Instant Personalization FAQs
How does TripAdvisor use Facebook to personalise my experience?
We’ve partnered with Facebook to make your experience on TripAdvisor social and personalised the moment you arrive. We use public information and your list of friends to show you friends’ reviews, the places they have visited, and other travel-related content they’ve shared. Learn more
What are the benefits of Instant Personalization?
With instant personalization, you get to see your friends’ reviews first as you browse the site. You’ll also be able to see which of your friends have visited a city or live there, so you can reach out to people you know for more advice as you plan your trip. Learn more
What do my Facebook friends see when they use TripAdvisor?
The reviews you’ve written and other content you’ve contributed on TripAdvisor are available to anyone looking for travel advice. Your real name will be visible only to your Facebook friends, and only if you have done one of the following:
Additionally, if you’ve created a travel map using our Cities I’ve Visited application on Facebook, your Facebook friends will be able to see your real name next to the cities you’ve pinned.
Will my activity on TripAdvisor be visible on Facebook?
Nothing you do on TripAdvisor will be automatically published to Facebook, but you will have the option to share content, such as a review, with your friends on Facebook.
How to disable personalisation
You can turn off personalisation by first signing into Facebook, and clicking the disconnect link on this page.