Tours and Tickets
Normandy D-Day Beaches and American Cemetery Day Trip from Paris
4.5

Normandy D-Day Beaches and American Cemetery Day Trip from Paris

By Paris City Vision
About
If you’re interested in World War II history, don’t let limited time in Paris stop you from visiting the Normandy D-Day battlefields and beaches. On this guided tour from Paris, visit the Longues-sur-Mer Battery, the American Military Cemetery, and Omaha Beach. Entrance fees are included to save you the hassle of planning out all the details. Upgrade to a small-group tour for a more personalized experience plus lunch.
from
£136.27
per adult
Lowest price guaranteeReserve now & pay laterFree cancellation

Ages 0-99, max of 45 per group
Duration: 13h
Start time: Check availability
Mobile ticket
Live guide: English
More

Highlights
  • Hassle-free day trip to Normandy's WWII D-Day sites from Paris
  • Travel easily from site to site by air-conditioned coach
  • Visit several key locations, more than you could if you went alone
  • Explore with a guide for an in-depth perspective on the landings and sites 

  • Round-trip transportation by luxury air-conditioned coach from Paris
  • Service of a Normandy D-Day expert licensed guide
  • Visit of the American Cemetery.
  • Stop at Arromanches with free time for lunch
  • Photo-stop at Omaha Beach.
  • The itinerary and times may be subject to change depending on traffic conditions or changes in site
  • Entry/Admission - Cimetière Américain de Colleville-sur-Mer
What's not included
  • Gratuities
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off
  • Lunch

Your tour begins at a central meeting point in central Paris. From your starting point, travel through the French countryside before arriving at Omaha Beach, a memorial of one of the most famous D-Day landings and explore its museum. Head to the American Military Cemetery to pay your respects to more than 10,000 fallen American soldiers. Then visit the Longues-sur-Mer to see one of the German fortifications. Your final stop is either Juno Beach Center, the only memorial dedicated to Canadian soldiers, or Arromanches, to see the artificial harbor built by allied forces, before returning to Paris.

Start:
  • 22 Rue Jean Rey, 75015 Paris, France
    **UNTIL JULY 18th** Meeting time 30 minutes prior to the departure, in front of the HOTEL PULLMAN PARIS TOUR EIFFEL 18 avenue de Suffren, 75015 Paris - Meeting point 22 Rue Jean Rey with our representative with a Paris City Vision sign, outside the hotel.
End:This activity ends back at the meeting point.

    • Not wheelchair accessible
    • Pushchair accessible
    • Near public transportation
    If you have questions about accessibility, we’d be happy to help. Just call the number below and reference the product code: 2050NP

    • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
    • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
    • Travellers should have a moderate physical fitness level
    • The coach journey from Paris to Normandy takes approximately 3 - 4 hours and you will spend 5 hours in Normandy itself
    • Toilets are available at the American Cementery, Juno Beach Center, at the comfort stop
    • A warm coat is recommended during the winter period, a raincoat during the summer and a good pair of walking / flat shoes are suggested to avoid discomfort
    • The itinerary and times may be subject to change depending on traffic conditions or changes in site
    • Please note that during the Olympic Games, and ONLY from July 19th to September 8th 2024, your tour will have a different meeting point. Please check the redemption instructions on your voucher for more information
    • The itinerary and times may be subject to change depending on traffic conditions or changes in site
    • This experience requires good weather. If it’s cancelled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
    • This experience requires a minimum number of travellers. If it’s cancelled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund
    • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 45 travellers

    • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.

    The tour operator has provided the following answers to customers’ questions.
    How can I let you know where to pick me up?
    We offer pick ups from most hotels within Paris (ZIP code has to start with 75). Pick up must be arranged 48 hours prior to departure, after this timedeparture will be set from our agency at 2 rue des Pyramides, 75001 PARIS - Metro Pyramides or Tuilerie. You can let us know where you are staying in the 'Special Requirements' box in the Traveler Details section during checkout. Or you can let us know after booking by visiting 'Manage my Booking' and emailing us there.
    Answered Jul 2019

    If you have questions about this tour or need help making your booking, we’d be happy to help. Just call the number below and reference the product code: 2050NP

    Reserve your spot
    Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.

