Tours and Tickets
Glenfinnan Viaduct, Glencoe and Fort William Tour from Edinburgh
4.5

Glenfinnan Viaduct, Glencoe and Fort William Tour from Edinburgh

By Timberbush Tours Edinburgh - Day Tours
Recommended by 90% of travellers
90% of reviewers gave this product a bubble rating of 4 or higher.
About
from
£65.00
per adult
Lowest price guaranteeReserve now & pay laterFree cancellation

Ages 4-99, max of 53 per group
Duration: 12h 15m
Start time: Check availability
Mobile ticket
Live guide: English
More
Written guide
Print or digital reading material such as a guide, map, brochure, etc.
: English
More


  • Air-conditioned vehicle
  • All Fees and Taxes
What's not included
  • Food & Drinks
  • Attraction Tickets
  • Gratuities


Start:
  • 521 Lawnmarket, Edinburgh EH1 2PE, UK
    We depart outside the Ensign Ewart Pub.
End:This activity ends back at the meeting point.

    • Service animals allowed
    • Near public transportation
    • Not wheelchair accessible
    If you have questions about accessibility, we’d be happy to help. Just call the number below and reference the product code: 6898P46

    • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
    • Most travellers can participate
    • Minimum age is 4 years old
    • Minimum numbers apply. There is a possibility of cancellation after confirmation if there are not enough passengers to meet requirements. In the event of this occurring, you will be offered an alternative or a full refund.
    • Collapsible wheelchairs with removable wheels can be accommodated providing the passenger is accompanied by someone who can assist them board and disembark the bus.
    • Please arrive a minimum of 15 minutes before your tour's departure time.
    • Digital translations in English, German, French, Italian, Portuguese, Spanish, Russian & Mandarin available on request.
    • This tour will visit the Glenfinnan area and the Glenfinnan Viaduct. Due to an ongoing service interruption, the Jacobite Steam Train will not pass over the viaduct until further notice. Timberbush will continue to monitor the situation and communicate any updates on the service.
    • This experience requires good weather. If it’s cancelled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
    • This experience requires a minimum number of travellers. If it’s cancelled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund
    • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 53 travellers

    • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.

    Which attractions will I visit with Glenfinnan, Glencoe and Fort William Full-Day Tour from Edinburgh?
    How much is Glenfinnan, Glencoe and Fort William Full-Day Tour from Edinburgh?
    Glenfinnan, Glencoe and Fort William Full-Day Tour from Edinburgh price starts from £66.65. Discover and book Glenfinnan, Glencoe and Fort William Full-Day Tour from Edinburgh on Tripadvisor
    What is the Glenfinnan, Glencoe and Fort William Full-Day Tour from Edinburgh cancellation policy?
    Glenfinnan, Glencoe and Fort William Full-Day Tour from Edinburgh cancellation policy: For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience. Discover and book Glenfinnan, Glencoe and Fort William Full-Day Tour from Edinburgh on Tripadvisor
    Which company provides Glenfinnan, Glencoe and Fort William Full-Day Tour from Edinburgh?
    Glenfinnan, Glencoe and Fort William Full-Day Tour from Edinburgh is hosted by Timberbush Tours Edinburgh - Day Tours. Read reviews, discover additonal experiences or contact Timberbush Tours Edinburgh - Day Tours on Tripadvisor. Discover and book Glenfinnan, Glencoe and Fort William Full-Day Tour from Edinburgh on Tripadvisor

    If you have questions about this tour or need help making your booking, we’d be happy to help. Just call the number below and reference the product code: 6898P46

    Reserve your spot
    Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.

    Similar experiences

    Itinerary
    • You'll start at
      521 Lawnmarket
      521 Lawnmarket, Edinburgh EH1 2PE, UK
      We depart outside the Ensign Ewart Pub.
      See address & details
    • 1
      Callander
      Stop: 30 minutes
      See details
      Pass by
      Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
    • 2
      Glencoe
      Stop: 10 minutes
      See details
    • 3
      Fort William
      Stop: 30 minutes
      See details
      Pass by
      Neptune's Staircase
    • 4
      Glenfinnan Viaduct
      Stop: 60 minutes
      See details
    • 5
      Pitlochry
      Stop: 30 minutes
      See details
    • You'll return to the starting point
    About the operator
    Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator:
    • Timberbush Tours Edinburgh - Day Tours
      5,775
      Edinburgh, Scotland
      Joined in April 2009
    • Todd S
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      A worthwhile experience
      It was a small van group of about 14. Eric, our driver, was an exceptionally experienced driver, incredibly knowledgeable, and truly likes people. The sites were great. Personally I would have liked a little more time on the Holy Island, but I understand that schedules must be kept. Could not have asked for a better experience.
      Written 15 April 2024
    • Expedition610942
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Wonderful Day Tour
      We had such a great day on this tour! Beautiful stops and sights with plenty of opportunities to stop and take photos. Sean was great! He was personable and informative. He had great driving skills too!😀 Highly recommend!
      Written 14 April 2024
    • hannahaC8349QS
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Stewart is your man!
      Stewart was amazing and made this experience for myself and my partner! He had great knowledge of the history both architecturally and culturally within Scotland as well as some brilliant recommendations. The tour itself was very informative, interactive and good fun. Would highly recommend this experience to anybody!
      Written 13 April 2024
    • Ruth I
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Great enjoyable day! Highly recommend
      Stevie and Sean went above and beyond to make the best day trip ever. Stevie added extra stops to accommodate the group interests ( the highland caws and forth bridge).
      Written 12 April 2024
    • 797candycep
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Tour of Skye and the Highlands
      Fantastic tour with Dave as a guide: the historical sites, scenery, and recommendations were spot on. Excellent three days of travel on a comfortable bus with two nights nearby accommodations on Skye. Highly recommend.
      Written 10 April 2024
    • NorthStar54543461312
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Isle of Skye, The Highlands & Loch Ness Tour with Iain Buchanan
      My husband and I had a great time on the Isle of Skye, The Highlands & Loch Ness Tour. We were fortunate to have Iain Buchanan as our tour guide and he was absolutely amazing. Iain's passion and extensive knowledge were impressive and his recommendations on the best places to see and visit were very helpful. I have traveled extensively and I can confidently say that Iain is one of the best tour guides I have ever had. Thank you so much, Iain, for everything!
      Written 10 April 2024
    • janecbowyer2
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Bucket list ticked and then some!
      Bucket list trip for James Bond’s daughter!Pete, the Hairy Coos coach driver/guide was the highlight of a memorable day! I was the woman heckler on the long coach journey and we had banter all the way there and back. The sunshine was glorious during a dreich week of April showers, sideways gales, floods, the lot! The scenery was breathtaking and the fact that I visited the location of Skyfall filming and Harry Potter filming made it poignant. Tears flowed when we disembarked at Glencoe, the valley of tears! Happy tears! Pete was willing to take photos and selfies! We saw mountains, hills, glens, waterfalls and lakes! We missed out on the purple heather of the summer, but that was the only thing that we didn’t experience. I saw Nessie on the Loch, even. Or did I? You’ll never know! Don’t miss it! Delicious Aran traditional ice cream in Pitlochry and a visit to the hairy coos themselves on the way back to Edinburgh kept the momentum of the day going. Also, returning via the Firth bridges was terrific! Literally up there as one of the best days of my life! I was alone, but welcomed by my travelling companions! I have confidence to travel solo many more times on coach trips now. A thousand thank you’s to the mighty Pete, the average height Scotsman with excellent driving skills and self deprecation/humour/funny personal stories and historical knowledge. What a guy!
      Written 9 April 2024
    • Rachel S
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Brian is the best guide!
      This was the highlight of our tour. Breathtaking views. And an excellent tour guide in Brian who was extremely knowledgeable and fun to be around. Thank you for the conversation and good music!
      Written 7 April 2024
    • Summer S
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Wonderful Tour
      Martin was an excellent tour guide! We are so glad we booked this experience! Highly recommend! Scotland is such a beautiful country!
      Written 7 April 2024
    • L1895BWannec
      0 contributions
      2.0 of 5 bubbles
      Lucky made the difference
      trip made us carsick. Lucky our driver/tour guide was hreat and funny! time spent on each location isnt enough. all in all, not worth money spent
      Written 5 April 2024
    • Nomad11028943862
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Great Tour
      Love the tour. Our Guide Andrew J. Is very funny and he knows al about the spots we visited, and the history of Scotland. It was a pleasure to be on this tour
      Written 2 April 2024
    • F3259PTheathert
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Higlands
      Our tour guide Andrew J.was the best! Engaging and entertaining. Extremely knowledgeable of the areas and history! Great tour with Andrew J. I would book another tour with him in the future.
      Written 1 April 2024
    • Emily T
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      THE BEST!!!
      Our tour guide Andrew J was absolutely amazing and so friendly! He knew the ins and outs of Scotland and I learned so much!! I had an absolute blast and it was all because of Andrew J! I would definitely recommend!
      Written 1 April 2024
    • simonwalton1954
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Loch Lomand and Stirling Castle and The Kelpies
      Whilst on a 5-day short hoilday in Edinburgh, my wife and I went on this Day Tour in the company of Timberbush's driver/guide Philip. We both enjoyed the "drich" day (damp) which was also very cold.... but I have to say that our driver/guide Philip was an absolute gem of a driver/guide on the day. His Scottish history of all things Bruce/Wallace and James/Mary Tudor etc was first class and kept us all entertained with a combination of fact and story-telling and humour. Treasure him very carefully! The tour itself covered a lot of ground but the weather conditions on the day did not produce too many panoramic views etc ... but being from Ireland we know the feeling and conditions only too well... especially in March. All in all, a great tour with a great driver/guide... if in Edinburgh again, we will certainly look at booking another tour with Timberbush...
      Written 30 March 2024
    • T919ZMangelicag
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Scottish Highlands Escapade
      It was a long haul trip but worth it. I went to Glencoe and Scottish highlands twice in different weather which brought me a different vives in just 2 consecutive days,l. Our toyr guide named Adam was very knowledgeable about Scottish history, his sarcastic jokes and above all, I'm quite impressed by his English speaking skills as I can't help but to reminisce my English exam review days. Hence, he also take us a chance to play our requested songs during our trip back to Edinburgh. So keep it up, Adam. I highly recommend Timberbush tours coz their cusyomer service and safety is their utmost priority.
      Written 30 March 2024
    See all 5 reviews
    These reviews are the subjective opinions of Tripadvisor members and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

    Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

    Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as waiting time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.

    Popular mentions

    We perform checks on reviews.
    Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
    Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
    When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
    Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
    Learn more about our review moderation.
    4.5
    4.5 of 5 bubbles291 reviews
    Excellent
    227
    Very good
    35
    Average
    10
    Poor
    15
    Terrible
    4

    Kay S
    Duluth, GA7 contributions
    2.0 of 5 bubbles
    Jul 2023 • Family
    Bus broke down: windshield wipers quit working; bus was making noise all morning-ran out of coolant when we stopped for lunch leaving us stranded for 4 hours. Timberbush Tours finally purchased train tickets to get us back to Edinburgh and refunded us the tour costs. We only experienced half of the tour and missed seeing the train-very disappointing. Very negligent on Timberbush to not keep the bus properly maintained. If we’d run out of coolant while driving we could’ve been in an accident or killed. I highly recommend you have backup plans in place if a situation occurs instead of leaving the bus driver with no information of what action will be taken to resolve the situation. Poor Ben was being hounded for hours by all of us wanting to know what was going to happen.

    On a positive note, Ben was an outstanding tour guide and bus driver. His knowledge and stories made for a fun morning. He navigated us safely without windshield wipers working while it was raining pretty hard. Thank you Ben for keeping us safe. In fact, Ben is the only reason I didn't give this a 1 star review.

    A shout out to Smiddys who had the best scone I've ever eaten.

