Tours and Tickets

The London Classic Tour: Sightseeing Tour in Vintage Bus provided by The Classic Tour

The London Classic Tour: Sightseeing Tour in Vintage Bus

The London Classic Tour: Sightseeing Tour in Vintage Bus
4
Book in advance
from
£27.00
per adult
Free Cancellation up to 24 hours in advance
Reserve now & pay later: Save your spot free of charge with flexible booking.
About
Step onboard a 1960s Routemaster bus that has been transformed into a state of the art open top sightseeing experience. From Buckingham Palace to the Tower of London via the Houses of Parliament, The Shard and St. Paul’s Cathedral, see the beautiful city come alive before your eyes. Music and sound effects add to the experience, creating the most entertaining sightseeing tour around.
Know before you go
  • Duration: 1h 15m
  • Mobile tickets accepted
  • Instant confirmation
Cancellation policy
  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
Available languages
English
What to expect
  • Your tour begins outside of the Grand Hotel, located on Northumberland Avenue beside Trafalgar Square. Here, you’ll board your open-top bus — a refurbished Routemaster that dates back to the 1960s — and launch straight into your tour. Glide past top attractions such as Trafalgar Square, Buckingham Palace, Big Ben, and the Houses of Parliament as you listen to humorous commentary provided by your guide. At each stop, site-specific music and immersive videos on HD screens enhance your experience. See, too, The Shard, St. Paul’s Cathedral, and Tower of London before returning to your original departure point on Northumberland Avenue.
Know before you go
  • Duration: 1h 15m
  • Mobile tickets accepted
  • Instant confirmation
Available languages
English
Cancellation policy
  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
What to expect
  • Your tour begins outside of the Grand Hotel, located on Northumberland Avenue beside Trafalgar Square. Here, you’ll board your open-top bus — a refurbished Routemaster that dates back to the 1960s — and launch straight into your tour. Glide past top attractions such as Trafalgar Square, Buckingham Palace, Big Ben, and the Houses of Parliament as you listen to humorous commentary provided by your guide. At each stop, site-specific music and immersive videos on HD screens enhance your experience. See, too, The Shard, St. Paul’s Cathedral, and Tower of London before returning to your original departure point on Northumberland Avenue.
Need help booking?
Call the number below and use the product code: 6743P5
Call +44 12 2492 8241
Important information
Inclusions
  • Live commentary on board
  • Professional guide
Exclusions
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off
Duration
1h 15m
Departure details
  • 8 Northumberland Ave, London WC2N 5BY, UK Outside the Grand Hotel, off Trafalgar Square. Opposite Sherlock Holmes Pub. Nearest tube stations are Charing Cross and Embankment. Post Code for pick up location is WC2N 5BY
Additional information
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Children must be accompanied by an adult
  • Collapsible wheelchairs with removable wheels can be accommodated providing the passenger is accompanied by someone who can assist them board and disembark
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Please arrive 20 minutes before the scheduled departure time. The tour cannot wait for late passengers and they cannot be admitted once the show has started.
  • Most travellers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 36 travellers
Inclusions
  • Live commentary on board
  • Professional guide
Exclusions
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off
Departure details
  • 8 Northumberland Ave, London WC2N 5BY, UK Outside the Grand Hotel, off Trafalgar Square. Opposite Sherlock Holmes Pub. Nearest tube stations are Charing Cross and Embankment. Post Code for pick up location is WC2N 5BY
Duration
1h 15m
Return details
  • Returns to original departure point
Additional information
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Children must be accompanied by an adult
  • Collapsible wheelchairs with removable wheels can be accommodated providing the passenger is accompanied by someone who can assist them board and disembark
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Please arrive 20 minutes before the scheduled departure time. The tour cannot wait for late passengers and they cannot be admitted once the show has started.
  • Most travellers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 36 travellers
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your visit
  • Gear/equipment sanitised between use
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
What you can expect during your visit
  • Gear/equipment sanitised between use
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Face masks required for travellers in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to travellers and staff
  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitised
Itinerary
  • You'll start at
    8 Northumberland Ave
    8 Northumberland Ave, London WC2N 5BY, UK
    Outside the Grand Hotel, off Trafalgar Square. Opposite Sherlock Holmes Pub. Nearest tube stations are Charing Cross and Embankment. Post Code for pick up location is WC2N 5BY
    See address & details
  • Pass by
    Tower of London
    Buckingham Palace
    St. Paul's Cathedral
    Houses of Parliament
  • 1
    Tower Bridge
    Stop: 10 minutes
    See details
  • 2
    Trafalgar Square
    Stop: 10 minutes
    See details
  • You'll return to the starting point
+
Popular mentions

4.0
16 reviews
Excellent
8
Very good
2
Average
2
Poor
2
Terrible
2

tryanythingonce2015
London, UK46 contributions
Hopeless outfit do not use
Jan 2020
Booked Christmas lights tour with my 90 year old mother and family including g
2 year old grandson The tour was cancelled at the last minute when we had waited 30 minutes in the cold. Told to phone to get refund and that cost £8 from mobile phone No customer service at all
Written 25 February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hi there, Hope you are well. Sorry to hear that your tour was cancelled on the day. We always try to give as much notice as possible, so as not to inconvenience customers, however this is not always possible, but it is regrettable that if effected your parties day out. But as for your issue regarding the telephone charge, please see the below text from the Ofcom website which will give you some more information: 084 numbers These service numbers are used by organisations for sales or enquiry lines. The cost of calling 0843, 0844 and 0845 numbers is made up of two parts: an access charge going to your phone company, and a service charge set by the organisation you are calling. The service charge for calls to 084 numbers is between 0p and 7p per minute. The access charge – which is additional to the service charge – will vary depending on your phone company, and can range from 8p to 65p per minute. Choose a provider from the table below for more information on their pricing. 
 If you follow this link: https://www.ofcom.org.uk/phones-telecoms-and-internet/advice-for-consumers/costs-and-billing/how-much-does-a-phone-call-really-cost to the Ofcom website it has a breakdown on how you will be charged calling 0844 numbers, depending on who supplies your phone service. Many thanks and apologies again, Best wishes, Max
Written 2 March 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Ian W
3 contributions
Great Tour !!
Excellent tour, great way to spend an hour.
Host was amazing and very knowledgeable, we learnt so much more about London it was fantastic.
Written 24 February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

littlemissrandom
Minneapolis, Minnesota2 contributions
Delightful time!
We had a FABULOUS time on a bright January day on the top of the bus! Peter is hilarious, incredibly knowledgeable and made the time fly! Zach was our driver and I’m still impressed at how he navigated the mayhem that is London traffic. I HIGHLY recommend this tour ❤️
Written 12 February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Andamos_bien
Palmerston North, New Zealand119 contributions
Bus tour
Oct 2019
This was an open top bus tour of London - excellent way to get an overview of the city when you don't have much time. Definitely recommend it.
Written 7 February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Mich
London, UK212 contributions
Christmas lights bus tour- did the same for £1.50
A very mediocre tour, stuck in traffic for some lengthy parts of the tour with the guide running out of facts so very little interaction at times.
Especially as only people sat on the right hand side of the bus able to hear as some speaker's on the right must have been broken as unable to hear the guide.
When not stuck in traffic went past the lights so fast you missed them?
You can do virtually the same tour for £1.50 on the number 6 bus from Edgware road to Charring cross, please see pics.
Written 31 December 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hi Mich, Hope you are well. Sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your Christmas Lights Tour. It sounds as if your tour was significantly affected by a faulty microphone, which has since been replaced, but I’d like to apologise on behalf of the team that this affected the tour that you attended. There are public buses which do cross our route, but it is the guided tour that makes the experience special. Please, if you would be so kind as to get in touch with feedback@theclassictour.com, we would be more than happy to look into a solution for you. Sorry to hear that you found the bus to move too fast when not in traffic as well. We would love to be able to take our time to view every landmark and sight on the tour, but unfortunately due to the nature of London traffic, this would cause far too much disruption and would be a hazard to other drivers. This is mentioned in our terms and conditions.
Please do get in touch with the email cited above, and we will look into this situation further. Many thanks, Best wishes, Max
Written 20 January 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

lisa_gizzy
London, UK12 contributions
Christmas Lights
Dec 2019 • Friends
Perhaps we were unlucky but we were expecting a festive fun experience! Instead we were subjected to a monologue of facts presented in a droll tone and whizzed past the parts that had good lights! Guide remained downstairs. Would have been good to have some festive info. Perhaps London Chrismas traditions. Or alternatively just play Christmas music! Guide often pointed out historical things that were in the opposite direction of the lights. To add insult to injury we, at one point, stopped next to The Original Tour tour bus and the guide was upstairs and interacting with the group and they looked like they were having a great time, and they had Santa hats! Not worth £24 for ONE hour! I loved the ghost tour with this company. The conductor was energetic and the actor funny! This tour was just boring!
Written 26 December 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hi Lisa, Hope you are well today. I’d like to apologise for the fact that you were disappointed with your recent tour. Unfortunately, due to timings and the rules regarding our route, we are unable to stop on route and we are unable to drive deliberately slowly as this would be a hazard to others on the road, regardless we are sorry that you think the best sights were passed by too quickly. The tour does include festive information as well as London's history of Christmas traditions. It is our understanding that it is against the law for a guide to be walking around or standing on the upper deck while an open-top bus is in motion, so the fact that you saw this happening on another tour is surprising to us. 
Thank you for your feedback, we will take on board the rest of your points and consider them for the future. It is valuable feedback such as yours that allows us to improve our service to the best it can possibly be! We really appreciate your kind words regarding The Ghost Bus Tours despite your recent experience, our thanks for that, and we would love to have you on board again in the future to redeem ourselves. Apologies again, Best wishes, Max
Written 20 January 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Phillip C
1 contribution
Learned a lot...disliked it none!
Dec 2019 • Family
Peter was an excellent tour guide! He was very informative, had a good sense of humor and still managed to get across quite a bit of history. We had to deal with a little bit of traffic and yet he still had facts and history to fill the void of waiting for an accident to be cleared. All in all very pleased, even the 3 year old enjoyed it.
Written 8 December 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

chenies
Chenies, UK46 contributions
Poor value for money
Nov 2019
The website said we would see Buckingham Palace, a highlight for our family from abroad, we didn't. The guide said it was to stop people taking pot shots at the palace !!!!
We only saw the London Eye from across the river and it wasn't pointed out or mentioned.
The guide wasn't very good at all. She did tell us 3 times about people throwing excrement into the street in the olden times and bored us by relating how the son of a friend of her's earned £30k in IT in the city, and she repeated herself so much it was very annoying.
Not good value and not to be recommended, I'm sure other tours are much better, though you wouldn't travel on an old Routemaster bus. I would certainly forego that for a better tour.
Written 2 December 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hi there, Hope you’re well today. We’re very sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your recent tour. It is a real shame that you were unable to see Buckingham Palace on this particular tour, we offer our apologies, but would refer you to point eleven of our terms and conditions (www.theclassictour.com/terms) which states: 'Please be aware that due to the nature of London traffic and road closures it may not always be possible to see every landmark advertised on the route. We will always try our best to warn customers if this is the case but it may not always be possible.' So that we can look into some of the specific points you mention, if possible, would you be so kind as to contact us at feedback@theclassictour.com, including the time and date you attended, and a member of our staff will look into these issues. We pride ourselves on being the best bus tour in London, and the majority of our customers agree! But it is valuable feedback such as yours that allows us to improve our service. We hope to hear more from you soon. Thank you, and our apologies again. Best wishes, Max
Written 10 December 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Captainsydenham
London, UK16 contributions
We went as a family and all had a fantastic time
Oct 2019
As locals our kids had always wanted to go on an open top bus tour of London. We went with a 12, 10 and 5 year old. It was the perfect length of time. The guide was informative and funny. We could hear everything clearly on the top deck and everyone loved being on an old route master. Would definitely recommend - we all really enjoyed it.
Written 20 October 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Alison
Chicago, IL2 contributions
Microphone did not work, couldn’t hear guide
Oct 2019 • Couples
We were looking for a quick tour of London on a double decker bus that was NOT a hop on hop off. We just wanted a continuous tour with a live tour guide narration. The Classic Tour fit that bill. However, the microphone for the tour guide was not working on our bus. While the guide did the best she could, we unfortunately heard very little of her narration - which was the whole point of the tour! I was very disappointed that we did not receive any compensation or credit from management when we returned at the end of the tour. Not even an apology! Would not recommend.
Written 6 October 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hi there, Hope you’re well. I’m ever so sorry to hear about your recent experience. We pride ourselves on being the best sightseeing tour in London and so I understand that something like this is a complete disappointment, and you should have received an apology from our staff at the time. So that I can look into this issue for you, and find a solution, would it please be possible to forward either your order number or the date and time of the tour you attended to feedback@theclassictour.com and I will find out what went wrong and what we can do about it. Thanks, apologies again and hope to hear from you soon. Best wishes, Max
Written 16 October 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 15
About the operator

Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator.

By: The Classic Tour
HannahElizabetx
HannahElizabetx
00
Amazing experience, great host
Went for the ghost bus tour yesterday evening, Thursday 21st October. Was such a great experience, massive shout o
maria j
maria j
00
Spooky and fun
Great experience, would highly recommend. Some great stories and facts and definitely felt spooky! Would be great f
JenMRoberts
JenMRoberts
00
Really enjoyable evening
Really informative and funny, full of innuendos! The tour guide/actor Cedric Burke was enthusiastic and stayed perf
LollyJuly
LollyJuly
00
Fantastic sightseeing tour with lots of laughs
What a laugh! Was so well done and our tour guide Charlie Clements was fantastic! The tour took in a lot of the si
Resort579347
Resort579347
00
An hour of our life we will never get back
What a ripe off, the only frightening thing about this trip is the PRICE. The host (Charles) kept stopping the bus
Yazmin143
Yazmin143
00
Great host but meh experience
amazing tour - the host daisy was really friendly but if your an adult going solo i don’t recommend it because it f
lifeinthetopbunk
lifeinthetopbunk
00
Cheesy
The hostess (with a fantastic pseudonym that included the word entrails) was lovely, but the tour itself was heavil
Spinkyminky
Spinkyminky
00
Fun Evening Tour with some added scares along the way
My husband booked the ghost bus tour as a surprise for my birthday we boarded for the 7.30 pm bus and managed to ge
juliefP1593MA
juliefP1593MA
00
Non scary ghost bus
Not worth the money, now just a guided tour of the landmarks at a very expensive price, no way as good as it was se
MK592
MK592
00
Waste of money - boring rubbish
More costumed staff, more interaction, more humour. Better seating so all can see. A microphone that works. This
Nick F
Nick F
00
Cock....cock lane
Good experience, not very scary and it doesn't really go on about ghosts too much. It's more of a comedy ghost tour
Ghostlynice
Ghostlynice
00
Nice tour...
I really enjoyed Th Ghost Bus. The Bus, was very moderm and well geared, not like the ones that we used to use in t
Rachel K
Rachel K
00
Dark, daft and divine!
A great way to see a bit of London, learn some interesting and macabre facts and laugh a lot! We went as a small g
Al1802
Al1802
00
Great family fun evening!
Great evening out for the family! Twelve year old and fourteen old both enjoyed it. Great historical storytelling a
Tour62883568727
Tour62883568727
00
Tour of London with a Twist
Great tour of London with a twist. Excellent view of all key sights with interesting stories and comedy throughout.
Frequently Asked Questions about The London Classic Tour: Sightseeing Tour in Vintage Bus

The London Classic Tour: Sightseeing Tour in Vintage Bus will start at 12:05 PM. Discover and book The London Classic Tour: Sightseeing Tour in Vintage Bus on Tripadvisor


The London Classic Tour: Sightseeing Tour in Vintage Bus price starts from £27.82. Discover and book The London Classic Tour: Sightseeing Tour in Vintage Bus on Tripadvisor

The London Classic Tour: Sightseeing Tour in Vintage Bus cancellation policy: For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience. Discover and book The London Classic Tour: Sightseeing Tour in Vintage Bus on Tripadvisor