    Similar experiences

    Itinerary
    • 22 Rue Jean Rey, 75015 Paris, France
      **UNTIL JULY 18th** Meeting time 30 minutes prior to the departure, in front of the HOTEL PULLMAN PARIS TOUR EIFFEL 18 avenue de Suffren, 75015 Paris - Meeting point 22 Rue Jean Rey with our representative with a Paris City Vision sign, outside the hotel.
    • Pass by
      Normandy
    • 1
    • 2
    • 3
    • 4
    • 5
    About the operator
    Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator:
    • Paris City Vision
      11,971
      France
      Joined in July 2007
    • tim f
      0 contributions
      1.0 of 5 bubbles
      Extremely disappointed with this tour company !!
      We booked a 4 hr ( half day) guided tour of Versailles palace/gardens etc from Versailles ( without transportation). We were extremely disappointed as this is NOT what it turned out to be!! BE AWARE: it is only a 1 hr guided tour of the palace and the remainder 3 hrs is you being left on your own to “ discover” the rest of Versailles!! It was a total let down. We called Paris City Vision to ask for a refund but we were told that our interpretation of a half day guided tour was very different from theirs and that this was indeed the your- this was a surprise for us. We paid $166 US for 2 for the tour!! Definitely a rip- off!! Would not recommend -ever!
      Written 22 May 2024
    • Michele B
      0 contributions
      4.0 of 5 bubbles
      Crowded- Great Tour guide.
      The Tour was very insightful and educational because we had an excellent guide. Both however were very crowded making it overwhelming and not easy to experience the fullness of each place. The experience without a tour guide is really not worth the trip.
      Written 22 May 2024
    • PhilP104
      0 contributions
      1.0 of 5 bubbles
      TOTAL FAIL
      TOTOL FAIL..Very cramped bus seats. Knowledgable but cold guide. He arrived 30 minutes late due to "car trouble". Cracked front bus windsheild, but the topper was when an emergency exit skylight in rhe bus exploded. No problem, after a 45 minute delay, drive on with the rain dropping in to the bus. No apologies at all...
      Written 20 May 2024
    • J705HCsamuels
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Great tour
      Wonderful tour that explained a number of the plants and trees, the planning of the garden, and a bit about Monet's life at Giverney. Out guide, Brigitte, was excellent.
      Written 15 May 2024
    • Roam728673
      0 contributions
      3.0 of 5 bubbles
      Malfunctioning microphone spoiled my experience
      The Monet Gardens are all you can ask for. I rated the whole experience 3 because our tour guide’s microphone wouldn’t function. As a result half the group fortunate enough to have internet cell connections on their mobile phones scanned a QR code and went off on their own. The remaining half either 1) stayed with the guide, who took us very slowly around the gardens, or 2) got separated from the guide due to the massive crowd. My travel companion was one of those who got separated. She went first to the house then the garden but would have liked a commentary. I stayed with the guide and never got to see the house as, by then the line for the house was an hour wait and we were out of time. I would still suggest an organised tour because they can bypass the long ticket line. But once inside it would be better to have ear buds with a recorder so you can go faster, bypassing parts you may not be interested in.
      Written 14 May 2024
    • 659leannec
      0 contributions
      3.0 of 5 bubbles
      Ok but not great
      Very touristy and rushed . Garden worth seeing and house ok. No time for Impressionist Gallery nearby which was very disappointing
      Written 14 May 2024
    • BarbaraB8
      0 contributions
      4.0 of 5 bubbles
      Nice Evening
      The river cruise was nice, the views are great from the water. The food was good, not great but better than expected. We got some nice photos from the onboard photographer.
      Written 13 May 2024
    • yvonnel323
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Loved it.
      Loved it. Very crowded but the earphones helped make it more intimate. Guides was wonderful and the ladies who we met with gracious.
      Written 13 May 2024
    • Jonathan-adventures1
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      amazing show
      I HAVE THE BEST SHOW I EXPERIENCE IN MY LIFE! Moulin Rouge show was a ROCK STAR!!! I enjoy the performance and songs. The dancers were very talent and unique movement to watch. Woah their costume was super awesome and very fashion. The long is very long and you should get there 1 hour before the show start. There is over 900 people attend for each shows. IT was totally worth it to go to show and pay over 120 Euro. I purchase my ticket like over 2 months ago. This show is SELLOUT!! Trust me it is totally worth it and No REGRET. I know it was raining but it would been nice tour guide was outside by sign. Instead I have to wait for 20 minutes in cold and rain. I wasn't impressive. also, I didn't think tour guide wasn't professional and I ask him repeat nicely. he get kind of upset he need to repeat.
      Written 11 May 2024
    • tanyaburgwin2018
      0 contributions
      1.0 of 5 bubbles
      IF YOU DO NOT WANT TO LOSE YOUR MONEY-SKIP BOOKING WITH VIATOR.COM
      We strongly advise against using this website. Despite making a provisional booking for a tour to the Louvre, they charged our credit card €79.80 without our authorization, two days prior to the scheduled tour. Upon discovering that the tour only costs €17 per person, we attempted to cancel over 24 hours in advance, but received no response from the company, even via WhatsApp, which appeared to be a Turkish number. As they have refused to issue a refund, we have been compelled to initiate a dispute via PayPal. This behavior is deceptive and does not reflect a reputable service.
      Written 11 May 2024
    • candalenam
      0 contributions
      1.0 of 5 bubbles
      Horrible tour in every aspect.
      If you think this tour will be pleasant, think again. They shouldn’t even sell day tickets if they can’t even expedite you to the Abbey entrance. Many ppl on our tour could not even go bc the walk or shuttle was too long. I would never do a 1 day again using a bus tour, especially with this company. It was a waste of money especially when you can metro there for cheap and tour at your leisure. 1. Driver didn’t have key for bus bathroom 2. We arrived an hour late for a 4 hr tour 3. Traffic was too thick to access parking, we were dropped 15 min walk from shuttle. 4. Guide walked us to shuttle and left us to either shuttle (100’s of ppl in line) or walk 45 min. He did not assist from there. 5. We walked then waited another hour to enter. 6. We rushed through in 30 min. So we didn’t miss the bus back. 7. No time for drinks, food or restroom 8. 15,000 steps in 3 hours at 80° temps. 9. Tour guide inexperienced and didn’t seem to care. He may have said 20 sentences the entire 14 hour day.
      Written 10 May 2024
    • loritK7329OL
      0 contributions
      2.0 of 5 bubbles
      Not worth the price
      The food was not that good. Good presentation. The champagne I felt was cheap as it gave my husband and I both a headache which pretty much ruined the rest of the evening for us. We paid for window seats and also it had a glass roof. It was a beautiful day but the sun baked us through the widows and the windows do not open for cooling or fresh air, there’s no A/C that we felt. I felt rushed the whole time. They only asked us once for drinks with the initial order, and didn’t even ask my husband, just walked away when I gave him mine. At the end gave us the check and actually asked us to tip them. We do lots of dinner cruises, and this one was a little disappointing. I’m sure there are worse dinner cruises out there, but it was not worth the $300 we paid.
      Written 10 May 2024
    • jeffreyhA647YQ
      0 contributions
      3.0 of 5 bubbles
      Crowds at Versailles
      It was way too crowded for our liking. The fact that we had a cold and rainy day did not help either. Would probably be better on a warm sunny day, but the crowds would still be a problem. I don't remember her name, but our tour guide was good.
      Written 9 May 2024
    • wendyfY8640ED
      0 contributions
      1.0 of 5 bubbles
      Terrible
      Terrible tour. Your guide Sorena was so unprepared. Could not organise the tickets to enter and were left outside for half an hour while she tried to work out the correct number of tickets for our group. When we finally got inside she disappeared again for another half an hour to find two tickets she still had miscalculated. We missed parts of the palace as she was then rushing and didn’t have time to see the gardens which we had tickets to. She told the group three different meeting places at the end of the tour leaving some people distressed as they were missing their group friends and could not get back in to find them. Sorena then could not account for the audio guide boxes and messaged us after the tour to question if we had returned ours. Very disappointing. Do not use this company!
      Written 7 May 2024
    • Jerome H
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Host Monty 5*
      Our Host Monty was a really good host, he was very friendly had great facts and was very attentive to all of the guests he was guiding to the Mona Lisa. Great asset to your team!
      Written 6 May 2024
    See all 11 reviews
    These reviews are the subjective opinions of Tripadvisor members and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

    Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

    Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as waiting time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.

    Popular mentions

    We perform checks on reviews.
    Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
    Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
    When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
    Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
    Learn more about our review moderation.
    4.5
    4.5 of 5 bubbles230 reviews
    Excellent
    155
    Very good
    39
    Average
    19
    Poor
    8
    Terrible
    9

    mabelline175
    Nashville, TN1 contribution
    3.0 of 5 bubbles
    Feb 2020 • Couples
    Before I say this, I believe it’s important to note that I have traveled across three continents, studied multiple languages, and worked for global companies that required the ability to communicate with those whose primary language is not English.

    When I read reviews that it was difficult to understand the guide, I assumed those people were a minority (and that I would have no problem). I was wrong.

    We could tell she was very knowledgeable, and I respect that she spoke French, English, and German. But the only times I could understand clearly were when I could watch her mouth move as she spoke. This was not possible on the bus, or in most cases on the tour, as the group was large. My husband and I would both listen intently, then look at each other and repeat what we thought we heard - many times totally different from each other. This bothered me, as we’d hoped to absorb a good bit of knowledge from the guide on a 12+ hour trip.

    I would recommend the trip if you’re hoping to visit Omaha Beach, but only if you watch a documentary on D-Day before so you know what you’re seeing and can enjoy the trip to the fullest.
    Written 24 February 2020
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Dear Mabel S, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. Then we apologize for the inconvenience caused. Also we are sorry to read that you did not totally enjoy your D-DAY experience and we are extremly surprised to read that you couldn't understand your guide during the visit. If you remember her name don't hesitate to send it to us at feedback@pariscityvision.com Nevertheless we will share your review with the department concerned and will make sure that this situation never happen again. We understand your disappointment and we are sorry again for the issue met. Best regards, Thalia
    Written 27 February 2020
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    Houses12
    Robertson, Australia95 contributions
    3.0 of 5 bubbles
    Nov 2022
    A long day ( 7am start, delayed by late arrivals) with heavy emphasis on the USA involvement, understandably, guide appeared new to the experience & was not clear on what we would actually visit. Issues with the bus as well as delays by late returning participants meant we returned to Paris at 9pm! Arromanches-les-Bains was the lunch stop but with very few choices, mostly closed for the late autumn/winter. Still Le Hotel du Normandie did a great job feeding us all very promptly. ( not included in the cost of the tour) over an hour & a half at the American cemetery due to late returners…seemed to happen at every stop! No time for any museum visits although plenty of opportunities to buy souvenirs etc…all in all a reasonable days activity for the price although we paid a premium for a small group ( up to 15) but we’re on a large coach with at least 20 others so do not pay the extra! Omaha beach itself has a couple of monuments but is pretty sparse with any memorials on the beach. Last stop was Juno beach where the Canadians landed, more memorabilia with weapons, bunkers as well as a museum….no time/ opportunity to actually go inside. Overall a bit disappointing as well as a few inconsiderate passengers.
    Written 18 November 2022
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

    Michelle S
    Chicago, IL1 contribution
    1.0 of 5 bubbles
    Jan 2020 • Family
    I tried too cancel because the weather was bad. I was at the 23 hour mark and they would not let me cancel. The rep assured me the weather would clear up and rain would be minimal. It rained all day! It was cold windy and muddy. The tour guide while nice was difficult too understand. He also skipped a few stops because of the weather. You would be better off taking the train or renting a car and traveling with your family. Easy drive and everything is in English anyway.
    DO NOT RECOMMEND THIS TRIP!
    Written 13 January 2020
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Dear michellefitmom, we are sorry to read that you did not enjoy your experience because of the weather. Regarding our terms and conditions of sales they are clear and unfortunately we cannot proceed to a refund a day before the departure of your tour. Nevertheless, we understand your disappointment. If you remember your guide's name don't hesitate to contact us at feedback@pariscityvision.com we apologize again. Best regards, Thalia
    Written 16 January 2020
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    Mark K
    Owasco, NY74 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    We chose the hotel pick/up option with lunch/small group. I would definitely recommend this experience. We had a wonderful guide Laura, who was very informative and helpful as we navigated the key sites. Time is limited due to the transport duration to and from Paris, however we were able to experience some of the key American sites we were hoping to experience. (If we had more time during this trip to France, I may have opted for a 2-day excursion.) We had a wonderful lunch at La Ferme de la Rançonnière near Arromanches-les-Bains! Notwithstanding the solemnity of the total experience, lunch was a definite highlight of the trip.
    Written 16 February 2020
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Bonjour @N9294MQmarkk, Thank you for your feedback on your experience! We are sincerely delighted to read that you enjoyed your experience with us. We forwarded to Laura the message and be sure she'll be as pleased as we are. Do not hesitate to come back to us to plan your next stay in Paris. See you soon ! Best Regards, Jessica
    Written 17 February 2020
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    Jackson L
    Seattle, Washington, United States8 contributions
    3.0 of 5 bubbles
    The trip was very long for the tine in Normandie and the DDay experience. The guide was friendly but not expansive with information. Price was expensive and, for the cost, we could have done a private tour with a smaller group. The 360 movie was just okay.
    Written 6 September 2022
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

    Kate C
    3 contributions
    1.0 of 5 bubbles
    Jul 2023 • Couples
    We booked about 10 tours throughout our 14 day stay in France/Germany through a variety of companies. Every single tour company we used EXCEPT this on had excellent communication. The communication and customer service were horrible. We highly recommend touring the D-Day sites throughout Normandy, but do so with a company other than Paris CityVision.
    Written 15 July 2023
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

    Kendall S
    6 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Dec 2022 • Couples
    My husband and I LOVED this tour! The drive through the French countryside is to die for and our guide was so personable and knowledgeable. This would have been impossible or, at least, overwhelming to do on our own. The bus transportation was fantastic and we were able to get to the hotel easily via the metro. Also, the itinerary doesn’t mention where food will be made available specifically but there are lots of food and bathroom stops. Can’t recommend this enough! Pack warmly in the winter. Buses have charging ports too.
    Written 1 January 2023
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

    Jean X
    2 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    May 2023
    Our family of four recently joined a guided tour to the Normandy Beaches, and I must say our tour guide was absolutely outstanding. He possessed a wealth of knowledge about World War II, along with his personal connections with stories. Also, he skillfully managed our time throughout the tour, ensuring a seamless itinerary. I initially anticipated a tiring experience, but to my surprise, it was anything but exhausting.
    Written 29 May 2023
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

    GSnells_Miami
    Hollywood, FL8 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Good trip, only 17 people (25 max) and tour guide was informative. Stops were a bit short but plenty of time to see everything. We packed snacks (read other reviews) but bus stopped on way up and back. Liked out snacks better, also bus gets locked during stops so bring extra gear you do t have to carry it but nice to have in case of rain or cold weather. I’d do again. Big tour bus was comfortable. Some smaller buses I saw didn’t look as roomy.
    Written 16 May 2022
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

    Dwaine H
    3 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Feb 2020 • Friends
    We enjoyed our Normandy tour so much. Our guide was excellent- very Knowledgeable, easy to understand and very helpful with questions and small details. The tour went at a good pace and was just what we were looking for. We would take it again!
    Written 3 February 2020
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Dear @32dwaineh Thank you for sharing your experience. We are happy to read that you enjoyed your visit in Normandy. A lot of people enjoy this tour that we are lucky enough to be able to offer you. If your remember your guide's names please contact us at feedback@pariscityvision.com We will share your kind review with him/her. We are proud to be a part of your holidays and we hope to see you again in Paris. Thank you for trusting us. Best Regards, Jessica PARIS CITY VISION Quality Team
    Written 7 February 2020
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    Showing results 1-10 of 217

    Normandy D-Day Beaches and American Cemetery Day Trip from Paris provided by Paris City Vision

    All Paris HotelsParis Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Paris
    All things to do in Paris
    Day Trips in Paris
    RestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire