Tours and Tickets
Windsor Duck Tour: Bus and Boat Ride
4.5

Windsor Duck Tour: Bus and Boat Ride

By Windsor Duck Tours
Recommended by 93% of travellers
93% of reviewers gave this product a bubble rating of 4 or higher.
About
from
£27.00
per adult
Lowest price guaranteeReserve now & pay laterFree cancellation

Ages 0-109, max of 26 per group
Duration: 1h
Start time: Check availability
Mobile ticket
Live guide: English
More


  • Cruise
What's not included
  • Gratuities


Start:
  • 33 Thames St, Windsor SL4 1PR, UK
    We are located opposite the front of The Theatre Royal Windsor.
End:This activity ends back at the meeting point.

    • Not wheelchair accessible
    • Near public transportation
    If you have questions about accessibility, we’d be happy to help. Just call the number below and reference the product code: 41936P1

    • Booking in advanced advised
    • Children must be accompanied by an adult
    • Not recommended for pregnant travellers
    • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
    • Most travellers can participate
    • This experience requires good weather. If it’s cancelled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
    • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 26 travellers

    • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.

    Which attractions will I visit with Windsor Duck Tour: Bus and Boat Ride?
    How much is Windsor Duck Tour: Bus and Boat Ride?
    Windsor Duck Tour: Bus and Boat Ride price starts from £27.69. Discover and book Windsor Duck Tour: Bus and Boat Ride on Tripadvisor
    What is the Windsor Duck Tour: Bus and Boat Ride cancellation policy?
    Windsor Duck Tour: Bus and Boat Ride cancellation policy: For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience. Discover and book Windsor Duck Tour: Bus and Boat Ride on Tripadvisor
    Which company provides Windsor Duck Tour: Bus and Boat Ride?
    Windsor Duck Tour: Bus and Boat Ride is hosted by Windsor Duck Tours. Read reviews, discover additonal experiences or contact Windsor Duck Tours on Tripadvisor. Discover and book Windsor Duck Tour: Bus and Boat Ride on Tripadvisor

    If you have questions about this tour or need help making your booking, we’d be happy to help. Just call the number below and reference the product code: 41936P1

    Reserve your spot
    Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.

