Tours and Tickets

Sky Explorer and Schooner Ride With Transfers From Pier provided by Rainforest Adventures St Maarten - Rockland Estate

Sky Explorer and Schooner Ride With Transfers From Pier

Sky Explorer and Schooner Ride With Transfers From Pier
4
This product is unavailable to book via Tripadvisor. Contact the supplier for availability.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Last updated: 15 Jun 2020
A note from Sky Explorer and Schooner Ride With Transfers From Pier
We have a certificate of Safe Travels by WTTC (World Travel Tourism Council).
What you can expect during your visit
Regular temperature checks for staff
Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Temperature checks for tour participants upon arrival
What you can expect during your visit
Regular temperature checks for staff
Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Temperature checks for tour participants upon arrival
Guides required to regularly wash hands
Hand sanitiser available to travellers and staff
Transportation vehicles regularly sanitised
Contactless payment for gratuities and add-ons
Face masks required for guides in public areas
Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Gear/equipment sanitised between use
Face masks required for travellers in public areas
Social distancing enforced throughout experience
About
Know before you go
  • Duration: 5h
  • Mobile tickets accepted
  • Instant confirmation
Cancellation policy
  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
Available languages
English
Know before you go
  • Duration: 5h
  • Mobile tickets accepted
  • Instant confirmation
Available languages
English
Cancellation policy
  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
Need help booking?
Call the number below and use the product code: 5189P52
Call +44 12 2492 8241
Important information
Inclusions
Sky Explorer • Schooner Ride (2 Rides) • Emilio Wilson Museum • Port pickup and drop-off • 360 Views Deck • Entry/Admission - Rainforest Adventures St Maarten - Rockland Estate
Exclusions
Food and drinks • Gratuities • Souvenir photos (available to purchase)
Duration
5h
Departure details
Traveller pickup is offered.
Ports:
Philipsburg, saint marteen, Philipsburg, Sint Maarten
Inclusions
Sky Explorer • Schooner Ride (2 Rides) • Emilio Wilson Museum • Port pickup and drop-off • 360 Views Deck • Entry/Admission - Rainforest Adventures St Maarten - Rockland Estate
Exclusions
Food and drinks • Gratuities • Souvenir photos (available to purchase)
Departure details
Traveller pickup is offered.
Ports:
Philipsburg, saint marteen, Philipsburg, Sint Maarten
Duration
5h
Additional information
Confirmation will be received at time of booking
No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
Not wheelchair accessible
Not recommended for travellers with back problems
Not recommended for pregnant travellers
Child rate applies only when sharing with 2 paying adults
Children must be accompanied by an adult
At time of booking, Cruise ship passengers must provide the following information at time of booking: ship name, docking time, disembarkation time and re-boarding time
Children must Meet height of 52 inches to be allowed to do tour.
Travellers should have a moderate physical fitness level
This tour/activity will have a maximum of 15 travellers
Itinerary
  • You'll get picked up
    See Important Information for details
  • 1
    Rainforest Adventures St Maarten - Rockland Estate
    Stop: 4 hours - Admission included
    A top-to-bottom tour with two exciting experiences in one excursion.  Take in the amazing views as you glide to the top of St. Maarten’s highest mountain on the Sky Explorer. Then hop back on the Sky Explorer to the Schooner Ride where you’ll surf down the mountain in an inner tube. Embark the Sky Explorer for the approximately 25-minute ride to the top of Sentry Hill, St. Maarten’s highest elevation at 1,125 feet. A series of platforms encircle the mountaintop showcasing 360-degree views of the whole island including vistas of neighboring islands Saba, St. Eustatius, St. Barts and Anguilla. To complete your top-to-bottom ride, the Sky Explorer will take you to the Schooner Ride where you’ll surf down the mountain in an inner tube through the curves and straightaways of a specially designed track. After your fun-filled adventure, select your favorite photo and video then enjoy exploring the Estate and sampling St. Maarten delicacies, snacks and beverages at the restaurant.
    Read more
+

4.0
7 reviews
Excellent
2
Very good
4
Average
1
Poor
0
Terrible
0

Kerry S
Gilbert, AZ20 contributions
It was ok - wouldn't do it again
Jul 2019 • Family
We were really looking forward to this combo excursion. A few things to note - this particular trip was supposed to be four hours with our transportation to/from ship. I think we were back in about 3 hours and we had waited about 30 minutes for the bus to take us back. They built in time that most people have to wait in line. There were no lines for us as we went at the earliest time available. I felt rushed at the little museum - Rockland Estate - I still have no idea what was even in there. The guide took us to the chair lift and it was a beautiful ride to the top of the ridge. From there, they pointed us to the zip line harness-donning area. I am bigger, but well below their stated weight limit. I nearly was not able to fit into the harness. Super embarrassing. But, I was pretty determined, so off we went. Quite a climb to the stage where there are a series of four short zip lines over the tress. I did two of the four. I had never zip lined before and there was basically no instruction at all. Stand there - smile for the picture. Put your hands here. Off you go. Um... I would not call it the best experience for my first zip line. My two younger teens had a blast as did my husband. From the zip lines, they point you towards another chair lift to continue going higher. Beautiful views of both the Dutch and French sides of the island. There is a "bar" (term used loosely) at the top. The Flying Dutchman zip line is also up there. I had no idea about that one, so we did not opt to upgrade our excursion another $40 for that. When we were done checking out the views, we decided to head back down. Then, the schooner ride is basically a short inner tube track that you double back on the first chair lift. You get off about ⅓ the way up the mountain, and ride an inner tube back down (think slalom). It was fun. Kids loved it.
When we were done we had over an hour to wait for the first bus to take us back to the ship. Because we were the early excursion there were NO lines. So, we went to Emilio's and had a cold drink and a coconut shrimp appetizer. Delish.

I was disappointed in this excursion for some pretty simple reasons. The young adults they had manning the trip were very non-communicative. Like we were a bother to them to be there. Annoyed at questions. I also expect to have some education about what I am seeing - there was none. If you just want a fun time - go for it! It was fun. Not educational. I didn't learn anything about the island from anyone. I now know to look for something a little bit different. If I had it to over - I would have done the Flying Dutchman - it looked better than the other zip line we did.
Written 2 August 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Hi Kerry, Thank you for your review. We understand your experience through Emilio Wilson Museum wasn't exactly what you expected. We apologize that you felt rushed, however, this wasn't our intention. As this isn't a guided tour, staff would direct guest to the Museum where they have the opportunity to read about the history of St.Maarten and the Estate. After completing your excursion, it's possible to revisit the Museum to gain more history on our Friendly Island. We understand your frustration that our staff hadn't communicate as much and apologize for this. Our staff is professional, friendly and knowledgeable about the history of their island and how the park operates. Despite the minor let down, we're happy the ride up the mountain was enjoyed by the entire family, and the kids loved the Sentry Hill Zip and Schooner ride! Indeed, the views from the top are absolutely Stunning! Guests get to experience the whole island from a Bird's Eye with vistas of neighboring islands. Glad to see you took tons of pictures while visiting the property, to have as a memory of this one of kind experience in The Caribbean! We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us, Hope you give our park a second chance, and this time consider The Big 3 package as it includes The Sentry Hill Zip, Schooner and Flying Dutchman!
Written 6 August 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

kdelossantos02
Emeryville, CA17 contributions
There's a bar at the top for a reason!
Apr 2019
I came here as part of my cruise excursion. My thoughts: Skip the schooner (I was backward the whole time and the views are nothing compared to the top); do the zipline (good views); definitely do the Flying Dutchman (even better views). Before you start exploring all the different views after the final zipline, you might want to get your number for the Dutchman first. I spent pretty much my whole afternoon at the top of the mountain waiting for my turn to go down the steepest zipline in the world. At least there was a bar (and bathroom) and the best views of the island up there.
Written 25 June 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Hi kdelossantos02, Thank you for visiting our park to experience the Best 360° Views on St.Maarten! We understand the Schooner ride may have been your least favorite ride of the Big 3 package; However, we're happy to hear you loved the warm up on the Sentry Hill Zip and the little burst of adrenaline on The Steepest Zip Line in The World! Depending on business volumes, the Flying Dutchman can have an average waiting time of 1.5 - 2 hours. The Top Deck bar is definitely a great addition, which gives guests a nice hang out spot to enjoy their favorite drink while preparing for the main attraction. The Views at the top of Sentry Hill are indeed absolutely beautiful, and we can't get enough of it! We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us, hope you took tons of photos to have as a memory of this fun experience on St.Maarten!
Written 27 June 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Sistersfunfunfun
Saskatoon, Canada19 contributions
Scary but fun
Oct 2018
We went up to the site but never went on the rides a little scary for us as we are not young anymore well put together as time goes on the area will be just fantastic would recomend it to any of those out there that loves rides
Written 12 December 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dear Sisterfunfunfun, Thank you for the review! We're happy to hear you enjoyed the tranquil ride up the mountain on the Sky Explorer and was able to experience the spectacular 360° Views from the top of Sentry Hill. At Rockland Estate we offer an adventure for everyone! From the thrills of the steepest zip line in the world to a peaceful ride on a chair lift. Thank you for the recommendation! We hope you visit us again soon!
Written 30 January 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Eileen D
Sebastian, FL156 contributions
Totally worth the visit, excellent views
Oct 2018 • Couples
Transfer from the pier was hectic - 3 ships in port, 2 with organized tours (not our ship though). Went to cab stand as directed, they sent us to the white tent, where they sent us back to the cab stand. First 3 employees there did not understand our transfer, but they finally figured it our and got us there.
The place is worth it once you get there. Interesting museum (with Wifii), nice slow lift, scenic ride, EXCELLENT views from the top - we spent a lot of time there just enjoying the view. Loved watching those who rode the "Flying Dutchman" careen down the zip line - but hubby wasn't interested.... So we'd booked the schooner ride. Our first trip, around 10 AM was good, except that when pushed to the start, I was swung around and went down the entire ride backward, but it was fun. The second ride, 2 hours later, was not. Started out OK but half way down the tube stopped completely. And employee came along to give me a push but it stopped again long before the end of the ride. They then gave hubby a smaller tube and he didn't stop, but banged the sides of the slide with his shoes. Needs some tweeking for sure.
Be sure to tell the staff at the gate if you purchased a transfer as their shuttles are for ship tours. Back at the ship, our cab driver did not at first understand we had paid the transfers in advance. Eventually he took our booking paperwork in trade. Hire your own cab - about $7USD per person, 1 way.
But definitely go and enjoy the view (and the breeze!) from above the island. And if I went again, I'd definitely do the Flying Dutchman!
Written 9 October 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dear Eileen, We really appreciate your great and detailed feedback. Happy to know that you enjoyed the visit, your opinion helps us to improve our quality service, and your recommendations for visitors are definitely important. Very much appreciated! All the best
Written 11 October 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Arlet Don
Santa Clarita, CA12 contributions
im handicap
Sep 2018 • Family
i have limited mobility. hemiplegic. they assisted me to get on the ride. also walkie-talkied each other to be careful with me....big help!
Written 14 September 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dear Arnie, Thank you for your review and for visiting our Park. We are thrilled to hear that our staff were helpful and ensured you had a great experience. We hope to see you again!
Written 18 September 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Joseph T
15 contributions
Best Service Ever !
The locals staff are very friendly and genuine. They always have a pleasant smile on their faces. Keep up the good work.
Written 15 August 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dear Joseph, Thanks for your support and sharing your comments. We love to read them! All the best
Written 17 August 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

elizs77
Winston Salem, NC139 contributions
Nice time
Jul 2018 • Family
My family of five visited at the end of July as a port excursion with Disney Cruise Line. My youngest was too young to do the schooner ride, but three members of our family did. The schooner ride includes two rides, and they were told they had to do it when we arrived as so to prevent a build up of people later in the day. Ok, no issues there. They said it went VERY fast, and at times, they went backward. Not for the faint of heart, even though it looks tame!

All of us took the chair lift all the way to the top of the mountain. The views are spectacular. There was a nice viewing area on one side with steel drums, while the other side of the viewing area was subjected to the local radio shows at a very loud level - it was hard to carry on a conversation. It is important to note it can get very windy at the top of the mountain! But the views are so worth it. The observation decks are new and appear well constructed. It would be nice if there was more to do at the top of the hill, though. If you aren't doing the zip lines, there's little to do outside of taking in the scenery.

We visited the gift shop briefly and bought some post cards. One of the staff members was quite lovely! She engaged us in conversation and told us about life on the island post-hurricanes. I enjoyed our conversation and appreciated her kindness and openness.

My only real issue came with the transfer back to the port. We were done with the attraction about an hour before the welcome area tvs listed the Disney first return time. We stopped by the on property restaurant ($24 US for 5 Diet Cokes and 2 bottles of Dasani), then made our way down to the return meeting place. Carnival was also in port, and Rainforest Adventures had it so that 1 bus/van would return to the port with only Carnival guests, then 30 minutes later, another bus/van would return to the port with only Disney guests. On one hand, I get this, but at the same time, the drop off was EXACTLY the same. After the first Carnival pick up, we knew we had 30 minutes before the Disney pick up, and we happened to be first in line. The line was at least 40 deep at this point. To our surprise, multiple vehicles arrived at Rainforest to transport Disney guests, only to be told by the Rainforest crew that they had to go sit in the parking lot until exactly 12:30. Once 12:30 came around, there were at least 60-70 Disney guests in line (it went from under the shelter up the hill behind us), and Rainforest called the multiple vehicles around to pick up guests. Our vehicle was a small bus that only seated about 18. **While I TOTALLY understand that the 12:30 time was advertised and SHOULD be honored, it didn't really make any sense from a guest standpoint to have to wait when there were multiple vehicles literally killing time that could have been sent in advance. There still would have been a bus at 12:30, but guests could have been sent earlier as well, therefore fulfilling the 12:30 committment AND making the experience nicer than expected for those waiting nearly an hour. Plus, it would have prevented multiple local vehicles from having to sit 20+ minutes from idling just to adhere to the 12:30 only time.

When the first vehicle arrived early with a Disney sign in the front, several other guests (not me) asked if the Disney people could go ahead and go. The Rainforest employee got irritated, stuck her head inside the bus and told the driver to take down his sign. He complied. She then looked at us in line and said, "Problem solved." Of course, when it was 12:30, that really was one of the multiple vehicles there to transport Disney guests.

All that said, our drivers were very lovely! They told us about the island, and they were super nice and informative. I enjoyed traveling with them!
Written 9 August 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dear elizs77, Thank you for your review and feedback. We understand that you have lots of options so we truly appreciate you and your family choosing to spend some of your time on St Maarten with us. The Schooner Ride is quite the thrilling adventure down the mountain side! We are sorry to hear that your youngest wasn’t able to experience it but do hope that when you return to St Maarten he or she is able to slide next time. We have to agree with you that the views from the top of Sentry Hill are simply breathtaking! We are sorry to hear that the music was overwhelming. We will better monitor the volume levels to ensure that they are not overbearing or intrusive to conversation. We have plans to expand and develop the experience at the top deck as we completely understand this needs to be a more interactive spot. Please feel free to share any suggestions you may have as they are always welcomed. We are very happy to hear about your wonderful experience at the gift shop! Please allow us to apologize for the inconveniences incurred upon your departure. We try our best to stagger the departures of our guests, per cruise line, to assist with the congestion and flow. We appreciate the constructive feedback on this process as it is how we will improve for future guests. We hope you are able to return to the Park and experience how we have developed and improved our facilities. We will ensure to let our transportation partners know that you enjoyed your experience with them!
Written 13 August 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
About the operator

Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator.

By: Rainforest Adventures St Maarten - Rockland Estate
SeasideCaramelVibe
SeasideCaramelVibe
00
Yasss Adventure Time
The check in process was absolutely frustrating because there was no direction on what to do or where to go if you
RocsheenM
RocsheenM
00
Disappointing Experience
We were really looking forward to riding on the flying dutchman. We purchased the tickets only to be told days befo
 Chris  H
Chris H
00
Rude employees
Extremely disappointed that I was not allowed to video my ride down. My camera was securely fastened to my wrist wi
doral976
doral976
00
Flying Dutchman was closed
Our original reservation was for the Flying Dutchman but two days before our reservation, we received an email advi
KristinKelley2021
KristinKelley2021
00
Good but not great!
Booked all three adventures - only got to do one because of the rain. Weather is totally out of their control but I
chrissE2480WX
chrissE2480WX
00
Over priced
Tour felt over priced and over hyped. Restaurant requires reservations. Least favorite tour we did on the island. I
karaj790
karaj790
00
MUST DO!
I had the BEST time ever, met great people and the staff was amazing. Alain, Gerald, and Esmeralda made sure I was
Camper565973
Camper565973
00
Family fun
Cool activity for a family . Some walk uphill but is fun ! At the top a little bar with refreshments and great view
915jeanner
915jeanner
00
Fun time had by all!
Great experience! Staff was outstanding at each ride! Only downside is that you do not specific in your I formati
manishb1966
manishb1966
00
Greta zip line
The ride was great but the only confusion is that there are two options one Dutchman flying and the other is canopy
BostonChristina
BostonChristina
00
flying dutchman is amazing
Flying Dutchman was the highlight of this adventure. It was thrilling! All the staff at all the zip lines and the r
T3873PFmonicaa
T3873PFmonicaa
00
Amazing Zipline experience
I had the best time in St. Maarten at the Rainforest Adventures. I was extremely nervous because I'm afraid of heig
Dillon D
Dillon D
00
Good, but needs a little work
The zip line looks very intimidating from the bottom!!!! We did the big three for our honeymoon. For both of us thi
gza1914
gza1914
00
Whole lotta fun!
My son (6) did 4 trips down schooner, and my daughter (8) tried her first zip line - great time by all!
Getaway670173
Getaway670173
00
Thrilling and Beautiful
Great views from every vantage point! The schooner, chair lift and zip lining were all fun and the attendants pers