Tours and Tickets

Cancun Underwater Museum Snorkel Tour provided by AquaWorld

Cancun Underwater Museum Snorkel Tour

Cancun Underwater Museum Snorkel Tour
4
Book in advance
from £42.28 per adult
Free Cancellation up to 24 hours in advance
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your visit
Regular temperature checks for staff
Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Temperature checks for tour participants upon arrival
What you can expect during your visit
Regular temperature checks for staff
Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Temperature checks for tour participants upon arrival
Guides required to regularly wash hands
Hand sanitiser available to travellers and staff
Transportation vehicles regularly sanitised
Face masks required for guides in public areas
Gear/equipment sanitised between use
Face masks required for travellers in public areas
Social distancing enforced throughout experience
About
The Cancun Underwater Museum contains more than 500 life-sized sculptures, making it the world’s largest underwater display. On this tour, be transported by boat from Cancun and then slip underwater to snorkel through the art-filled seabed. Kick back with refreshments after exploring the unique undersea gallery, which promotes the conservation of coral life.
Know before you go
  • Duration: 2h 30m
  • Mobile tickets accepted
  • Instant confirmation
Cancellation policy
  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
Available languages
English, Spanish
Know before you go
  • Duration: 2h 30m
  • Mobile tickets accepted
  • Instant confirmation
Available languages
English, Spanish
Cancellation policy
  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
Highlights
Snorkeling tour of the world's largest underwater museum
Explore Cancun's newest and most spectacular attraction firsthand
Round-trip transportation by boat from Cancun Marina 
Relax with fruit and refreshments after your unforgettable art visit
What to expect
Your gallery tour begins with a boat pickup from the Cancun Marina. Enjoy a scenic ride to the submerged installation site, located just off Isla Mujeres. Containing more than 500 life-sized figures designed by British artist Jason deCaires Taylor, this unique art collection can only be viewed underwater. After a brief demonstration, strap on snorkeling gear and hop into the turquoise waters of the Caribbean. The art exhibit, entitled “The Silent Evolution,” is molded in pH-neutral cement, allowing the coral reef to eventually form over each sculpture to create a unique ecosystem. The museum is dedicated to conserving the fragile ecology of the Mesoamerican Reef, the world’s second-largest barrier reef. You have plenty of time to explore the 1,600 feet of installation space, with figures inspired by real-life residents of Puerto Morelos, a nearby fishing town. From your unique undersea vantage point, you can also admire the marine life and colorful schools of fish that live among the sculptures. After your snorkeling expedition, relax with fruit and refreshments on the boat as you cruise back to the marina.
Need help booking?
Call the number below and use the product code: 5248MUS
Call +44 12 2492 8241
Important information
Inclusions
Underwater Museum snorkel • Use of Snorkelling equipment
Exclusions
Hotel pickup and drop off • Gratuities • US$15 dock fee
Duration
2h 30m
Departure details
Aquaworld, Blvd. Kukulcan, Zona Hotelera, 77500 Cancún, Q.R., Mexico *important* check in is 30 minutes prior, please arrive at 7.30am
Inclusions
Underwater Museum snorkel • Use of Snorkelling equipment
Exclusions
Hotel pickup and drop off • Gratuities • US$15 dock fee
Departure details
Aquaworld, Blvd. Kukulcan, Zona Hotelera, 77500 Cancún, Q.R., Mexico *important* check in is 30 minutes prior, please arrive at 7.30am
Duration
2h 30m
Return details
Returns to original departure point
Additional information
Confirmation will be received at time of booking
Not wheelchair accessible
Near public transportation
Infants must sit on laps
Not recommended for pregnant travellers
Travellers should have a moderate physical fitness level
This experience requires good weather. If it’s cancelled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
This tour/activity will have a maximum of 8 travellers
Popular mentions

4.0
115 reviews
Excellent
66
Very good
22
Average
8
Poor
9
Terrible
10

kcornett1974
Saint Louis, MO3 contributions
MUSA/Manchones Snorkel Gets 2 Thumbs Down
Jun 2021
We did the 5 hour snorkeling MUSA/Manchones excursion. I have done dozens of snorkeling excursions all over the world and this one is the most poorly designed by a landslide. Of the five hours we had only about 1 hour in the water snorkeling. They don't tell you this is really a dive boat operation.

When you arrive at the first location, the snorkelers must wait as each diver is assisted into the water and that takes quite some time. Only then are the snorkelers able to get in the water. After about 30 minutes the boat picks up the snorkelers and then we go looking for the divers. They are all broken up in pods of 2 and 3 all over the place. It took forever. Then we motor to the next spot and it starts all over again. I kid you not when I say about 2 hours of my excursion was spent dropping off and picking up divers while I just had to sit around.

Also, the website says refreshments provided. That means water. No food. We had to be there at 730am and didn't get back to the marina until after 1pm. We were dying. I would have happily brought snacks had I known.

Also, you can't wear sunscreen. Not even the "reef safe" stuff. While I appreciate they are protecting the reef, this was no where in the fine print. Had I known I would have prepared and brought a rash guard or something. We all FRIED. There is very little shade as the snorkelers are put on the upstairs section of the boat.

One last gripe. Everyone was supposed to be at the marina 30 mins before departure. We left on time...and then proceeded 20 mins out of our way to pick up 2 divers at their resort. HUH?!?!?!

The snorkeling itself was lovely, but the provider really ruined it for us. They could make this better if they found a way to get the snorkelers into the water for about the same amount of time as the divers. I mean there wasn't any indication that divers would even be on the boat. The snorkelers were made to feel like 2nd class citizens. And they absolutely should tell people about the sunscreen and refreshment situation in advance. I read the fine print. NONE of this info is provided.
Written 8 June 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Good day Kcornett We are sorry to hear that this tour did not meet your expectations in terms of logistics and service. We appreciate your comments, which have already been directed to the departments responsible for each area, as they help us to improve our service in order to provide you with a better experience in the future. If you would like to follow up further, please do not hesitate to contact us at info@aquaworld.com.mx with your reservation information so we can continue to assist you.
Written 12 June 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Micah J
Iowa City, IA5 contributions
Worth the money!!
May 2021 • Couples
I went snorkeling with my fiancé for the first time in years. I was a bit anxious at first but the guys leading our group were amazing! Pedro was our tour guide and he made sure I felt safe and comfortable the entire time! Would love to go again the next time we visit Cancun...
Written 18 May 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Again we are glad to hear that you enjoyed more snorkeling! Thank you for letting us know that we are fulfilling our goal of making people's vacations a different and unforgettable experience.
Written 19 May 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Matt P
Idaho Falls, ID37 contributions
So much fun!
This was such a fun snorkeling trip! We booked a private tour through our resort which was awesome just having my wife and I on the trip. I felt like the private price was fair. Our snorkeling guide Miguel was excellent! We saw a sting Ray and a huge tiger fish. I would have missed both without him. He was extremely engaging and fun to talk with on the way to snorkel and back. It was an amazing trip and I am so glad we went! Thank you Miguel and Andrés for the wonderful and unforgettable time!
Written 5 February 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
It's great to hear you had a fun trip, Miguel and Andrés will be happy to know you mentioned them. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Written 15 February 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Marielin Tuston
1 contribution
Great view and guide
Oct 2020
I truly love the experience! When I was snorkeling with my guide Maron (I think that was his name, but I am not really sure), he was nice and made sure we were safe. He would ask if my big sister and I were okay. He also notices when I struggle with my goggles and help me with it. He also asks if it was our first time and took that into consideration and slowed down/took breaks for us. The view was beautiful and loved seeing the turtles when I was in the submarine.
Written 18 October 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Thank you for taking the time to post your review, it's great to receive feedback about our staff members and it makes their day to read them. We hope you can return to paradise soon!
Written 23 October 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Ma290Mo
Rio de Janeiro, RJ88 contributions
Absolutely fantastic experience
Jan 2020
Absolutely fantastic! Must see for sure! To see the reef at Pinta Nizuc, it's only possible to go by boat. It's a very beautiful reef. If you take the MUSA tour, you can choose between snorkeling or deep diving. We took the snorkeling tour. It started off with a motor boat drive from the Aquaworld Centre, near the hotel zone, and the reef point at Punta Nizuc was reached after about 30/40 minutes of crossing the Nichupte Lagoon. When we got to the snorkeling point, there was a floating station waiting for us to alight. It had all equipment necessary for the guided tour (everything brand new and well-maintained). After receiving safety instructions and equipping ourselves, we joined our group into the water and were taken through the reef and the MUSA sculptures. Luckily, water conditions were not bad (it wasn't clear though), and we could see most of the details of the gorgeous reef lying just south of Cancun, as well as the famous MUSA sculptures. The tour on the water takes about 25/30 minutes, and, when its over, you can stay at the station on your own exploring the area for up to 2 hours. It's mind blowing. Quite unforgettable experience. The tour guide and crew responsible for the station on the day were so friendly, happy to be working there, and good English speakers, which makes your experience so much better and unbelievable. They always say to newcomers not to use sunscreen before getting into the water, but no one listens. So GUYS please DO NOT USE SUN SCREEN, ok?! One couple in our group did just the opposite, they did not listen, and were using sunscreen seconds before getting into the water. If you forgot to do your daily care routine before leaving your hotel, use, at least, a reef safe sunscreen - they sell it everywhere in Cancun. Or just do not use any at all!! Come one!!
Written 3 March 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Hi Ma290Mo! We're beyond thrilled you had such a great time with us! Our number one goal is to always provide THE BEST water fun experience, so we're very proud to read our staff did such a good job. Indeed, the use of reef-safe sunscreen is very important to preserve the health of the ecosystem. We hope to see you again sometime soon. Best regards!
Written 4 March 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Melanie C
Asbury Park, NJ19 contributions
Canceled my trip 30 mins before I had to be there
We scheduled this on the last day of our vacation but 30 mins before our scheduled time they cancelled our trip. When we go to the marina the woman at the counter refunded our money. Wish we had an earlier notice then a message on WhatsApp because I would of schedule something else for that day.
Written 9 February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Hi Melanie, We're very sorry we were unable to reach you in time. We do try to let our clients know when trips are cancelled but usually we are not told ourselves until the last minute, it's the harbour master who makes this desicion and things often change during the day with no notice, as per the changeable weather condtions. You were not refused a refund at recepcion but as you booked with an online agent, you simply need to be refunded through the same means as you paid. This is quite normal, when you pay via credit card you need to be refunded to the same card. If this has not happened yet for some reason, please send us a direct message and we will be sure to help you. Again, we're sorry for the inconvenience and hope that you will be able to return and enjoy Aquaworld's activities one day.
Written 10 February 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Albana G
1 contribution
NO LO RECOMIENDO / I DO NOT RECOMMEND SNORKEL WITH THE GUIDE NAMED PRISCILA
Feb 2020 • Family
(english below) No recomiendo hacer snorkel con Aquaworld. Fui con mi papá y mi hermana y les avisamos que era la primera vez que hacíamos snorkel. No nos tuvieron en cuenta! No nos enseñaron y no nos tuvieron paciencia! La guía PRISCILA nos dejó solos en el mar y no nos enseñó nada! Fue la peor experiencia de snorkel!

I do not recommend snorkeling with Aquaworld. I went with my dad (50 yo) and my sister (20 yo), and we told them that it was our first time snorkeling. They did not take this into account! The didn't teach us how to snorkel and they weren't patient (we were with our father!) The guide named PRISCILA left us alone in the sea and didn't teach us anything! It was the worst experience ever! If you go there, ask for any guide out there but NOT PRISICILA. Worst guide ever.
Written 4 February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Estimada Albana, Lamentamos no haber logrado dejar una impresión positiva en ustedes. Es necesario aclarar que nuestros tours guiados de snorkel no están diseñados como clases, sin embargo nuestros guías están para ayudar en todo lo posible. Después de comunicarle a la guía Priscila que se sentían inseguros en el agua y querían regresar, ella accedió para poder seguir con el resto del grupo y sabiendo que en la plataforma se les podría dar la atención personalizada que esperaban, no por falta de paciencia. Puedo asegurarte que nuestro personal jamás dejaría solo a un cliente en una situación insegura; en esta ocasión estaban a 10 metros de la plataforma flotante, en una zona tranquila de baja profundidad. Aunado a esto, no habría sido justo detener el recorrido para el resto del grupo que también pagó por la actividad. También es pertinente mencionar que, ya estando en la plataforma y con el objetivo de darles la mejor experiencia, el supervisor de la actividad ofreció enseñarles a snorkelear él mismo, pero ustedes se negaron. Nuestro personal hizo lo posible por ofrecerles la mejor experiencia; lamentamos que nuestro servicio no haya cumplido con tus expectativas.
Written 5 February 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