    I cannot recommend Timberbush Tours.
    Written 6 August 2023
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Dear kaysM9058RR, We truly appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent experience with us. We extend our sincerest apologies for the inconveniences you encountered during the tour. The breakdown of the bus and the subsequent disruptions are certainly not reflective of the level of service we aim to provide. We are pleased to hear that Ben's dedication and professionalism were a positive highlight of your experience. We do maintain our coaches more thoroughly than required by law, but sometimes breakdowns unfortunately still happen out with our control. Best regards, Lisa
    Written 10 August 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    Bray F
    1 contribution
    2.0 of 5 bubbles
    Sept 2022 • Couples
    Please for the love of god stop at the places for longer. There is no reason to drive an extra hour to mallaig to only stay there for thirty minutes! You can’t even sit down for lunch! And then you backtrack all the way to the whole point of the tour which is the Harry Potter train. Also we didn’t even get enough time at our breakfast stop to get food, since this and four other tours dropped off 150 people at the same tiny cafe. The cherry on the cake is when we stopped for 10 minutes at a random dam instead of spending that ten minutes on one of the nice towns where that time could’ve been used! The tour guide was good but this trip is flawed because of the itinerary, it is stretched way too thin for time. Remove the mallaig stop and save the time for another town and it would be way better!
    Written 20 September 2022
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Hi there, I'm sorry to hear that you felt like the time could have been better managed on your tour. As this is a tour that has to arrive at Glenfinnan for a certain time to see the train, we have to be very careful with timings, we also don't want to be out for too long as that would be too tiring for both you and our guides. As for the food situation, we do always advise to bring a packed lunch or snacks, especially as now during the busier seasons the stops can get very busy and we can't guarantee you'll be able to get food at the stops. We will however take on your feedback, and I'm glad that you enjoyed the guide that you had and do hope you still got to appreciate the beautiful highland scenery. All the best, David
    Written 22 September 2022
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    Yusuf
    Ankara, Türkiye4 contributions
    2.0 of 5 bubbles
    May 2022
    We have attended a 1-day Glencoe Mallaig Glenfinnan highland tour that promotes visiting the famous Glenfinnan Viaduct that the Jacobite train passes by. At first, everything was good, the vehicle, driver, and the guide is cool. But the tour itself is problematic. We could only see most of the places by the bus window passing by. Breaks were too short that we had to decide between using the restroom and seeing the good place we stopped. I was still ok if we get to take pictures of the famous bridge and the train on it. When we stopped there our guide said you had 15 min to catch the train and another 15 min to go back to the bus. In total, we had approximately 30-40 min to walk to the bridge take pictures and return. Of course, it was impossible and everyone decided to see the train from a higher point than where we parked the bus. We waited there for almost an hour and there was no train. The view was nothing to mention. Just the wrong angle of the bridge with a long distance. Our guide did not pick us up even if we are late. If he gave us the hour we already waited, everyone would go to the hills with a better view so we can at least see the viaduct fully and close by. Rain and freezing cold started and we had to go back to the bus where we get a simple apology. Everyone was disappointed. There were even kids with all the Hogwarts and Harry Potter staff. We only get to see some of the scenes from the window of the bus. I personally could not see the lake and monument at the same location while waiting for the train. For a 12 hours tour having only 2 hours of free time was problematic. We had all the rush to eat and use the restroom and could not see the actual nature by walking. The bus view was really good but not enough. In total it was not what we paid for. 12 hours of bus journey and Scottish history stories it should be.
    Written 16 May 2022
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Hi there, I'm sorry to hear that you were disappointed with our Glencoe tour. As a tour that has to cover such a large distance in just one day, we try to ensure that the stops are well timed and that there are enough of them - I'm sorry to hear that for you this wasn't the case. As we time our tour to link up with the train, there is always the chance that the train might be experiencing delays, or there was traffic on our end, and we don't quite make the train which is of course really disappointing. I hope you were still able to enjoy some of the beautiful scenery up there but I'm sorry that you were disappointed with the rest of the tour. All the best, David
    Written 12 July 2022
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    Violeta T
    2 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Feb 2023
    When I was looking for a day trip, I wasn't very sure about the Glenfinnan direction. But I am so happy I selected this and also Timberbush Tours.
    First of all, I would like to thank our wonderful guide Fraser, who made our journey so interesting and comfortable. The diction was perfect, even my little one (5,5 years old) could understand everything which is amazing, as English is not our native language. Stories were very informative but not encyclopedia like, as it sometimes happens with other guides. Along the way we had a curated soundtrack which was well thought off and not too loud or tiring.
    There were also small details that shown the tour was handled by professionals: we were the first buss everywhere, meaning we didn't have to wait in queues for a toilet or a coffee. We were seeing four or five buses coming after us, and people having to wait in line for everything. Stops were perfect length to get what you need (breakfast, lunch, photos) and the time flew by. We were traveling with full family (small kid, teen and an adult son with his girlfriend ) and everyone said that the trip over exceeded any of our expectations. Thank you Timberbush Tours Edinburgh!
    Written 18 February 2023
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Hi there, thank you for your lovely review. I'm pleased to hear that you had a perfect trip with Fraser who made the journey so interesting and comfortable. I’m glad you liked the stops and the times. Hopefully we will see you again soon! All the best, Aleix
    Written 25 February 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    TravelingIreland7
    Chapel Hill, NC16 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    My Aunt and I took this tour on a weekend trip to Edinburg and I’m so very glad we did! Our tour guide was Paul “Santa” and he was absolutely amazing! He was kind, funny, knowledgeable and made everyone feel right at home. He has a magical quality of making every single person in the tour feel seen and like a VIP! Our driver Adam was an absolute expert in driving our rather large tour bus around bendy and narrow roads. Paul’s heartfelt love of Scotland shined through with each story he told about all the different sights we saw. We stopped several places for beautiful photo opportunities, but my favorite stop was an hour we spent at Glenfinnan. There is a gift shop and restrooms and of course the spectacular natural beauty we saw will stay with me forever. Having a full hour to explore the land and time to rest and breathe and take in the Scottish countryside was the highlight of my trip to Scotland. I would certainly recommend this to anyone wanting to see more of Scotland than the big, beautiful city.
    Written 21 May 2023
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Thank you for your review! We are very happy to hear that you had a great time on our Glenfinnan tour with Paul and enjoyed his commentary. We will be sure to inform him and Adam of your kind feedback. We agree, this tour is a great way to see some magic locations, even for those who haven’t seen them used in Films! I'm glad you enjoyed the tours and hopefully we will see you again on another tour soon. Kind regards, Amy
    Written 7 September 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    Hannah
    1 contribution
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Jul 2022 • Family
    I highly recommend the Glenfinnan, Mallaig & Glencoe adventure! It was an awesome tour and we will surely come again! Honestly I didn’t believe that such a long bus ride could be that entertaining - it never got boring. Our driver John H. and our guide Paul E. were fantastic! Thank you for the laugh, pleasant atmosphere and interesting knowledge on many different subjects (and especially for the musical insert of Frozen!) Paul was truly the best tour guides I've ever had! He was professional, enthusiastic, funny and truly passionate about Scotland. He played suitable scotish music during the tour and told humorous anecdotes and jokes. John made fitting breaks for a little movement, photography and sightseeing in the region! It was truly a great experience on our trip and would definitely recommend!
    #BesttourguideinScotland
    Written 4 July 2022
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Hi there, thank you for your review! It's great to hear that even on one of our longer tours like Glenfinnan, John and Paul made sure it was entertaining the whole way and that it was full of knowledge, anecdotes and music. I hope you got some fab photos as it's beautiful up there, and hopefully we will see you again some day soon! All the best, David
    Written 5 July 2022
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    Margaret D
    1 contribution
    2.0 of 5 bubbles
    Aug 2023 • Family
    The tour guide was very good He gave a good history and told stories. He was very enjoyable. The rest of the tour was not. The bus was very uncomfortable. The seats were narrow and there was not enough space between the seats and I am only feet four inches. It was a 12 hour trip and we picked a larger bus for comfort. This bus was horrible. Additionally the tour guide asked us to be timely at each stop so we would make it to see the train go iver the bridge at 1:40. At four of the stops we were all sitting waiting for the driver and at the fifth stop he was there but chatting with the passengers so we also had to wait. It was ridiculous. Because if this the tour guide made the decision to not visit fort William but to stop at a shop and restaurant we had brought our lunch as the tour recommended but there was no place to eat it. We had to stand outside in the rain. Each major stop was similar with a shop and food and bathrooms. I was looking forward to the stop at pitlochry because I had heard there was shopping and was a cute town. We had to pay to use the bathroom and there was nothing open in the town. We got there shortly after 5 pm. All the stores were closed. Only the ice cream shop was open. I really don’t know why the tour stopped there. The scenery of the highlands was gorgeous but the trip to get there was horrible and the stops not great. I don’t recommend
    Written 1 September 2023
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Dear margaretdP5369HV, Thank you for sharing your feedback about your Glenfinnan, Glencoe and Fort William tour. We are pleased to hear that the driver-guide was very enjoyable giving good history and telling stories and that you enjoyed the viewings. We apologies for the discomfort you experienced during the tour. Our seats are an industry standard size. We are sorry to hear that an inconvenience was caused by the timing adjustments made to accommodate some guests. The Glenfinnan tour is a very long tour and unfortunately, there is only a short amount of time available at each location due to the sheer distance that needs to be covered to get to Glenfinnan and back in one day. As this tour covers so much of Scotland in one day the rest stops, like Pitlochry, are essential. It gives both the passengers and the driver an essential toilet and food break. I'm sorry that you felt they were no great, as you can imagine option in the highlands are quite limited. We've taken on your feedback about the rest areas available on the tour. Thank you again for sharing valuable feedback with us. Kind regards, Aleix
    Written 14 September 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    Arthur Boon
    1 contribution
    4.0 of 5 bubbles
    Apr 2022
    It was Great! (insert Scottish accent),

    For those who have limited time in Scotland and want to see the most possible, Go on this tour!

    I'm not much of an advocate for tours as I usually prefer wandering around and finding things organically. However, this tour does a good job of taking you around and seeing a good portion of the highlands you would otherwise not be able to do in such a short time.

    Andrew, our guide, was very informative and he is clearly passionate about what he does. I don't think I would have learned half of the facts he was telling us on my own. And for you photo mongers out there, be sure to ask him where is a good angle to get a picture on your next stop. He will have recommendations.

    I did also make a quick calculation on the costing and it is very worth it. If you were to do this trip on your own, you would spend roughly double the cost on petrol and a car rental alone. Not to mention the time savings from not getting lost in the highlands as GPS would constantly drop due to lack of signal in some areas.

    My only criticism would be the Mallaig portion of the trip which was lunchtime. I felt it didn't have much of a point apart from being a stop for the driver to have a very well-deserved rest. Bryan was a spectacular driver! he saved us from other idiot drivers quite a few times.

    To conclude, if you limited time to see Scotland and the highlands, in particular, do this tour. It is a quintessential overview of what the highlands have to offer.
    Written 5 April 2022
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Hi there, thank you for your review! As someone who isn't normally an advocate for tours, it's really lovely that you would still recommend ours. It's great that you were able to learn so much from Andrew while he was at the wheel, all while taking in the beautiful scenery of the Highlands. We definitely think it's worth while when you factor in all the costs, so I'm glad you noticed this too! We will definitely take your feedback on board about the stop in Mallaig, but like you mentioned, it is really needed to give our driver-guides the rest they deserve, and it is very pretty which is always a bonus. Best wishes, David
    Written 12 April 2022
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    Joan H
    Denver, CO6 contributions
    2.0 of 5 bubbles
    Oct 2023 • Family
    The driver and the tour guide David on the bus were both very good. Our disappointment came from the fact that after we had pre-paid over $80 per person for this tour, we had just gotten on the bus early in the morning and were told (as the brochure says) we would not be seeing the "highlight of our day, the Glenfinnan Viaduct" in time to see the Harry Potter train cross the bridge. The main reason we picked this tour was to have that experience and we learned later from the train schedule that the tour had to know we would not make it to the Viaduct in time to see the train. The advertising in the brochure is very misleading. We wrote a review and sent an email directly to Timberbush after the trip and asked for a partial refund but they have never responded, even to say no and to apologize. Very disappointing.
    Written 7 November 2023
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Hi 37joanh, Thank you for sharing your feedback on the Glenfinnan, Glencoe and Fort William Full-Day Tour from Edinburgh. I'm sorry to hear you were disappointed in the tour. It does say that in the brochure, but it is also very clearly stated on the same page in the brochure that “the Jacobite Steam Train runs from the 1st May to 29th September 2023”. I see that your tour was on October 13th, so the train was not running at that time. Usually our tour follows a schedule so passengers will be able to see the train, however during the time that the train is not running the tour is a bit more leisurely without having to get to the Glenfinnan Viaduct for a specific time. It is also stated on our website that it is never guaranteed that you will be able to see the train pass over the viaduct as it is run by a different company and their schedule can change without notice. I've had a look in our inbox and can see that we did respond to your email with a fully detailed response on the 21st of October, the same day that you sent it in to us. I do hope you enjoyed seeing some of the best parts of Scotland and will visit our beautiful country again. Best wishes, Jodie
    Written 10 November 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    Mathilde A
    10 contributions
    2.0 of 5 bubbles
    Jul 2023
    Despite the guide's best efforts, I could not recommend this tour to anyone.
    First of all, it's a big bus and it's packed full - I'd say we were about fifty on this tour.
    Secondly, It's a lot of seating for very little experiencing Scotland. The two scenic stops we did were beautiful but we bypassed a lot of other places that looked exceptional where we couldn't stop because of schedule.
    Thirdly, and my biggest disappointment, the lunch stop at what was essentially a gift shop with a road-side restaurant attached to it. There were a gigantic queue that day because of other tours. I had to rush to a costa cafe nearby for lunch - not very local. The last stop at Pitlochry was the worst, it's a single road village full of all the other tour's tourists, with only gifts shops to see.
    The Glenfinnan train didn't come by that day, which is no fault of Timberbush or the guide (who didn't even know, we had to tell her). But you have to know that if you go for that view specifically, you risk a lot of disappointment.
    My only enjoyment that day was the Canadian guide, Charlotte, who gave us beautiful poems, stories and songs (and what a voice!). It was difficult for her to keep everyone's attention because again, we were many, many tourists packed in this bus, but she did the best she could given the circumstances. Big thanks as well to Stuart H for driving us so far and wide without a hitch.
    Overall, I believe Timberbush should think a little less about profit and more about offering a great experience. This was not it.
    Written 24 July 2023
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    We appreciate you taking the time to review us. It is unfortunate that you did not enjoy much of your Glenfinnan, Glencoe and Fort William tour, but we are glad to hear that Charlotte and Stuart made such a positive impact on your visit. Our coach sizes change depending on the tour’s popularity and the buses that we have available for the day. For this reason, we can never guarantee what the size of the bus will be on any given day. The tour still follows the same schedule with the same amount of stops so as to give all passengers the same experience no matter the size of the bus. We understand that a lot of time is spent on the bus, but as you will be aware, it takes quite a while to travel across the highlands. For this reason, we make sure to make a lot of stops along the way for passengers to be able to stretch their legs and experience the scenery. There is a lot to see in the highlands, so we are not able to stop everywhere and we need to make some stops shorter than others. We try to make as many extra stops as possible when time permits, but we also have to take into account safety when it comes to the small roads of the highlands and make sure we stop in areas that are not dangerous to do so. There is a lot that we take into account when choosing locations for stops, such as the scenery, the location’s capability of accommodating large groups of people, options for food, toilets, and space for bus parking. Unfortunately, the main locations that visitors want to see when coming to Scotland have become quite touristy areas. As the Jacobite steam train is operated by a separate company, we can never guarantee seeing it pass over the viaduct. We are very rarely informed if the train schedule is running behind or been cancelled. For this reason, we make it very clear on our booking page that the Glenfinnan Viaduct itself is the main attraction, and not the steam train. We hope that despite these concerns, you were still able to enjoy the beauty of Scotland and get a feel of the country. Kind regards, Alex
    Written 15 October 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    Showing results 1-10 of 251

    Glenfinnan Viaduct, Glencoe and Fort William Tour from Edinburgh provided by Timberbush Tours Edinburgh - Day Tours

    All Edinburgh HotelsEdinburgh Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Edinburgh
    All things to do in Edinburgh
    Day Trips in Edinburgh
    RestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire