods
    Additional Rate and Availability Information
    7 or 14 night holidays available starting on a Friday or Monday
    3 night weekend breaks available starting on a Friday
    3 or 4 nights mid week breaks available starting on a Monday or Tuesday

    A 25% deposit is required to secure a booking

    Hot Tub, Electricity, Heating, Wi-Fi, Bed Linen and Towels included in the price.
    1 Dog welcome at an extra charge of £20
  • Property location
    Restaurants
    Things to Do
    Access
    Car recommended
    How to get there
    Airport: Edinburgh: 82.0 km
    Railway: Markinch: 35.0 km
    Activities nearby
    There Is A Golf Course Within 30 Mins Drive, Horse Riding Nearby, Nearest Beach: 2.0 km.
    Nearby cities
  • About this property
    How do I know if the property is available?
    How can I contact the owner?
    What if I don't hear back from the owner?
    How do I pay?

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travellers find the perfect holiday rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Irene B
Berwick-upon-Tweed, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago for a stay in June 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here in this elegantly styled cottage. Little extras were all very much appreciated. Every detail had been thought of and so it was relaxing and had every comfort. The garden was great for the dog and though I thought I would not manage the hot tub, having some mobility difficulties, I did and boy was... more

Management response:

Thank you so much for your lovely comments about our cottage. We're especially pleased that you were able to enjoy the outdoor hot tub for the first time and also that your visit to this area in the East Neuk of Fife was such a success. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back again. more

Report response as inappropriate
787Darren
Houghton le Spring
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 8 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Stayed at Railway Cottage for 3 nights recently and our party of four were very impressed by the location and facilities in the cottage. Hot tub was the icing on the cake. Thank you very much for a very enjoyable stay folks. more

S M
Ayrshire
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 17 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Looking at the pictures for this cottage I was so excited to arrive and see it for myself. We were VERY pleasantly greeted with this beautiful property that ticked every box for us. It was quiet, perfectly decorated and surprisingly spacious. Not a single complaint from us. Hot tub was fab! We were blessed with nice weather which was an... more

Management response:

It's lovely to know that you had such a positive experience during your stay at Railway Crossing Cottage. The cottage is certainly in a peaceful and beautiful area of Fife and it sounds as if you managed to explore plenty of the wonderful local areas. Thank you very much for all your positive comments. So sorry to hear about the... more

Report response as inappropriate
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
£71
/
Night
Week
Make Enquiry
Owner
Ian G
44 01337 828032
Speaks English
Listed since : Apr 2013
Response Rate: 60 %
Response Time: Within a few hours
Calendar Updated: 3 days ago
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travellers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing