Tours and Tickets
Shared Chauffeured Punt Tour
5

Shared Chauffeured Punt Tour

By Traditional Punting Company
Recommended by 97% of travellers
97% of reviewers gave this product a bubble rating of 4 or higher.
About
from
£45.00
per group (up to 3)
Lowest price guaranteeReserve now & pay laterFree cancellation

Ages 0-120, max of 6 per group
Duration: 50m
Start time: Check availability
Mobile ticket
Live guide: English
More
Audio guide: Chinese, English
More


  • Boats will be sanitized before every tour,


Start:
  • Traditional Punting Cambridge, Punting, Landing Stage, Thompsons Ln, Cambridge CB5 8AQ, UK
    On the corner of Jesus Green near the tennis courts and La Mimosa Resturant.
End:This activity ends back at the meeting point.

    • Not wheelchair accessible
    • Stroller accessible
    • Service animals allowed
    • Near public transportation
    • Infants must sit on laps
    If you have questions about accessibility, we’d be happy to help. Just call the number below and reference the product code: 108392P5

    • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
    • Most travellers can participate
    • Children must be accompanied by an adult
    • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 6 travellers

    • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.

    Which attractions will I visit with Shared Chauffeured Punt Tour?
    How much is Shared Chauffeured Punt Tour?
    Shared Chauffeured Punt Tour price starts from £45.59. Discover and book Shared Chauffeured Punt Tour on Tripadvisor
    What is the Shared Chauffeured Punt Tour cancellation policy?
    Shared Chauffeured Punt Tour cancellation policy: For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience. Discover and book Shared Chauffeured Punt Tour on Tripadvisor
    Which company provides Shared Chauffeured Punt Tour?
    Shared Chauffeured Punt Tour is hosted by Traditional Punting Company. Read reviews, discover additonal experiences or contact Traditional Punting Company on Tripadvisor. Discover and book Shared Chauffeured Punt Tour on Tripadvisor

    If you have questions about this tour or need help making your booking, we’d be happy to help. Just call the number below and reference the product code: 108392P5

    Reserve your spot
    Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.

    Similar experiences

    Itinerary
    • You'll start at
      Traditional Punting Cambridge
      Punting, Landing Stage, Thompsons Ln, Cambridge CB5 8AQ, UK
      On the corner of Jesus Green near the tennis courts and La Mimosa Resturant.
      See address & details
    • Pass by
      Magdalene College
      St. John's College
      Trinity College
      Clare College
      King's College
      Queens' College
    • You'll return to the starting point
    About the operator
    Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator:
    • Traditional Punting Company
      265
      United Kingdom
      Joined in May 2016
    • catherinef568
      0 contributions
      Relaxed fun afternoon
      Such a fun afternoon celebrating a friends birthday! We had a private tour with really friendly guide and lots of interspersed information!
      Written 22 February 2024
    • maryann e
      0 contributions
      Punting with Tom G
      Ask for Tom G!! He has the most INTERESTING history on Cambridge, super knowledgeable, especially since he was born and raised there! You won't be sorry!
      Written 24 September 2023
    • Curiosity624733
      0 contributions
      A must -do Cambridge experience with Traditional Punting
      Imagine floating serenely on a river in glorious sunshine; sipping champagne with your closest friends and absorbing not only the amazing scenery but also the entertaining and informative commentary from a fantastic ‘punter’ Benjie - and that was us only yesterday! A magical memory of Cambridge which we hope to repeat again. ..The 4 Herefordians.
      Written 15 September 2023
    • YvonneCR2014
      0 contributions
      Punting through the sun and rain, still a fabulous experience.
      Fabulous wet/ dry punting experience for 11 friends with Lochlan from Australia. In brilliant sunshine he gave us a detailed history and information about the colleges and places we passed en route. Brollies were provided for the scattered showers but were no match for the final downpour were we came off marginely better than our poor chaffeur. What a star he was, would recommend him as a tour guide. Top man. Thank you.
      Written 6 August 2023
    • 158russj
      0 contributions
      Great punting experience in Cambridge
      Just completed a guided private punt tour in Cambridge- it was excellent and our guide Nick was great - knowledgeable and funny, and took some lovely photos for us. Thoroughly recommend.
      Written 29 July 2023
    • SOCLE61
      0 contributions
      Morning on the Cam with Traditional Punting company
      An highly recommended tour. The trip was idyllic and Dan woods was an excellent guide. Boat was very comfortable. We went out at 10:30 which was an excellent time as the Cam wasn’t too busy.
      Written 24 July 2023
    • 450katyr
      0 contributions
      Magical experience
      I would definitely recommend the Traditional Punting Company along with Daniel Woods our guide. The whole trip was amazing, beautiful scenery, historic sites and calm waters. We saw a different side to Cambridge brought to life by Dan. He also gave us some excellent recommendations which we also very much enjoyed. Thank you for a magical, memorable experience.
      Written 24 July 2023
    • Jet05217009156
      0 contributions
      A most excellent tour
      Most enjoyable tour. Alex Blake gave us an excellent talk very interesting and informative. We were amazed to learn that it was only his second day.
      Written 2 July 2023
    • cavedodger
      0 contributions
      Lovely ride on river Cam with the great guide, "hostess" horrible.
      We thoroughly enjoyed our private punting tour with our excellent guide Cameron, even the weather cooperated and it was fascinating to learn some of the rich history of Cambridge and its Colleges. This would have been a five star review if not for the young lady who initially "greeted" us at the dock area, she was very unfriendly, unhelpful and unsmiling, we got more information from a man from a competing company. When we arrived I said "hello, we have a booking at 6:15 for a private tour" and she cut me off and said "come back five minutes before and you cannot wait here, go somewhere else".... I worked in tourism for longer than she has.... terrible first impression and not at all indicative of the actual experience which is a pity, if we had not had a prepaid reservation we would have gone elsewhere. Can't recall her name but I can guarantee the company knows who it was...
      Written 21 June 2023
    • paul r
      0 contributions
      Everything and More...
      First time in taking to the river in Cambridge...Especially as my wife and I have said numerous times when visiting we should experience a traditional punt along the river... This company for us were customer focused along with being very friendly and professional... Our main man at the helm was Jasper...What a fantastic guide and would book him every time (if we could).... Would book with this company again... Just fantastic and thank you... The TOWIE Couple...Jasper you know who we are...
      Written 19 June 2023
    • Danielle4147
      0 contributions
      Relaxing and informative
      What a great experience! It was lovely gliding down the river guided by our expert punter Noah who regaled us with facts and stories about the surrounding iconic structure. Thank you Noah!
      Written 11 June 2023
    • Acornise
      0 contributions
      fun and interesting
      A great and novel way to see a small part of Cambridge. Our punter was great - very interesting to listen to. Overhearing others as they went past - all seemed to have different stories - though based on Cambridge of course. It did get a little unnecessarily exciting at times as we seemed to be in a hurry and overtook others and crashed - but the kids loved those bits. Its fun and interesting. Cambridge really is breathtaking.
      Written 1 June 2023
    • 401lizah
      0 contributions
      Highly recommended
      Absolutely brilliant. Our guide (Will) was brilliant, very informative with some great humour for good measure. Highly recommend this.
      Written 12 April 2023
    • dazzahitch
      0 contributions
      Excellent Punt & Value
      Whilst walking along the river got accustomed by a number of punting companies who were charging about £35 each for a 50minute shared punt, decided to leave it and looked on the internet that evening. Looked at Traditional Punting Company website and trip advisor and could see great reviews and the cost was only £20 each so booked it. Got to the boarding point 10 minutes and was asked to wait at the meeting point, groups were then collected and put aboard the punt, we were with 2 other groups with 9 of us in total so not overcrowded. Our chauffer was excellent, very polite and well spoken, the only slight issue was when he occasionally turned his head to the rear and you couldn't quite hear him. He even took us a bit further as we wanted to go under the Mathematical bridge. Excellent tour and would highly recommend
      Written 1 November 2022
    • Nog113
      0 contributions
      Great trip
      Great tour and not overpriced like other operators on the river. Arthur knew his stuff about Cambridge making the trip educational as well as enjoyable.
      Written 11 September 2022
    See all 265 reviews
    These reviews are the subjective opinions of Tripadvisor members and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

    Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

    Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as waiting time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.

    Popular mentions

    We perform checks on reviews.
    Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
    Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
    When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
    Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
    Learn more about our review moderation.
    5.0
    68 reviews
    Excellent
    66
    Very good
    0
    Average
    0
    Poor
    1
    Terrible
    1

    Joe
    London, UK1 contribution
    Today, I had a reservation for three for a shared, chauffeured punting tour along the Cam River in Cambridge at 245 p.m. I called the company to say that we were going to be c 10 minutes regrettably. My older cousin has a vision impairment disability in one eye; we underestimated the time it would take to traverse Cambridge to arrive at punting launch site on time; and as it was a Saturday with the city centre teeming with crowds, she was unable with us to walk sufficiently fast to make up the time. At precisely 255 p.m., the company called and asked where we were, and I said i though we were indeed near but we needed a couple more minutes to arrive. The response I got was sorry, you will miss your boat. I acknowledge we were late, however, the response we got offered ZERO empathy, no room for accommodation, and no offer for a refund or credit for a future trip. Our pre-paid GBP55 was charged to our credit card (money thrown down the drain with no service received) and I am certain that given the booked schedule and high demand, the company was able to fill the boat with standby passengers and therefore earned twice the revenue at our expense. I have never, ever written a critical review of a service on a site like this, but I remain shocked and hard-done by the treatment received and feel the need to post this given our experience. The treatment we received is no way to run a business. Our daughter is a student at Cambridge, and we come often with friends with punting an occasional highlight of our visits. I will actively discourage others from using Traditional Punting Company. Scudamores it will be in the future, for sure.
    Written 29 October 2022
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Hello, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am sorry to hear you are unhappy with our services. I have reviewed what has happened; when you would have rung us initially we would have told you that we can hold the boat for a maximum of ten minutes as there are other paying customers onboard who have paid for a full tour. Our management staff at our landing stage honoured this and at 2.58pm, they rang you to ask where you were and you were still five minutes away, our cashier held the boat for nearly 15 minutes with three other paying groups onboard. As you weren't there after 13 minutes we, unfortunately, had to send the boat. It does say on our T&Cs that late arrivals will result in a missed tour. I have had a look back at our bookings that day and we were fully booked the entire day therefore we were unfortunately unable to reschedule you. As we had waited 13 minutes for you we couldn't have added another customer onto your seats as it was too late to do so, this is why no refund was offered. If you would like to speak to us further about this, please ring us on 01223 782306 or email us at info@traditionalpuntingcompany.com
    Written 27 January 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    Brian E
    4 contributions
    Sept 2023 • Couples
    Our group took one of the shared punting tours with Tom G., what an excellent trip. Tom G. was very knowledgeable, pleasant with all of the guests and led a very entertaining chauffeured punting experience. I highly recommend Traditional Punting and Tom G. If you are considering punting on The River Cam.
    Written 24 September 2023
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

    Carol L
    5 contributions
    Aug 2023 • Couples
    Our tour was narrated by Tom B, he made the tour informative as well as interesting & amusing (losing his pole). It was my partners first punt and was perfect as part of his birthday celebration. Highly recommend your company. Many thanks Caro & John
    Written 30 August 2023
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

    Énora D
    1 contribution
    Apr 2023
    My brother and I went on this tour on April 12. We were with a family of four so it wasn't too crowded. Our guide was Aaron, he was very friendly and provided many informations and anecdotes as we traveled along the backs of several colleges. We were lucky enough to have sun with us. I would definitely recommend it to discover Cambridge in a new way, very soothing and poetic.

    P. S. I was the blonde French girl in the 11:15am tour, if Aaron and his mate ever want to reach out, here's my insta @enoo_dbl48 :)
    Written 12 April 2023
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

    KateVisits
    London, UK41 contributions
    Sept 2020
    Loved it so much! Lots of space on the boat with screens between each section. Our guide was really funny and friendly and told us lots of facts and myths about the different colleges in Cambridge. Went on an extremely windy day which made it more fun and the river wasn't busy at all with other boats, so don't feel this is something you can only do this during summer or when the weather is better. The tour lasts about 45-50minutes and you go to the meeting point by "Let's Go Punting" on the corner of Jesus Common (it's fairly obvious)
    Written 27 September 2020
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Hello, Thank you so much for taking the time to review your punt tour with us. It's great to hear that you had such a wonderful time punting with us. Looking forward to welcoming you to our punting tours again soon. Many thanks, TPC
    Written 10 October 2020
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    pennyl79
    Wivenhoe, UK14 contributions
    Jul 2020 • Family
    We really enjoyed our shared punting tour with Will. He was very knowledgeable about all the college buildings and had lots of funny stories to tell about the students. The river was beautiful, it was lovely to see all the colleges from the water. I would definitely recommend this tour.
    Written 25 July 2020
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Hi Penny, Thank you very much for your kind and honest words. We are delighted to hear about your experience. We hope to welcome you on board with us again in the future. Kindest regards, Zac
    Written 23 August 2020
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    Rhi
    2 contributions
    Sept 2020 • Friends
    My mother and I took a punting tour over the weekend, we thoroughly enjoyed it. The guide was knowledgeable on the colleges we passed, talking about the history of the buildings and bridges. Plus it was really beautiful. Having not spent that much time in Cambridge myself, it was a really fab experience. Would recommend.
    Written 29 September 2020
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Hello, Thank you so much for taking the time to review your punt tour with us. It's great to hear that you recommend punting with us. And that you and your mother had such a fabulous experience. Looking forward to welcoming you to our punting tours again soon. Many thanks, TPC
    Written 10 October 2020
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    Pam
    5 contributions
    Jul 2020 • Couples
    Went punting in Cambridge for the first time and it was a excellent experience. Our guide Jack, was very friendly and funny and led a great tour with lots of information about Cambridge and all of the sites we passed during the tour. Would definitely come again and recommend to family and friends.
    Written 11 July 2020
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Hi Pamini, Thank you for your 5 star review. We are so happy to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your first time punting in Cambridge with our chauffeur Jack. It is great to know that you found the tour both informative and funny and we hope to welcome you back onboard soon. Kindest regards, TPC
    Written 15 July 2020
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    Becki L
    Astley, UK5 contributions
    Aug 2023 • Couples
    A really lovely way to see Cambridge! Our tour guide Alex Blake (hope I got the name right!) was so friendly and knowledgeable, answering all of our questions and giving us loads of great information about all the sights - would definately recommend!
    Written 25 August 2023
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

    Globe Trotting Gems
    Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates551 contributions
    Absolutely loved this punt tour, staff are super friendly and our tour guide Will was lovely. Very knowledgeable throughout the whole journey. We also used the app which updated each time you came to the next point on the tour. Great idea. Highly recommend this tour when you’re in Cambridge and thank you to our awesome tour guide Will.
    Written 13 July 2020
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Hello, Thank you for taking the time to review us, and it is so lovely to hear how much you enjoyed your socially distanced shared tour with us. I will make sure to pass on your kind words to both Will and the team and it is also great to have your feedback about our Audio App. It is a new edition this year and knowing that you found it easy and enjoyable to use it really helpful. Thanks again for your wonderful review and we hope to see you again soon. Kindest regards, TPC
    Written 15 July 2020
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    Showing results 1-10 of 64

    Shared Chauffeured Punt Tour provided by Traditional Punting Company