Tours and Tickets

Sky Explorer Flying Dutchman Schooner Ride and Sentry Hill Zip Line provided by Rainforest Adventures St Maarten - Rockland Estate

Sky Explorer Flying Dutchman Schooner Ride and Sentry Hill Zip Line

Sky Explorer Flying Dutchman Schooner Ride and Sentry Hill Zip Line
4.5
Book in advance
from
£116.99
per adult
Reserve now & pay later: Save your spot free of charge with flexible booking.
Free cancellation
Not sure? You can cancel this booking up to 24 hours in advance for a full refund.
Tour snapshot
Duration:
5h
Taking Covid-19 safety measures
Group size:
15
Ticket type:
Mobile
Free cancellation
About
Know before you go
  • Duration: 5h
  • Mobile tickets accepted
  • Instant confirmation
Cancellation policy
  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
Available languages
English
What to expect
Know before you go
  • Duration: 5h
  • Mobile tickets accepted
  • Instant confirmation
Available languages
English
Cancellation policy
  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
What to expect
Need help booking?
Call the number below and use the product code: 5189P34
Important information
Inclusions
  • Sky Explorer
  • Flying Dutchman
  • Schooner Ride
  • Emilio Wilson Museum
  • Sentry Hill Zipline
  • Entry/Admission - Rainforest Adventures St Maarten - Rockland Estate
Exclusions
  • Food and drinks
  • Gratuities
  • Souvenir photos (available to purchase)
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off
Duration
5h
Departure details
  • Rainforest Adventures St Maarten - Rockland Estate, LB Scott Rd #59, Cul de Sac, Sint Maarten
Additional information
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Not recommended for travellers with back problems
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Not recommended for pregnant travellers
  • Child rate applies only when sharing with 2 paying adults
  • Children must be accompanied by an adult
  • Children must have a height of minimum 52 – maximum 80 inches and weight a minimum of 100 pounds to do this tour.
  • Weight Range: minimum 100 – maximum 275 pounds
  • Travellers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 15 travellers
Inclusions
  • Sky Explorer
  • Flying Dutchman
  • Schooner Ride
  • Emilio Wilson Museum
  • Sentry Hill Zipline
  • Entry/Admission - Rainforest Adventures St Maarten - Rockland Estate
Exclusions
  • Food and drinks
  • Gratuities
  • Souvenir photos (available to purchase)
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off
Departure details
  • Rainforest Adventures St Maarten - Rockland Estate, LB Scott Rd #59, Cul de Sac, Sint Maarten
Duration
5h
Return details
  • Returns to original departure point
Additional information
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Not recommended for travellers with back problems
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Not recommended for pregnant travellers
  • Child rate applies only when sharing with 2 paying adults
  • Children must be accompanied by an adult
  • Children must have a height of minimum 52 – maximum 80 inches and weight a minimum of 100 pounds to do this tour.
  • Weight Range: minimum 100 – maximum 275 pounds
  • Travellers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 15 travellers
Travel safe during COVID-19
Last updated: 15 Jun 2020
A note from Sky Explorer Flying Dutchman Schooner Ride and Sentry Hill Zip Line
We have a certificate of Safe Travels by WTTC (World Travel Tourism Council).
What you can expect during your visit
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Temperature checks for tour participants upon arrival
What you can expect during your visit
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Temperature checks for tour participants upon arrival
  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Hand sanitiser available to travellers and staff
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitised
  • Contactless payment for gratuities and add-ons
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Gear/equipment sanitised between use
  • Face masks required for travellers in public areas
  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
Itinerary
  • You'll start at
    Rainforest Adventures St Maarten - Rockland Estate
    LB Scott Rd #59, Cul de Sac, Sint Maarten
    See address & details
  • 1
    Rainforest Adventures St Maarten - Rockland Estate
    Stop: 5 hours - Admission included
    The most exciting new thrill rides in the eastern Caribbean in one tour! Glide to St. Maarten’s highest point on the Sky Explorer then go flying back down the mountain on the world’s steepest zip line, The Flying Dutchman. Take the Sentry Hill Zip Line over the mountain ridge enjoying the stunning views of beautiful St. Maarten. Then your top-to-bottom tour finishes with the Schooner Ride sending you surfing down the mountain in an inner tube. Embark the Sky Explorer ride to the top of Sentry Hill, St. Maarten’s highest elevation at 1,125 feet. A series of platforms encircle the mountaintop showcasing 360-degree views of the whole island. You´ll fly down the mountain at speeds of up to 56 miles per hour on the world’s steepest zip line, The Flying Dutchman.  You’ll be attached to a flight line in a secure harnessed chair to experience the ride of a lifetime; after you will enjoy the zipline over the mountain ridge, then you will surf down the mountain in an inner tube, Schooner ride.
    Read more
  • You'll return to the starting point
+
Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.
Popular mentions

4.5
100 reviews
Excellent
71
Very good
13
Average
3
Poor
3
Terrible
10

mobabies
Pittsburgh, PA5 contributions
Jul 2021 • Family
The view on a sunny day would have been spectacular- unfortunately for us the day was rainy. However it was a blast! The workers were amazing and the whole experience was something we will remember forever. There were nine of us and we had the best day, but expect to be there at least four hours if you do the whole experience. Unfortunately their scale is a little off so if you are close to the weight limit, consider not paying until they weigh you. It is 10 lbs off weighing heavy, so now trying to get a refund for 1 in our group who weighed 280 on the scale. The Flying Dutchman is worth every penny- the tubes are ok but not worth the extra $40.
Written 25 July 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vveli003
Dear Guest, Thanks for your review we are happy to hear that you had a great time. Sincerely
Written 26 July 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

distewave
Somerset, NJ198 contributions
Jul 2021
We have been on many vacations that offered zip lining, this was the first time I had the courage to take on the adventure. When you arrive you are asked to sign a digital 'waiver' and you are weighed. After you are taken up the mountain in 2 separate chair lifts. One runs parallel to the mountain, the other takes you to the top. At the top you have a majestic view of St Martin and neighboring islands.

The area to actually get prepared for the zip line was a bit chaotic. There were people standing everywhere. We stool for about 10 minutes before we learned we had to add our name to the list. The women facilitating the ride was direct, giving specific instruction and redirected those who were not following her instruction.

This was not an activity I though I would need sunscreen for but you do. There is very little shade and you are standing around in the sun for a while. After waiting over an hour we were called up, you are given a disposable hair cap, helmet and verbal instructions.

The ride was amazing! I never felt the feeling of falling but gliding, at 56 MPH it was a smooth ride. The stomach drop felling never happened, it was an awesome experience, I would definitely do it again. Zip lining is now on my vacation to-do-list.
Written 1 August 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hi distewave, Thank you for the 5 star review! We're happy to hear you overcame your fears with us and conquered The Steepest Zipline in The World! The Flying Dutchman is definitely a must do activity when visiting our beautiful 37 square mile island. Indeed, the views at the top of Sentry Hill is like no other! Panoramic Views of the entire island with vistas of neighboring islands, It's the perfect backdrop for family portraits and selfies. We understand the queue for the ziplines was a bit unexpected and could be better organized for an improve experience as you wait for the main attraction. Our operations team is aware of this and we're continuously working on ways to make this experience much better for our guests. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us, We can't wait to welcome you back to the park!
Written 2 August 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Monica A
Durham, NC1 contribution
Apr 2021 • Family
I had the best time in St. Maarten at the Rainforest Adventures. I was extremely nervous because I'm afraid of heights. A young man named Juwencio was in charge of the Zipline that day and he made me feel so safe and secure. He was very professional and reassured us that it was safe. All of the young men that worked with him did an outstanding job of making sure we were safe. I had trouble walking up to the Zipline area and they helped me. They went above & beyond. They definitely need a raise!!! There was also a lady who talked me through getting on the Flying Dutchman. Even the bartenders reassured us that there was nothing to be scared of. All of the staff is great! Once I completed these adventures, I felt a sense of accomplishment. It was so exhilarating!!! If you’re in St. Maarten don't miss out on this great adventure and the wonderful staff too!!!
Written 4 May 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hi Monicaa, Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a fantastic review! Our staff is happy to hear you had an incredible time at the park, and enjoyed every moment of the day. Thanks for mentioning Juwencio, we're truly lucky to have him part of our Adventure team. We'll be sure to tell him and the team you said hello & complimented them on their amazing work ethics! Hope you had some time to visit the gift shop before leaving the park to get your photos on the attractions completed.
Written 5 May 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

dagodess99
Atlanta, GA15 contributions
I went on a Tuesday mid day paid online in advance and had a 1pm reservation. Upon arrival there were two buses of cruise ship passengers who were all let through the entrance at the same time. The entry process was very disorganized no one knew which line to get in and there were no signs to help. Once inside I rode the chairlift to the top which took 30 minutes. Once a top the mountain there's an observation deck to take pictures. The views were stunning and this was the best part of the experience. After the observation deck you have to get in line and sign up for the flying Dutchman experience. Again no signage to tell people that you need to put your name on the list. The line moved incredibly slow and it's smoldering hot a top the mountain with no shade whatsoever. It took about 2.5 hours to get through the line once I got my turn to zipline it was over in 45 seconds. The zipline itself was fun but I dont think it's worth the price. The park could do a better job at notifying people of the expected wait times. They also over booked only 4 people can go down the Dutchman zipline and they do it in pairs 2 at a time. They booked at least 150 people within the same hour 1-2 hour window and couldn't accommodate that many guests at the same time. Multiple people had to get out of line due to having to catch the bus back to their cruise ship. If you decide to try this experience plan to be at the park for 3-4 hours. Bring cash for the bar and bring cold water or you'll be miserable while waiting in line. Also look for coupons I paid 99.00 and it was honestly too much for the experience. The staff was also rude and indifferent.
Written 25 February 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jdanielmo_123
Hello dagodess99, I am truly sorry about your experience at the park, I have taken your feedback and share it with the site manager. Thank you for sharing with us your experience, this definitely helps us improve, even with the long wait I am glad you had the chance to enjoy the stunning views from up there. If ever back on the island, your tour is on us. Regards,
Written 9 March 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Katie L
12 contributions
I have to say I was rather disappointed with my overall experience. I booked the schooner tubing, sentry hill zipline and Flying Dutchman zipline for Tuesday. When I arrived at 11am I noticed that no one was on the Flying Dutchman but didn’t think much of it since it was still early in the day. We completed the schooner and sentry hill. The entire time the staff was friendly and kept telling us how amazing the Flying Dutchman was going to be. When we arrived to the top of the mountain to complete the Flying Dutchman we learned that it was closed due to the wind. No one made us aware of the closure at any time until we arrived to the top of the mountain. We later learned that the Dutchman had been closed on both Tuesday and Wednesday due to the weather. They should have notified us when we arrived for the tour. We were asked by the staff to reschedule the Flying Dutchman for Thursday and to call at 11am when they opened to verify that the weather was cooperating. On Thursday I called and called from 11-11:30 and no one answered at the desk. Finally I drove down to the location and was told that the “sensors” weren’t working and that the Dutchman should be operational around 2:30pm. When I went back at 2:30 they said the Dutchman was closed for the day. I wasted the majority of my time on Thursday trying to sort out this zip lining tour. Honestly, after this experience I do not trust what the office staff was saying. Thank goodness they are issuing a refund for our multiple failed attempts to take the Flying Dutchman. I rated this experience average solely due to the customer service we experienced by the zip lining staff, not the front office. If the Flying Dutchman is your main attraction you must ensure that it can run or, if weather is not permitting, you must have open, honest communication with your customers.
Written 3 July 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dear katielB2609LM, We're sorry to hear you had a not so favorable experience when visiting our Eco Adventure park. We understand you booked The Big 3 experience and unfortunately on the day you visited, we were faced with difficulties with operating The Flying Dutchman. Due to above average winds to the top of Sentry Hill, The Flying Dutchman could not be operated. We understand your frustration about not being notified. With feedback like yours, we can work on improving our communication to all our guest and minimize future disappointments. Thank you for the feedback.
Written 5 July 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

KayBee698
Washington DC, DC156 contributions
It is a scenic place with breath taking views. Two issues- it is not organized with no real line management. We prepaid with a reservation but still had to wait in the same two lines as folks who walked up without reservations. The worst part of the experience was the lady who managed the Flying Dutchman. She was rude and unprofessional in ways I have never seen on St. Maarten. She was visibly offend when asked where we were related to our trip down the mountain. Most offensively, she snatched a hair protector bag from my son because she said he did not need it because he had a hat. The helmets are reused each trip. The hair protector was a disposable item to protect against COVID.

Everyone else was extremely nice and professional. I would recommend to anyone but one employee can diminish the experience.
Written 28 July 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dear KayBee698, We're sorry to hear your visit to our Eco-Friendly park wasn't exactly what you expected. We do understand your frustration and apologize for queue upon check in. On the day you visited, we did have a high influx of reservation/walk ins hence the check in line. Typically the check in process is smooth and quick once the ewaivers are completed; We've communicated this to our front ticket office and operations team to work on ways to improve the checkin process for our guests. We take pride in why they refer to us as the 'Friendly Island' and apologize for the behavior you experienced on the top deck. We understand our staff came across as being impolite and we apologize for this level of customer service. At no point do we condone unfriendliness and we've taken actions to minimize this re occurring in the future. Again, we sincerely apologize for the customer service you received, and hope you give the park a second chance. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.
Written 31 July 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Beth R.
1 contribution
Mar 2022
Do NOT pay in advance. Booked well in advance, paid in full, and received multiple emails so we knew they had our contact information. Took a taxi from the cruise terminal only to find out they were not operating that day. No rain, no reason other than it wasn't running that day. Despite being assured we would receive a refund, we have only received a partial refund and the company refuses to respond further. IF you go, wait until you get there to make sure it is operational on the day you go before you pay them anything.
Written 13 June 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dear brastself, Sorry to hear that after booking your excursion, you were then greeted by a closed park. We do try our best to communicate all operational changes to our customers and unfortunately we failed to do so with you. We apologize for the inconvenience this has caused as we understand your time on the island is precious. Please reach out to: marketing.sxm@rainforestadventure.com with more information about your situation.
Written 15 June 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Katie G
3 contributions
Jul 2021 • Family
We’re bought tickets for the Big 3 and were told when arrived that The Flying Dutchman was closed for maintenance. I get it…things have to be maintained, but it would have been nice to know in advance. We chose to request a refund (supposed to be processed within 5-7 days) for The Flying Dutchman and did the Zipline and Schooner which were both fun activities and the views were phenomenal. That was July 4th. Despite having reached out via email on numerous occasions, we still have not received the refund (which was a significant amount given we had 4 people). While the experience was fun, I’m not sure it’s worth the hassle.
Written 24 July 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vveli003
Dear Guest, we apologies for the inconvenience, if you're ever back in St Maarten please let us know we will give you an extra ride on the FD. The refund has been authorized. Sincerely ,
Written 26 July 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Erin S
1 contribution
Mar 2022 • Family
This is the biggest waste of money and time I have ever encountered. I paid $270 for my daughter and I to have a fun afternoon. What we experienced was two hours of torture and 30 seconds of zip time. When we arrived, we got on a super slow lift chair that took 30 minutes to get to the top of the hill (I felt like a chicken being slowly roasted under the blazing sun). Once we got to the Flying Dutchman, we found a group of people staying mostly in the sun in various stages of heat stroke. We were asked to put our name on the list and the lady told us “babe it will be at least an hour and a half wait until your turn:” I thought this is odd since I had to choose a time when we signed up online so I asked again if this is a mistake. She looked at me and said “no, everyone has been waiting for over an hour!” No wonder they were all melting and red in the face.
We took the lift back down and asked for a refund because I couldn’t handle the heat and sun. And we didn’t want to waste our precious vacation time just sitting and waiting. The managers emphatically told us we can’t have a refund because this is “part of the experience”! Wow!!
For anyone considering this activity, please do not waste your time and money. It is the biggest scam that will leave me scarred for a long time.
Written 10 March 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dear Eps1234567, Sorry to hear you had a not so favorable experience at our Eco Adventure park. We understand your time spent on the island is precious and had no intention of making your adventure a not so fun one. Depending on park capacity, the Flying Dutchman can have an average waiting time of anywhere between 1,5 - 2,5 hours. Unfortunately, on the day you visited, the queue was longer than anticipated. As it tends to get much warmer at the top of one of the highest peaks on the Dutch side, We often recommend to guests to walk with sun screen. Your feedback is important to us as we're continuously looking for ways to improve guest's experiences at the park. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience, our Operations team is working on improving the activity queues to ensure each guest's expectations are met as they wait to experience the The Steepest Zipline in the World.
Written 15 March 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

HD2006Reviews
Alabama56 contributions
The website is misleading. It lets you book for ages 3+, but no child would meet the requirements to actually ride anything. We were denied entry with our child and the lady at the ticket office was rude and said there was nothing she could do to refund our money. She said to just email the website and basically just motioned us off. I have used this business in the past and they were a little rude then also. At that time we had booked all of the activities for two adults, but one was closed. They did not want to refund part of our booking then either. It was annoying to have to email and hope to get a refund.
Written 27 July 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vveli003
Hello, Thank you very much for letting us know the situation, we have notified web department to check into the restrictions and, regarding your refund, please allow 3 to 10 business days to get to your account. We apologize for your unpleasant visit, we will take your feedback into account. Regards,
Written 28 July 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 94
About the operator

Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator.

By: Rainforest Adventures St Maarten - Rockland Estate
Cheraldine J
Cheraldine J
00
The Flying Dutchman
This activity was one of my Birthday celebrations with my cousin who lives in St. Maarten. I am more the adventurou
lzaccaro425
lzaccaro425
00
Fun!
This was wonderfully fun - in a beautiful spot with a lovely staff who added to the experience. The steep zipline i
jimdZ9017KS
jimdZ9017KS
00
Meh...
Disappointing. Single zip line. Steep but slowed down by the wind. Long bus ride, long ride up the tram to the top.
Shaquana A
Shaquana A
00
Do it
There is a small museum which is nice if you want to learn a little bit of history. The slide is cool but would be
jasondayo
jasondayo
00
nice, expensive, with a couple of points to improve on
phantastic views over the entire island. The lift uphill was too slow but exciting, the zipline really nice althoug
Scenic23191510403
Scenic23191510403
00
Great experience at Rainforest Adventures!
Great experience at Rainforest Adventures! The staff were amazing and did a great job briefing us and keeping us sa
ironmankgk
ironmankgk
00
Don’t purchase in advance - not worth it
We had a large family booked for this. The website allows you to book for ages 3 and up, but requires a minimum of
lydiarZ2499HZ
lydiarZ2499HZ
00
Did not like it
Th Flying Dutchman was closed and we didn’t get a full refund. And on there website it says 3 and up but you have t
V252ZBandrear
V252ZBandrear
00
Horrible Customer Service
Terrible customer service. They closed the Flying Dutchman. Told us it was wind but workers told us it was a cable
Explorer68342649962
Explorer68342649962
00
great views friendly crew
i was very hesitant about booking this trip because of other reviews saying it was very crowded and waiting in line
Seaside743738
Seaside743738
00
Horrible. Buyer Beware
Caution !! Flying Dutchman is closed most of the time but they don’t tell you. We were going to book Flying Dutchm
Mobile62652468793
Mobile62652468793
00
Worth going to!
The Flying Dutchman was awesome! The canopy tour was boring, the schooner ride should be longer. The restaurant was
Discover34840004273
Discover34840004273
00
Skip this
Luckily we got there when there were no lines. The people were not that friendly and could care less that we were
GoPlaces02033302688
GoPlaces02033302688
00
Three hour wait with reservations
The actual zip lining was fun! The three hour wait at the top for our turn was not! Our reservation was at one. We
deaconzach
deaconzach
00
Nice experience
Beautiful and calming in a convenient part of the island. Not scary at all. Going up the line takes the most time,
Frequently Asked Questions about Sky Explorer Flying Dutchman Schooner Ride and Sentry Hill Zip Line

Sky Explorer Flying Dutchman Schooner Ride and Sentry Hill Zip Line price starts from £114.95. Discover and book Sky Explorer Flying Dutchman Schooner Ride and Sentry Hill Zip Line on Tripadvisor

Sky Explorer Flying Dutchman Schooner Ride and Sentry Hill Zip Line cancellation policy: For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience. Discover and book Sky Explorer Flying Dutchman Schooner Ride and Sentry Hill Zip Line on Tripadvisor

Sky Explorer Flying Dutchman Schooner Ride and Sentry Hill Zip Line is hosted by Rainforest Adventures St Maarten - Rockland Estate. Read reviews, discover additonal experiences or contact Rainforest Adventures St Maarten - Rockland Estate on Tripadvisor. Discover and book Sky Explorer Flying Dutchman Schooner Ride and Sentry Hill Zip Line on Tripadvisor