    Similar experiences

    Itinerary
    • You'll start at
      33 Thames St
      33 Thames St, Windsor SL4 1PR, UK
      We are located opposite the front of The Theatre Royal Windsor.
      See address & details
    • Pass by
      Windsor Castle
    • 1
      Thames River
      Stop: 30 minutes
      Splashdown into the River Thames in Windsor. There is a wealth of fascinating information to be learned while cruising down the Thames.
      Read more
      Pass by
      Windsor Great Park
      Theatre Royal Windsor
    • You'll return to the starting point
    About the operator
    Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator:
    • Windsor Duck Tours
      1,106
      United Kingdom
      Joined in December 2013
    • xsungoddessx
      0 contributions
      2.0 of 5 bubbles
      Not worth the money
      This is a really overpriced trip for what it is! We expected to hear a lot more about the history and area of Windsor/sites that we passed but this was lacking. The commentary was non stop and at times would have been better if he just stopped with the jokes and singing and let us enjoying taking in the sites!
      Written 30 September 2023
    • Flyer42889620352
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      A great trip for all ages
      What a great trip. Russell our guide was great fun and made the trip very enjoyable. It was very exciting when we went into the water and had great views of the castle.
      Written 3 September 2023
    • WisdomD
      0 contributions
      4.0 of 5 bubbles
      A Worthwhile Experience
      It was en enjoyable experience with a dry, humorous narration. I would recommend it. The only irritants were the lack of queuing up and the difficulty embarking and disembarking the Duck. It would be better if the process was orderly (better supervision) and access was improved, perhaps with a platform or gantry.
      Written 1 September 2023
    • DJB5794
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Great experience
      A great way to see the sights and river, mixed with a great team on board, gave us lots of information on route with humorous input, well worth the price
      Written 31 August 2023
    • Matt D
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Worth every penny
      Enjoyed by the whole family. Excellent views throughout. Wonderful staff. Easy to find the start point. Would recommend
      Written 23 August 2023
    • U3284LTalexw
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Great experience
      I wasnt sure beforehand but we all enjoyed the trip. Staff knew what they were talking about, great trivia. Only minor gripe was having to travel back on itself over the water as there is only one land-water docking area, but thats not really the fault!
      Written 18 August 2023
    • thirdengine
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      A lovely trip!
      This was a great tour - my 2 year old nephew absolutely loved it. I recommend booking in advance as it gets booked up very quickly.
      Written 16 August 2023
    • andyk884
      0 contributions
      4.0 of 5 bubbles
      Lovely tour
      Grandson and grandparents really enjoyed this tour, seeing the castle from land and river, and much more besides, including great wildlife. Commentary hit the spot with children and adults, and was not excessive. Great views. Would have given five stars, however although parking difficulties are flagged, I parked in Home park to use the park and ride, only to find it was not running - after I had paid to park, so had to find somewhere else at the last minute. Very impressed at drivers navigational skills on leaving the river on to a narrow slipway with strong currents.
      Written 15 August 2023
    • Bobpw
      0 contributions
      2.0 of 5 bubbles
      Don’t go!
      Left in time. Fun to drive around but the commentary was AWFUL! Hardly anything informative, it was just terrible cringe-worthy jokes and teasing her husband. I had arranged it as a treat for my family and brought friends and was embarrassed it was so lame. Not worth the money!! Don’t go! Hire your own boat or take a different trip!
      Written 14 August 2023
    • Guide43350486928
      0 contributions
      4.0 of 5 bubbles
      Sightseeing with extra fun
      Really great activity. Recommend. You might get a tiny bit wet...pacamac ? . Need to book in advance. Superb fun
      Written 10 August 2023
    • suejackson27
      0 contributions
      4.0 of 5 bubbles
      Great experience
      Very well organized (even down to help with car parking). We were lucky with the weather so a very pleasant experience. The staff were helpful and very informative, thank you.
      Written 9 August 2023
    • randmwelfare
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      The Duck of Windsor.
      A brilliant and fun thing to do lots of interesting facts when going past the sites of Windsor and the big splash into the River Thames,The crew are very friendly and helpful also very helpful when you can telephone and book as not every one can do on line booking.
      Written 2 August 2023
    • matthews20022018
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      one for all weathers
      Interesting trip for all ages. Staff were very friendly and helpful. When we went it was raining and not a nice day but the trip was still really good and we kept dry while seeing things and learning all about Windsor. Great views of the castle from the river. Made our wet day good.
      Written 15 July 2023
    • 673mandyb
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Fab fun
      Brilliant fun, very different. Professional and friendly driver and guide… informative with a comedy twist… great way to spend an hour!
      Written 12 July 2023
    • W8982ASvictoriat
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Really enjoyable
      I took my grandson and we really enjoyed it, very informative and enjoyable, the guide was funny and as a local knew a lot of local knowledge
      Written 8 July 2023
    See all 1 review
    These reviews are the subjective opinions of Tripadvisor members and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

    Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

    Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as waiting time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.

    Popular mentions

    We perform checks on reviews.
    Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
    Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
    When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
    Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
    Learn more about our review moderation.
    4.5
    4.5 of 5 bubbles831 reviews
    Excellent
    666
    Very good
    115
    Average
    27
    Poor
    7
    Terrible
    16

    Carla A
    1 contribution
    1.0 of 5 bubbles
    Aug 2020 • Family
    I booked this trip for me, my special needs autistic daughter and my two grandchildren who were looking forward to this day. The bus drivers refused to allow my 17 years old disabled autistic daughter, to enter the trip because she didn’t have a face mask. She was discriminated due to her disability . They made Her feel ashamed , by the drivers trying to make her to wear a face mask , which she isn't obliged by The current government coronavirus rules:
    Those who have an age, health or disability reason to not wear a face covering should not be routinely asked to provide any written evidence of this. Written evidence includes exemption cards. Some people may feel more comfortable showing something that says they do not have to wear a face covering. This could be in the form of an exemption card, badge or even a home-made sign.

    This is a personal choice, and is not necessary in law. When , I called them to book This trip and explained my daughters disabilities , they also do not offer a companion/carer ticket offer. Our family was very sad and disappointed 😞 we were very well received at Windsor castle instead, who not discriminated my daughter neither made her to wear a face mask by force! I wouldn’t recommend this trip to anyone ! !!
    Written 29 August 2020
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Dear Customer, I'd start by saying as a family run business with long-standing staff who care SO much about people with disabilities, we found this review quite shocking as your version of events do not paint the full picture. Companies are often told to roll over and accept the customer is always right, but on this occasion, with the accusation that we discriminate against disabled people, we feel we must lay down the facts so future customers can make up their minds whether they would like to take our tour. I (as the co-owner) received a call at 12:57 on Saturday from our Skipper who was concerned for the welfare of other passengers as they had a family with someone who outright refused to wear a mask. There was no mention of a disability at this point, only a mention that your daughter did not like certain materials, and that they she was able to wear a mask if it was the correct material. I explained to him that if this is the case, and they are not exempt there are two options. The group can have a full refund, or the person not taking the tour can have a refund. We lose the business but at least all parties can walk away and move on. Again, at this point there was no mention of a disability. What happened next is at 13:05 you walked away from our Skipper, and out of earshot, called our office. Where a young lady who is a wonderful member of our team received a torrent of abuse and accusations of discrimination. She was so shaken and worried she skipped normal protocol to speak to a manager and refunded the full amount of your tour. With the full knowledge that you had been fully refunded, and without mentioning anything to the skipper you blatantly boarded the duck and took the tour at 1:30 without your daughter. Whilst boarding you still argued with our staff that your daughter didn’t want to wear a mask, and only then explained her disability. For clarity, we do not need a full explanation and paperwork. All our staff are lovely, and a quiet word when booking the tour or when you arrive would be more than adequate. In fact, we bend over backwards to help everyone. In hindsight if you had approached our staff, calmly, explained the situation and your daughter’s disability it’s likely there would have been no problem without a mask. We could have seated you at the back in a safe space that would give minimal risk to other passengers. As a family run business who have lived in Windsor most our lives we care where we fit into the community. We often donate to various charities and put on free private tours for those in need. Something we don’t shout about but maybe we should. What we are now left with is a very negative review on TripAdvisor which may put off people with disabilities. Out of pocked for a tour which after no income for 5 months we need to survive, and most importantly to us, team members who have been very hurt by this situation. I would respectfully ask in future you think about how best to approach a situation.
    Written 3 September 2020
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    Sian C
    1 contribution
    3.0 of 5 bubbles
    Aug 2022 • Family
    As windsor residents my children were very excited to go on the duck boat. Found the guide lacked enthusiasm and the information given was scripted like she was just reading off a sheet. Not sure why we needed to hear so much about house prices was expecting a bit more history. I was expecting more and felt disappointed
    Written 3 August 2022
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

    Dawud M
    Stratford City, UK165 contributions
    1.0 of 5 bubbles
    Mar 2020 • Family
    We had booked a family ticket for the Duck Tour Windsor and arrived at the stop in plenty of time. There were other families waiting as well as ourselves.

    By the time came for the tour to have started there was no sign of anyone and no information about the service for that day. After waiting for 15mins we contacted the tour office using the number on the information board at the bus stop.

    We explained that we have been waiting and wanted to know if the tour was running for that day.

    We were told that is was cancelled due to high water levels of the river. But we explained that we did it have any notice of cancellation. Our visit to Windsor was based around the tour and we had been looking forward to it.

    There was no explanation as to why they did not let us, nor let the other families know that the tour was cancelled. We were all very disappointed.

    The phone then went off and we could not get back in touch with them. Then families tried to contact the office but no response.

    We have been trying to contact the office for a refund and after several months no response to any of our calls or emails.

    We will not book again and we would recommend others to consider that if the tour is cancelled for any reason you won’t be told before your booking and you won’t get any joy in trying to get a refund.
    Written 6 March 2020
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Dear Customer, I am so sorry to hear of your experience. Back in December the river went into flood very quickly, which meant we felt it was not safe to run the tour. However, due to an error we made, we failed to let customers know until it was too late. We are only human and errors can happen, we are extremely sorry for this. However we have now put measures into place so this will not happen again. I am hoping you have since got in touch and received a full refund, we would never keep a customers money if we were not able to run the tour. If this is not the case please contact us and we will processes this immediately. Once again I can only apologies for the service you have received. We normally have very high standards of customer service and it appears we have fallen short on this occasion.
    Written 24 July 2020
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    jandav55
    Somersham, UK57 contributions
    1.0 of 5 bubbles
    Nov 2023 • Family
    After reading reviews on line, we decided this would be an ideal way to spend a dull afternoon in Windsor. I booked four adult tickets on line around 10.30am, paid with PayPal and went out for the day. We were actually at the Duck stop on Thames Street when I received a message to say that the tour was cancelled. No reason was given. I rang the contact number on the information board and spoke to a very unhelpful man, who told me there were no tours that day (Sunday 12th Nov) and that I had no booking. I had an authorised PayPal receipt, admittedly no money was taken from my account, but I do not understand how I was able to book this tour when it was not available. The man on the phone was unable to answer my questions as to why this was. Very poor service.
    Written 13 November 2023
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

    Nick B
    Windsor, UK31 contributions
    4.0 of 5 bubbles
    Went on the Swan Splash Tour, which is mostly on the river. A really good fun and very informative way to see Windsor a bit differently, even for locals. Jam packed with local knowledge. Well arranged for COVID.

    Girl, 8: I like how they explained everything and it was nice seeing all the ducks, swans and things. It was really fun and great, the one thing I didn’t like about it was that it was quite cold so put loads of coats on.

    Girl, 5: it was fun. I loved riding on a duck. It was cold.
    Written 5 September 2020
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

    Sam C
    1 contribution
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Sept 2020 • Couples
    Great bit of fun! We went as a couple (26&33 years young) and loved it! Takes you up and down the river as well as past the castle 🏰 learnt something new & well worth the 1 hour ride easy to find and parked 1 minute walk away at the river.

    If you are slightly larger the seats are quite compact but there are 2 x bench type seats at the back of its a full ride.

    Recommend for all ages 👍

    — take some change to leave as a tip! 😊
    Written 27 September 2020
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Thank you for taking the time to review us - we are glad you enjoyed your tour, Quack Quack!
    Written 5 October 2020
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    Ann H
    Winchester, UK7 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Aug 2022
    I cannot recommend this experience highly enough. Our group ranged from a 2.5 year old to a grandad of 76 - and we all thoroughly enjoyed ourselves! The fun of being in an amphibious ‘duck-bus’ was great in itself but the tour guide, aided and abetted by the driver, made the tour exceptional. A brilliant commentary including questions, jokes and information delivered for all ages, enhanced and did not distract from sitting back and looking at the sights.
    Written 27 August 2022
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

    Jac-M
    Brighton, UK7 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Sept 2020
    Lovely unique trip! Best of both worlds as partly road and remainder on the river.
    Great for kids as everyone we passed waved! Duck commander PAUL manoeuvred the vehicle perfectly so we could all get the very best views. The commentary was a combination of facts and humour given very well by a lovely young lady who I hate to admit, I’ve forgotten her name! This is a family business and a wish them all success during COVID-19.
    Well Done!
    Written 5 September 2020
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Thank you for taking the time to review us - we are glad you enjoyed your tour, Quack Quack!
    Written 5 October 2020
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    Sabrina J
    11 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Jul 2022 • Family
    Our favourite bit was when the duck bus drove INTO the Thames with a splash. That was so exciting! We enjoyed the views from the boat around Windsor and Eton, and hearing the funny stories from our tour guide.

    Top tip is to come about 10/15 mins before your journey start time to get your choice of seat.
    Written 22 July 2022
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

    Shan
    1 contribution
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Jul 2022 • Family
    With it being in summer holidays we parked at the Alexandra car park and took a beautiful stroll for just 9 minutes duck stop is easily located with a large visual sign. Took 8 family members In total and we all enjoyed the duck tour my mum was expecting to be going on a “boat trip” for her birthday we didn’t tell her my children choose the duck boat and so glad they did! As we had a lovely time!

    We love a souvenir and which they had something to purchase to remember our trip on the duck boat! Also wish thier was better photo opportunities with it being the only duck tour!

    Would so recommend my 9 and 7 year olds loved it also kept the stroppy 13 year old happy with all the pictures she took for her socials.

    A must do you if in Windsor and wanting something totally different to break up the day!
    Written 28 July 2022
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

    Showing results 1-10 of 825

    Windsor Duck Tour: Bus and Boat Ride provided by Windsor Duck Tours

    All Windsor HotelsWindsor Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Windsor
    All things to do in Windsor
    Spas & Wellness in Windsor
    RestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire