Tours and Tickets

Snorkeling in Catalina Islands provided by TamaDive

Snorkeling in Catalina Islands

Snorkeling in Catalina Islands
4.5
Book in advance
from
£63.79
per adult
Free Cancellation up to 24 hours in advance
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your visit
Gear/equipment sanitised between use
Face masks required for travellers in public areas
Hand sanitiser available to travellers and staff
What you can expect during your visit
Gear/equipment sanitised between use
Face masks required for travellers in public areas
Hand sanitiser available to travellers and staff
Face masks required for guides in public areas
About
Jump into the water with our expert guides who take you around the rocky facades of the Catalina Islands in search of sharks, rays, all kind of fish and if you are lucky manta rays. It does include 2 x Snorkeling for about 40-45 minutes each time in the Catalina Island area.
Know before you go
  • Duration: 6h 30m
  • Mobile tickets accepted
Cancellation policy
  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
Available languages
German, English, French, Spanish
Know before you go
  • Duration: 6h 30m
  • Mobile tickets accepted
Available languages
German, English, French, Spanish
Cancellation policy
  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
What to expect
Jump into the water with our expert guides who take you around the rocky facades of the Catalina Islands in search of sharks, rays, all kind of fish and if you are lucky manta rays.
Need help booking?
Call the number below and use the product code: 112293P4
Call +44 12 2492 8241
Important information
Inclusions
Snacks • Bottled water • Soda/Pop • Use of Snorkelling equipment • Sunscreen
Exclusions
Tips
Duration
6h 30m
Departure details
Traveller pickup is offered.
We can be pick you up at your place for free as long as it is in Tamarindo, Langosta or Flamingo.
TamaDive Dive Center - Potrero meeting point, Unnamed Road, Guanacaste Province, Costa Rica Meeting time is 7.00am
Hotel pickup is offered. View the hotel list on our checkout page to see if yours is included among the pickup points.
Inclusions
Snacks • Bottled water • Soda/Pop • Use of Snorkelling equipment • Sunscreen
Exclusions
Tips
Departure details
Traveller pickup is offered.
We can be pick you up at your place for free as long as it is in Tamarindo, Langosta or Flamingo.
TamaDive Dive Center - Potrero meeting point, Unnamed Road, Guanacaste Province, Costa Rica Meeting time is 7.00am
Hotel pickup is offered. View the hotel list on our checkout page to see if yours is included among the pickup points.
Duration
6h 30m
Return details
Returns to original departure point
Additional information
Not wheelchair accessible
Not recommended for travellers with back problems
No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
Travellers should have a moderate physical fitness level
This experience requires good weather. If it’s cancelled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
This experience requires a minimum number of travellers. If it’s cancelled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund
This tour/activity will have a maximum of 10 travellers
Popular mentions

4.5
11 reviews
Excellent
10
Very good
0
Average
0
Poor
0
Terrible
1

Venture825196
1 contribution
Immaculate scuba experience
Amazing day on the water with these guys today. They hail from Spain and Switzerland, and are two buddies who built a fledging business (and a network of other island scuba partners).

They were easy to book with, scooped me on time right in front of the hostel I was staying at, and offered up a fantastic dive experience and great conversation. Have dove all over the world and highly recommend these guys for their ability to marriage fun and professionalism.
Written 29 July 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Vlad
1 contribution
Got to pay, but not to go.
Mar 2021 • Couples
Booked Catalina Island snorkeling tour for two a day in advance through TripAdvisor (Viator) and received a confirmation of booking request and my card was charged full amount. The email stated that a confirmation from an operator was pending. Fast forward 24 hours - it's pick up time and no confirmation or cancelation was received. I called a couple of times until somebody picked up and told me that I was not on the list, meaning that my booking was not confirmed. That would be fine if I received a cancelation and had a chance to book with another operator, but they all go out early in the morning and by that time I was out of luck. I tried canceling the booking through Viator website to get my money back but was not allowed to do so. I forsee a fun time getting them to refund me. Thanks guys for unforgettable honeymoon experience!
Written 27 March 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Hey Vlad. This is Franko from Tamadive. We are really sorry that we couldn't take you snorkeling that day. It was too windy and conditions are very difficult to predict in advance. This is one of the reasons why we do not automatically accept snorkeling requests but confirm every request separately. Unlike other companies we do not take customers out when when we know that conditions are gonna not going to be good enought to have a nice experience. Like you said, the tour was never confirmed on our end but Viator still charged you in case we would confirm. You guys could have cancelled the booking request at any point or contacted us directly. Because you called us in the morning letting us know that you were waiting to be pick up I'm assuming that you guys unfortunately misread Viator website during the booking request process and simply assumed that it was a confirmed tour since you had to pay.
Written 29 March 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Krcam29
15 contributions
Great & funny guides
Feb 2021
Although the visibility wasn't great, we had a great time snorkeling. Franko and Gwen were super friendly, funny, and nice! They picked us up at our Airbnb in Tamarindo (free of charge) and dropped us off at the end of the tour. The equipment was in great conditions and they made sure we were safe at all times.
Written 22 February 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
We are happy that you enjoyed the snorkeling despite the bad visibility. Thank you for leaving a review.
Written 1 March 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Emily A
Playas del Coco, Costa Rica8 contributions
Snorkeling
Thank you Franco and Remo for an amazing experience! We never had experience snorkeling and both of you put us at ease and taught us so much! We saw Devil Ray's leaping out of the water on the boat trip out to the Catalina Islands. We did two dives. Are the beginning of the first we practiced skills to feel comfortable before descending. We were about 40 feet down, and saw so many amazing creatures! Rays, schools of fish, puffer fish, moray eels, sea urchins and more! My youngest daughter was nervous and they were great at putting her around ease. We can't wait to come back and experience TamaDive again! Remo and Franco are the best at what they do, true professionals!
Written 18 February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
We hope you realized you did not just go Snorkeling but you went diving :) Anyways, we are happy you enjoyed it so much. Next time your youngest daughter will be more relaxed and enjoy it as much as you did. We would be very happy to take you diving again.
Written 19 February 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

EliskaCannon
Lombard, IL64 contributions
Fantastic Experience
Jan 2020
This was a fantastic outing. We were picked up from our hotel (very helpful since we did not have a car). A quick trip to their office to sign waivers and pick up gear (They help you find the correct size). Remó loves diving and it shows in the passion he displayed for the sport. Really nice guy and easy to talk to. A short car ride took us to the marina where we hopped on a small boat to the larger boat we took to Catalina Islands. About 20 minutes and we were at the islands. Geared up and jumped in the water. It was beautiful to see a whole new, different world under water. We saw so many different animals-puffer fish, coronets, milk (?), and many more I cannot remember. There were rays, urchins and octopuses too. Remó took pictures for us (FOR FREE!) and sent us a link. He was a great guide. He was very attentive to what we wanted to do and see. Unfortunately, I got motion sick in the waves and had to sit out the second half. Remó and all of the crew were very helpful (provided dramamine and water) and just let me plop down on a step and work my way through it. I would highly recommend you book with TamaDive if you're planning on snorkeling or diving in the area!
Written 24 January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Thank you so much for reviewing us. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the day even you got sea sick. The fish you are mentioning are the corner fish and yes, the other one is really called milk fish. Apparently when you cook the latter it will make the water look like milk and that's where it got it's name from. Might be just rumors but that's what we heard :)
Written 2 February 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

BettsyBoop
Kirkland, WA19 contributions
He dove, I snorkeled. Great guides, great fun!
Booked last minute. First time my hubby dove and I snorkeled in same boat. We each had a great time. The guides took good care to be sure we were all safe and enjoying ourselves. Saw many fish I had never seen before Excellent experience.
Written 17 January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Thank you so much for your review. You got pretty lucky with the Snorkeling for this time of year but that's even better.
Written 18 January 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

sfrankl2
Colorado Springs, CO8 contributions
Great Snorkeling for the whole Family
Aug 2019 • Family
The weather was not the best but the staff at Tamadive were amazing. Franco was super patient and worked hard to show us a great time. He helped to build confidence and was so encouraging with the whole family. We saw eagle rays, reef sharks and large schools of fish. Heard humpbacks singing which was super cool. Would highly recommend Tamadive to explore the waters of Costa Rica
Written 17 August 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Thank you for taking your time to review us on the snorkeling. It's good to hear the whole family enjoyed the snorkeling with us and that we were able to build up you confidence.
Written 27 August 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

needavacayMaryland
Maryland2 contributions
Fantastic!
I now know why they have all good reviews! We are a mixed group of advanced diver, dive curious kids and a snorkeling mom. They were able to accommodate everyone and keep us together. It was a beautiful boat ride out. They take care of all the equipment, provide drinks, snacks and even emailed us beautiful pictures within a few hours. You don’t have to worry about anything! All the equipment was top notch for rental equipment. The instructors asked what we wanted to see and accommodated when possible. We saw turtles, dolphins, sharks, pufferfish, octopus, starfish and the list goes on!
Written 7 July 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Thank you for for taking your time to review us especially with such a great review. It's not always easy to accommodate everyone but we always try and as we can see it is appreciated and that's what personalized service means to us.
Written 12 July 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
About the operator

Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator.

By: TamaDive
Foad G
Foad G
00
Ready for another TamaDive asap
We did the Discover Dive (40m) with Franco — and the experience was hands-down incredible from start to finish. Fra
Chelsea R
Chelsea R
00
Experience of a lifetime
This was the best part of my entire Costa Rica trip by far. Franco went above and beyond for us. They picked us up
W9524VUerinm
W9524VUerinm
00
Awesome Dive!
This was in our top 3 dives for sure! Remo was fun and was able to point out so many cool things. We got to see som
awoolley92
awoolley92
00
Dove with these guys
Remo and Franco are highly professional, work with the best boats and captains in the area, know the local dive sit
T8214PErobp
T8214PErobp
00
Amazing experience - Highly recommend
Discover scuba with Remo was an amazing excursion. TamaDive was kind enough to provide transportation to and from
Marysia G
Marysia G
00
Incredible Experience
Tamadive is absolutely the place to dive with in Tamarindo! We did the Bat Islands bull shark dive, and everything
jilliansomero
jilliansomero
00
Great day!
Discover scuba with Remo was great! He was kind and patient in his teachings. He made sure we saw some sharks, eels
SJarrett24
SJarrett24
00
Love Diving
Davide, William, and Jose are great. Highly recommend this place for all your scuba diving. I was able to see shar
Daneyssa A
Daneyssa A
00
Unforgettable Shark Diving Experience
Hey guys this was my second Scuba Diving experience and my instructor was Jesús from Spain, it was all amazing we w
aleeng2017
aleeng2017
00
Wonderful dive with amazing instructors!
This was such a great trip! Our instructors were super friendly and knowledgeable about the area and animals. They
Rskup001
Rskup001
00
Discover scuba diving review
Great experience, had a good time. I was not certified but they did a good job explaining what was required as far
Gabrielamarie91
Gabrielamarie91
00
Amazing dive for both certified and non-certified divers
They were so accommodating. We wrote about 4 days in advance and requested a Catalina Islands dive with 1 open wate
Bridgid B
Bridgid B
00
Great company! Knowledgeable, safe, fun.
Great company! Friendly and knowledgeable. You can tell they really care for their equipment and are safety conscio
Tim W
Tim W
00
No bullsharks...
We didnt't see any bullsharks...so it was an expensive and long trip. Not sure if it was bad luck or if we got scam
20natalyt
20natalyt
00
Highly recommended, well organized.
Highly recommended, well organized, run on a timely scheduled manner, excellent briefing, helpful pleasant crew, an
Frequently Asked Questions about Snorkeling in Catalina Islands

Snorkeling in Catalina Islands price starts from £62.68. Discover and book Snorkeling in Catalina Islands on Tripadvisor

Snorkeling in Catalina Islands cancellation policy: For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience. Discover and book Snorkeling in Catalina Islands on Tripadvisor

Snorkeling in Catalina Islands is hosted by TamaDive. Read reviews, discover additonal experiences or contact TamaDive on Tripadvisor. Discover and book Snorkeling in Catalina Islands on Tripadvisor