cezarbobe
Bucharest, Romania15 contributions
Not worth 47 +12 USD
Interesting place , nice sculptures, but in this tour you can only see 16 sculptures, in the isla mujeres gallery you can see 425 sculptures.
They give you free drinks and 1 free snorkeling tube ( probably the cheapest around, i think i swallowed 1L of sea water).
The price of 59 USD/person is way too expensive ,overall this is not the best value for money.
Written 31 January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Marlie R
Coquitlam, Canada30 contributions
Amazing views
Jan 2020 • Couples
The underwater museum is so unique and cool, we even got to see a reef and were swarmed with fish. The guides were kind, helpful and funny. Even though the water was a little rough it was our favorite experience from our trip.
I also messaged them before buying the excursion to ask for help about weather and they were super helpful. I would recommend to anyone traveling to Cancun and hoping to do any water activity.
Written 26 January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Hi Marlie R! Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Our staff strives to create the best experience for our customers, and we are glad to have done that for you. We can't wait to see you again on your next visit. Thank you for your preference.
Written 27 January 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Ruotian C
Key West, FL1 contribution
Would rather choose a tour from
Dec 2019
The staff are nice. But the tour itself took 2/3 of the time wasting on commute by boat. And the tour schedule starts right in the middle of the day and hard to arrange anything else. If done more research, I would take a early boat to Isla Mujeres and pick a tour from there - it's much closer and save time for beach or another turtle tour.
Written 29 December 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Hi Ruotian! Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Please note that your comments are helping us create better experiences. We hope to see you again sometime soon!
Written 2 January 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 90
About the operator

Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator.

By: AquaWorld
floeylee
floeylee
00
Flexible Great Dive!
First and foremost, I want to give a big shout out to Jenny who is the online e-commerce manager. My husband and I
mentle2019
mentle2019
00
Just snorkel- fun and easy!!!
Valentine and David were awesome as well as their whole crew! We enjoyed two snorkel excursions to a reef and a su
R4834UBjanetg
R4834UBjanetg
00
Don't go on Whale Shark snorkel excursion
My family went on the Whale Shark snorkel excursion and it was a disaster. We spent seven hours getting pummeled o
Texastorrs
Texastorrs
00
Excellent Dive for New or Young Divers
My 12 year old daughter and I recently did the 2 tank MUSA and Reef dive. We had a wonderful time. This is perfect
boruch b
boruch b
00
Great First Dive
Working with Angelica was seamless. The crew had all the patience for us newbies to scuba and made us feel very com
Kailey B
Kailey B
00
Awful experience
Absolutely awful experience on our honeymoon zero stars ! My husband and I just came here on our honeymoon and want
CraftFam
CraftFam
00
Fun for the family!
We booked the jungle ride tour for our family of 4. Our two kids are 13 and 11 and they loved it! The boats were re
AzizVKadirov
AzizVKadirov
00
Amazing scuba dive experience
We went on a scuba dive trip from the excellence hotel with aqua world. Captain Filipe, Oscar, David and another m
jnorm1390
jnorm1390
00
A pretty subpar booking experience
We booked a wave runner rental at AquaWorld through their representative in our hotel. After filling out the forms
averykh23
averykh23
00
Snorkeling
Service was amazing, event ran on time, everything was efficient and the snorkeling was great with plenty to see.
ErinC891
ErinC891
00
Great Trip!
We had a great time on our snorkel trip around Isle Mujeres. We were able to take a little speed boat ferry from ou
lisarK3408NP
lisarK3408NP
00
Speed boats a plus
Driving the speed boats was fabulous! The snorkeling and tour guide for the trip was an added bonus.
colinpP6034IB
colinpP6034IB
00
Excellent time
We went as a family of 4, youngest was 10 year old, who was very keen to try. This really worked well as the initi
kallieyellets
kallieyellets
00
Satisfied
My boyfriend and I passed by this place on our way into Cancún. We noticed that they offered a day pass that includ
tbaybe02
tbaybe02
00
Refreshing fun for all
I can not say enough about how much fun this tour was- and how much the employees really do love their job! My frie
Frequently Asked Questions about Cancun Underwater Museum Snorkel Tour

Cancun Underwater Museum Snorkel Tour will start at 8:00 AM. Discover and book Cancun Underwater Museum Snorkel Tour on Tripadvisor


Cancun Underwater Museum Snorkel Tour price starts from £41.81. Discover and book Cancun Underwater Museum Snorkel Tour on Tripadvisor

Cancun Underwater Museum Snorkel Tour cancellation policy: For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience. Discover and book Cancun Underwater Museum Snorkel Tour on Tripadvisor