Tours and Tickets
Punting Tour in Cambridge
4.5

Punting Tour in Cambridge

By Scudamore's Punting Company
Recommended by 92% of travellers
92% of reviewers gave this product a bubble rating of 4 or higher.
About
Cambridge is known for its historic attractions, but typical tours can take up a lot of time, especially for those on a brief visit. Discover the city by punt, passing landmarks such as King's College and the Mathematical Bridge. Learn about their history from your guide as you sail in a traditional, flat-bottomed boat. The tour’s convenient duration and regular departure schedule is ideal for those looking to tick off this authentic experience while saving time.
from
£70.00
per group (up to 3)
Lowest price guaranteeReserve now & pay laterFree cancellation

Ages 0-120, max of 12 per group
Duration: 45m
Start time: Check availability
Mobile ticket
Live guide: English
More

Highlights
  • Observe some of the city’s most notable sites, including King’s College Chapel and the Bridge of Sighs
  • Learn about the city’s history and culture from your accredited guide and relax with your own chauffeur 
  • Save time with a convenient tour duration and regular departure times
  • Experience a typically English pastime, with punting a popular leisure activity for over 100 years

  • Sightseeing cruise (shared punting experience)
  • Umbrellas and woollen blankets
  • Hot water bottles (winter time only)

Depart from a central Cambridge location along the Cam River, at a time that suits your schedule. Board your vessel and glide along the river, admiring the quintessentially English scenery along the way. Listen as your accredited guide shares insights into the historical landmarks you pass, including King’s College Chapel, the Mathematical Bridge, and the Bridge of Sighs, and relax as you're chauffeured along your journey. Orient yourself in the historic city and enjoy the small group nature of the tour. Should the rain strike, enjoy an authentic English experience by wrapping up in a provided blanket and taking shelter under one of the punt’s umbrellas. At the end of your journey, return to the original point of departure, and continue your exploration of Cambridge with new insight into its history and culture.

Start:Multiple meeting point options.
  • Option 1
    Cambridge CB2 1RS, UK
    Chose one of our starting points: Mill Lane Punting Station Mill Lane Cambridge CB2 1RS or
  • Option 2
    Quayside, Cambridge CB5 8AB, UK
    Quayside Punting Station Magdalene Bridge Cambridge CB5 8AB
End:This activity ends back at the meeting point.

    • Not wheelchair accessible
    • Stroller accessible
    • Service animals allowed
    • Near public transportation
    • Infants must sit on laps
    If you have questions about accessibility, we’d be happy to help. Just call the number below and reference the product code: 7386P1

    • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
    • Operates in all weather conditions, please dress appropriately
    • Subject to favorable river conditions. If canceled, you will be given the option of an alternative date or full refund
    • Your ticket is valid for 6 months from the date of purchase
    • Most travellers can participate
    • Wheelchair and stroller ramp available at our Mill Lane punt station CB2 1RS
    • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 12 travellers

    • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.

    Which attractions will I visit with Punting Tour in Cambridge?
    How much is Punting Tour in Cambridge?
    Punting Tour in Cambridge price starts from £71.38. Discover and book Punting Tour in Cambridge on Tripadvisor
    What is the Punting Tour in Cambridge cancellation policy?
    Punting Tour in Cambridge cancellation policy: For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience. Discover and book Punting Tour in Cambridge on Tripadvisor
    Which company provides Punting Tour in Cambridge?
    Punting Tour in Cambridge is hosted by Scudamore's Punting Company. Read reviews, discover additonal experiences or contact Scudamore's Punting Company on Tripadvisor. Discover and book Punting Tour in Cambridge on Tripadvisor

    If you have questions about this tour or need help making your booking, we’d be happy to help. Just call the number below and reference the product code: 7386P1

    Reserve your spot
    Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.

    Similar experiences

    Itinerary
    • You’ll have 2 starting options
      See departure details
    • Pass by
      Scudamore's Punting Company
      The Backs
      Mathematical Bridge
      King's College Chapel
      Bridge of Sighs
    • You'll return to the starting point
    About the operator
    Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator:
    • Scudamore's Punting Company
      1,732
      United Kingdom
    • huntthechildren
      0 contributions
      2.0 of 5 bubbles
      Most expensive self punts on the river
      Self hire punts are the most expensive on the river (£37 for student prices). Asked for blanket and umbrella but was told by a quite snappy staff that we hadn’t paid enough to deserve them. Go somewhere else if you can! Many cheaper and friendlier punts elsewhere!
      Written 4 February 2024
    • Caravanjo
      0 contributions
      2.0 of 5 bubbles
      How can you possibly justify these charges??
      I would like to know how this company can justify asking two people to pay £270 EACH for a 45 minute 'chaffeured' trip on a punt and then making out that they are doing them a real favour by reducing it down to £200 per person! If you share the punt with other parties the price suddenly goes down to £50 per person for exactly the same experience, still absolutely ridiculous. What a total rip off, tourists beware, this is just a joke!
      Written 13 September 2022
    • whynotusemyrealname
      0 contributions
      1.0 of 5 bubbles
      Expensive and unfriendly
      Expensive and unfriendly self hire. They don’t help kids select the right size life jacket and they didn’t offer any help getting on or off the even when one of the kids almost fell in the water. They are taking the “no liability” approach to new levels or nonchalant service definitely without a smile…. Horrible company. I hope they go bankrupt and get replaced by someone who spends less time heckling tourists and more time providing service and being friendly. This could be such a different experience with the right approach.
      Written 24 October 2021
    • Sandra S
      0 contributions
      2.0 of 5 bubbles
      Book online for better rates
      For a better price Book your activity online and in advance, look out for peak and off peak different rates. If you book in the kiosk on the day they will charge you a lot more per person and if you have a company discount check out properly if they apply the discount. You can always book online the activity on your phone next to the kiosk is much cheaper. Apart from that, kayaking was so nice and Grantchester is beautiful.
      Written 19 October 2021
    • Tommystartrek
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Organised and friendly.
      I had pre booked and turned up with my boarding pass. The staff were polite and friendly and we were shown to our boat in quick time. The lady then gave us a safety talk and then we were off. Took a little bit of getting use to but soon we were away. We did a 3 hour slot and felt that was about enough time. On returning the staff again were polite and encouraging during the docking process. Thoroughly enjoyed the experience.
      Written 21 August 2021
    • MHam_13
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Self Hire Punting
      We did a self hire and had a great time! The instructions given to us were great and helped us have a great 90 minutes on the river. Highly recommend
      Written 4 June 2021
    • GlitterFoxy
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Fabulous Day 🌞
      What a lovely Day - our lovely Guide Bethany was Amazing 😊Wonderful first experience of a trip on the river Cam ! So worth it 🌞
      Written 19 September 2020
    • thewho14
      0 contributions
      4.0 of 5 bubbles
      Glad we did it
      There are a lot of touts around the area looking to send you to the boats but we didnt find any pressure tactics. At £60 for two of us for 45 minutes we initially thought the price was too high but we came back and booked later in the day and we were glad we did. The guide was pleasant and filled the trip up and down the river with various facts about the 7 colleges. It was a nice sunny day so the best part was just relaxing, taking in the beautiful sights whilst having a pint (bought at a pub next to the office). They are happy for you to take drinks on board eith many others taking bottles of prosecco etc...
      Written 23 August 2020
    • GaryM331
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Enjoyable experience
      I’m glad we did this as a family . The guide was very knowledgeable and friendly and the sights were fantastic. A great way to see the city .
      Written 22 August 2020
    • matt1878kay
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Punting tour
      Don't let the price put you off... Speak to one of the reps first... Lovely leisurely trip down the river with a very skilled and knowledgeable guide. Lots of information and history and it offers a view of the colleges that you can't see from the city centre. Thanks guys👍
      Written 19 August 2020
    • Passenger812363
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Great fun
      Well run organised staff. Very clean. Would recommend. Just watch out for the kids jumping off bridges.
      Written 10 August 2020
    • Jb1470
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Great as always
      Great trip down the Cam. Worth the cost and no matter how many times you do it, you will see something or hear a bit of new information.
      Written 9 August 2020
    • Kate W
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Thank you Julian
      Great to do on a city break and Julian was wonderful. Knowledgeable and lots of stories to tell. Ask for him!!!!
      Written 8 August 2020
    • hhart2018
      0 contributions
      2.0 of 5 bubbles
      Okay ish
      Just a note to people that there is 2 different sites for this activity. Make sure you get the right one as there is a heck of a walk involved between the 2 sites. Little confusing of how to get in and out of the place with regards to the new rules. It was an experience though quite pricey for what you get really.
      Written 26 July 2020
    • abbo1992
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Excellent day and Safe
      The day was wonderful, the staff were polite and the covid measures were perfect. We had one of the larger boats so was a lot of fun.
      Written 19 July 2020
    See all 1 review
    These reviews are the subjective opinions of Tripadvisor members and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

    Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

    Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as waiting time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.

    Popular mentions

    We perform checks on reviews.
    Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
    Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
    When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
    Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
    Learn more about our review moderation.
    4.5
    4.5 of 5 bubbles1,537 reviews
    Excellent
    1,124
    Very good
    296
    Average
    47
    Poor
    25
    Terrible
    45

    Daniel187069
    Manchester, UK34 contributions
    2.0 of 5 bubbles
    May 2021
    It’s a shame that I’m marking this down , the trip on the river was very enjoyable, however my partner and I paid £35each which we thought was expensive but it was a one off so ok .
    Whilst sat in the vicinity of where they tote for trade we listened to 2 tourist firstly offered the trip at the same price as us , us when they said no , the price kept going down to eventually £18.50 each .
    Having visited from Manchester I didn’t expect to have to barter for the trip .
    One of the young men selling the tickets was quite vocal in how he could pull in trade ,and basically how great he was at getting an over inflated price .
    Perhaps the owners of the Scudamore Punt company would like to contact me and refund £33 to my credit card !
    Written 28 May 2021
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

    Julia L
    Chesterfield, UK88 contributions
    3.0 of 5 bubbles
    Oct 2020 • Couples
    We had a fabulous punt along the river but beware they “do deals” which means they charge everyone different amounts. We paid £50 for 2 but the couple after paid £60 for 2. It was a great way to explore the river. Not everyone in the boat can hear the person punting. Maybe mics?
    Written 18 October 2020
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

    Jo S
    March, UK5 contributions
    3.0 of 5 bubbles
    Jul 2022 • Friends
    After the cock up of times from Chillisauce with our first two activities we were running a hour behind for our punting but called and they was able to push it back an hour. Great! We arrived at the postcode we had been given to be told we were at the wrong station, 25 minute walk to the one we should of been at. We was offered two punts at that first station when we explained what happened but it would cost us £150 per punt! So £300! After a bit of moaning from us they dropped the price but only to £110 each so still £220! So we decided to do the 25minute walk to the station we should be at. Arrived at the station to be told we was at the wrong place again and directed further down the river, after walking for another 10 mins and not finding another punting station we called and discovered we had been misinformed!!! So back we went to the previous station! Once we got there and got on our punts it was great! Our punter Mark was fabulous and full of knowledge! He even entertained wearing some of our parties feather boas while he punted and put up with some of our moans about the disarray of bookings by chilli sauce! He was a professional. Punting was very relaxing, it was a very hot day (29!) and we had walked 8 miles due to Chilli sauce poor organisation/planning so to sit and rest our feet and listen to Mark chat about our surroundings was a blessing!!
    Written 11 July 2022
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

    Liz
    Chorley, UK176 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Sept 2020 • Couples
    We decided to see the sites of Cambridge by going on a 45 minutes punting ride down the river. The price for 2 was £55 and we shared the boat with 4 other people. It was certainly worth every penny!! The gentleman who took us out was Sam, he was extremely knowledgeable about the history of Cambridge. He was very pleasant and happy to try answer any questions asked. We both thought the whole experience was relaxing and the perfect way to see all the stunning buildings and bridges on route. We were very lucky with the weather and it didn’t seem that busy on the river, therefore we were able to get lots of videos and pictures. We’d certainly recommend anyone to go punting with Scudamores.
    Written 22 September 2020
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

    Dawn
    Manchester, England, United Kingdom15 contributions
    1.0 of 5 bubbles
    Sept 2020
    First trip to Cambridge on Saturday, it was a busy day as people prepared for another "lockdown". I approached quayside and was inundated with sale reps asking if I wanted to book on a punt, I replied that I had already had a booking and was ushered to the ticket office. A few staff huddled round chatting to each other so I approach the first one whose attention I could get and asked "Is this Ruthermore's?" to which a female member of staff replied "No, go back up there and look for someone with Ruthermore written on their Tshirt" , you're nasty, dismissive tone did not go unnoticed, next time "Sorry no" would suffice. You're only saving grace was the other member of staff who may have overheard you and kindly directed me further down the boardwalk. I'm glad I wasn't booked with you to begin with!
    Written 14 September 2020
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

    Florence789UK
    Birmingham, UK34 contributions
    3.0 of 5 bubbles
    Aug 2021
    A professional punt and a beautiful 45 mins. The reason for the three stars is for the moving inflated prices. There were 4 of us and we asked for a price from one of the members of staff on the bridge. He started by saying if we wanted a private trip it would be £275. If we wanted to share a boat with 4 others then it would be £175. When he could see we were shocked at the price (as we’d been about 18 months ago and paid nowhere near this) he then offered £25 each ‘as it was raining’. We said we couldn’t believe the inflated price since last time and he said it was ‘because of covid!’
    We asked how has this has affected the punt but he couldn’t answer. We were then offered a price of £20 each. We agreed to this as the couple with us had never been before. We proceeded to have a lovely trip.
    This review is simply to warn tourists of charges and avoid getting ripped off.
    Enjoy!
    Written 29 August 2021
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

    SarJar14
    Newcastle-under-Lyme, UK29 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Feb 2020 • Couples
    This is a definite 'must do' when visiting Cambridge.
    Scudamore aren't the cheapest however they do offer the best in the way of punts.
    Weather was cold but sunny however blankets and hot water bottles were provided to keep the chill off.
    Our chauffeur James was very knowledgeable, entertaining and easy to listen to.
    A thoroughly enjoyable morning...
    Don't scrimp, go punting!
    Highly Recommended
    Written 8 February 2020
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Dear SarJar14, Thank you for your nice feedback. We are glad that you have a nice experience with James and us on the River Cam. We try to give the best customer service we can that can explain our prices as they include extras blankets, extras cushions and hot water bottles in winter especially. We look forward to seeing you soon again on the Cam ! The Scudamore's Team
    Written 11 February 2020
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    Nathalie S
    30 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    We were visiting Cambridge with my 90 year mother who is in a wheelchair. We chose Scuadmore as their boats seemed more comfortable for mum (proper seats) and although slightly more expensive, they had a quality mark which was important to us due to mum travelling with us. There are 8 steps down to the boats, so to get my mum down there in her wheelchair we needed help lifting her in her wheelchair down the steps. When paying for our slot, we were assured we would get help and we also requested additional cushions for mum. We got help from 3 or 4 young gentlemen and the whole team were very cautious and attentive helping mum get on the boat. We had an amazing and memorable experience. When leaving the boat, yet again we got all the help we needed and the help back up to the road, Thank you so much Scudamore team. You made our day!
    Written 27 July 2022
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

    CatzR
    Lurgan, UK7 contributions
    4.0 of 5 bubbles
    Great guide and worth doing, however had looked prices and availability online which was plentiful but was staying very close so thought we would just walk down and take a chance. Spoke to young man at entrance who said he could do a “discounted rate” of £100 for a family of four but we would have to wait at least 1/2 hr, when we said we would think about it he was relatively insistent that unless we bought tickets now the wait would be even longer. I thanked him, went and sat on a nearby bench and bought my tickets via their website for £74 and immediate entry. Always check the website!
    Written 6 July 2021
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

    Sam
    Cambridge, UK7 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Jun 2021
    We hired a self-punting boat for 90 mins. The booking process was easy and when I needed to alter my booking, someone phoned me back promptly.
    The gentleman who gave me the punting instructional talk was very helpful and got us out on the river easily.
    It was all going well, until...
    On the way back, when going under a bridge I got the pole caught. I should have let the pole go, seeing as they float, but I tried to manoeuvre it and unfortunately (but amusingly) fell in the Cam. One of the Scudamore guides asked if I was OK; I'm sure they see someone fall in everyday. I simply pushed the boat to the side, hopped up onto the bank and jumped back onto the punt. It was a hot day so I dried off very quickly.
    Written 3 June 2021
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

    Showing results 1-10 of 1,520

    Punting Tour in Cambridge provided by Scudamore's Punting Company