Tours and Tickets

St Maarten Double Decker Bus Tour provided by Open Top Double Decker Tours

St Maarten Double Decker Bus Tour

Save
Share
View all photos (25)
Select Date and Travellers
From
US$51.29
Date
2 adults
Options
Select tour language
Low Price Guarantee
No Booking Fees
Overview
Itinerary
+
You'll start at
St Maarten Deep Sea Fishing Charters
Bobbys Marina - St Maarten, 22H Juancho Yrausquin Blvd, Phillipsburg St Maarten, C/O Lance Mourillon/Raphaella, Philipsburg, Sint MaartenWe meet guests inside the Port.
See address & details
  • 1
    St Martin / St Maarten
    Stop: 15 minutes -
    See details
  • 2
    Topper's Rhum Distillery Tours
    Stop: 20 minutes - Admission included
    See details
    Pass by Simpson Bay
  • 3
    Maho
    Stop: 20 minutes -
    See details
  • 4
    Carousel Gelateria and Bar
    Stop: 20 minutes - Admission included
    See details
  • 5
    Amsterdam Cheese and Liquor Store
    Stop: 20 minutes - Admission included
    See details
  • 6
    St Martin / St Maarten
    Stop: 10 minutes -
    See details
You'll end at
St Maarten Deep Sea Fishing Charters
Bobbys Marina - St Maarten, 22H Juancho Yrausquin Blvd, Phillipsburg St Maarten, C/O Lance Mourillon/Raphaella, Philipsburg, Sint MaartenWe meet guests inside the Port.
See address & details
Important Information
Departure Point
St Maarten Deep Sea Fishing Charters, Bobbys Marina - St Maarten, 22H Juancho Yrausquin Blvd, Phillipsburg St Maarten, C/O Lance Mourillon/Raphaella, Philipsburg, Sint Maarten
Duration
3h 30m
Return Details
Returns to original departure point
Inclusions
  • Sightseeing bus tour
  • Audio-guide system in 7 different languages: English, French, Italian, German, Portuguese, Spanish and Chinese
  • Headsets to hear the audio-guide
  • Purified ice-cold water
  • Entry/Admission - Topper's Rhum Distillery Tours
  • Entry/Admission - Carousel Gelateria and Bar
  • Entry/Admission - Amsterdam Cheese and Liquor Store
Exclusions
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off
  • Food
  • Gratuities
  • Air Conditioning
Show More
Additional Info
  • Dress code is smart casual
  • A very small amount of walking is involved
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • Most travellers can participate
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s cancelled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travellers. If it’s cancelled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 70 travellers
Cancellation Policy
For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
29Reviews
2Q&A
Traveller rating
  • 5
  • 6
  • 4
  • 3
  • 7
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Popular mentions
Jan P wrote a review Feb 2020
Whitehouse, Texas65 contributions18 helpful votes
We were so looking forward to this excursion and so were many more from our ship! We arrived before the designated time but no one from the tour company was there. 45 minutes later still no one but Royal finally sent someone out. That’s when we got the bad news - the tour
Read more
Helpful
Share
Response from IslandSightseeing, Director of Sales at St Maarten Double Decker Bus Tour
Responded 25 Mar 2020
Dear guest, we are so sorry that you were misinformed. On the way to the Port we had a flat tire on the bus and we informed that we would take more 30min to arrive. We were told that guests didn't want to wait at all and they canceled the tour on us also, and full refunding all guests. Believe us that we were also looking forward to this excursion since this season we have fewer ships in Port. Wish you managed to have a fun day in Sint Maarten, and come back for a free tour on us ;-)
Read more
Michael S wrote a review Feb 2020
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Three out of the 4 stops seemed to be more about sales then sightseeing would like to have stopped at Bells lookout point for photos. We stood mid-way in the line on the pier waiting to walk to the bus slow walkers and wheel chair families were sent ahead to give them time to
Read more
Date of experience: January 2020
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from IslandSightseeing, Guest Relations Manager at St Maarten Double Decker Bus Tour
Responded 25 Mar 2020
Hello Michael, thank you for your feedback. We have photo-stops and free tasting stops: Toppers Rhum Distillery: Free Rhum Tasting Maho Airport Beach: Photo-Stop of low landing airplanes Gelataria Italiana: Free ride on a vintage carousel Bell's Lookout Point: slow pass by on the layby for pictures of the view, stopping depends on parking availability. Dutch Cheese venue: Free Old Amsterdam Cheese tasting. Some stops do have souvenir shops for those who want to take some gifts back home, but you only buy if you want, and that's not related to our sightseeing tour. We do send the slow walkers and wheelchairs first since they take their time getting to the bus and always stay on the lower deck on the handicapped seats close to doors. There's many folks that like the shade of the lower deck, as on a normal bus. Younger generations like to open-top upper deck to enjoy the sun. It's generally a 50/50 choice, and we also never sell all seats, leaving at least 10 seats available for extra comfort and opportunity for those who had too much sun to head to the lower deck at the stops. We do ask to wait until everybody's seated on their seats, where most have their belongings before searching for empty seats. Next vacations inform the tour guide at the pier that you would like to stay on top as a returned guest, and the team will have the pleasure to accommodate you. You can also reserve seats in advance, just let us know, and your name will be printed in a sign at your chosen seats.
Read more
Raymond R wrote a review Jan 2020
26 contributions16 helpful votes
Stopped at the Toppers Rhum factory - yes that’s how you spell it - which isn’t something I was looking forward to even though I love rum but hey it was fantastic and the rhum was delicious and several small samples were provided. Maho beach was amazing as expected next time I’d
Read more
Helpful
Share
C J wrote a review Jan 2020
Michigan4 contributions2 helpful votes
We booked this tour through our Royal Caribbean Cruise. I traveled with my elderly grandmother on this tour thinking it would be easier for her to see more of the island. When we approached the bus, the driver, Victor, asked us where our husbands were as if two women are not
Read more
Date of experience: December 2019
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from IslandSightseeing, General Manager at St Maarten Double Decker Bus Tour
Responded 13 Jan 2020
Dear Guest Thank you so much for taking the time to write to us. We can only apologize for the inappropriate comments from our guide. Everyone is more than welcome on our tours and we wish all to feel comfortable and happy during their stay in St Maarten. We deeply apologize and will make sure it does not happen again. Regarding the Tour itself. This Tour is conducted only on the Dutch side of the island, since hurricane Irma seriously destroyed the Island. The tour has 4 stops as described on the brochure onboard the ship and online. The Rum distillery,(Rum is a big tourist attraction) , Maho Beach (famous for the airplanes landing), Carrocel - an Ice cream shop with a Unique Carrocel in the Caribbean and the Cheese Store, as Holland is famous for Gouda cheese. We try to show as much as possible during those 3 hours and 30 min. The unique multilingual audio system, that has all the Island History in 7 languages (including English), is GPS triggered for you to have the correct information, on the correct location. It has 2h of content about every detail of the island: Historical, Contemporaneous and even information about hotels and restaurants along the way. We thank you again and wish you the best hoping you will return to St Maarten.
Read more
Sharon A wrote a review Nov 2019
St. Petersburg, United States43 contributions9 helpful votes
My husband and I took this tour and we sat on the bottom level because my husband can't take too much sun. At our first stop my husband wasn't feeling too well and was feeling dizzy and weak from low blood pressure. He went back to the bus and our tour guide Damy said she would
Read more
Date of experience: November 2019
Helpful
Share
About the operator

Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator.

By: Open Top Double Decker Tours
M2755OIscottl
00
Good experience, pick up was a little confusing
The crew on the Trolly Train was very friendly. The process for getting picked up was a little confusing. They need
Read more
I5266HDmichaelh
00
Did not enjoy.
So we did this excursion through Royal Caribbean in essence it sounded like a great idea. In reality it was extreme
Read more
Cláudia S
00
Great way to know the Island!
The buses have information in your language, just choose the one you prefer. Nice views along the way and you get t
Read more
bobbeck3
00
Disappointing
The commentary was not with the location and did not even work for some of the tour. The bus doesn’t have aircondit
Read more
marceak
00
Excursion Tour while on a cruise
THE WORST!! We booked this excursion through and while on a Royal Caribbean cruise. So lame! They had a pre-recorde
Read more
Bonnie W
00
Disappointed
The website description was a hoax....we didn't see any of those things...well, we did see a plane fly over head. D
Read more
opjp
00
Nice ride
Our party of 4 including 2 kids enjoyed the ride on the double decker bus. We stopped at a few places including a
Read more
Mjrice1976
00
Unimportant
Unimportant is how I felt. I was unimportant to them as they took me to unimportant places. Nothing of interest to
Read more
kevinlY1011GT
00
Hard to hear the the guide
The bus was new and clean. It had headphones that were cumbersome to use. Part of the tour was pre-recorded and par
Read more
theoldbikers
00
not a photo tour, it's a ripoff
We were told by Royal Carribean tour desk and the brochure that there were several stops to take photos. Instead w
Read more
GWBucks
00
Royal Caribbean tour
Nice to have a drive around the island - I guess. Goes to a Rum distillery in a warehouse area, then to the bar at
Read more
carolkemp
00
Worst Tour I have been on in years
We purchased this tour from Royal Caribbean Oasis of the Seas. I have visited St. Marteen since 1999 and stayed fo
Read more
familyfun528
00
Horrible Experience- Waste of money
Booked this excursion through Royal Caribbean. The guides were not personable and the trolley speaker system did n
Read more
bigbob12345
00
Stay on board if this is only option
This tiur was HORRIBLE!! First the tour left 20 minutes late, then the bus could only go 2 mph (yes! 2 mph) up the
Read more
David D
00
Basille Day in the rain
The tour was not bad. Saw the island and learned a little. Don't go on this tour if it is a National Holiday on th
Read more
Key Details
  • Duration: 3h 30m
  • Mobile Ticket Accepted
  • Free Cancellation up to 24 hours in advance
  • Languages Offered: English, Chinese, Chinese, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, Spanish
Why Book on Tripadvisor?
  • Free Cancellation up to 24 hours in advance
  • Low Price Guarantee
  • No Booking Fees
  • Secure Payments
  • 24/7 SupportCall:+44 12 2492 8241
Frequently Asked Questions about St Maarten Double Decker Bus Tour