Tours and Tickets

Small-Group or Private Crypts, Bone Chapel and Catacombs Tour provided by Walks of Italy

Reserve Now & Pay Later

Small-Group or Private Crypts, Bone Chapel and Catacombs Tour

Save
Share
Support this operator:Times are tough for the travel community right now. To show your support, consider leaving a review or posting photos of tours and experiences you have taken. Your support will go a long way in helping tour operators worldwide get back on their feet down the road
View all photos (33)
Select Date and Travellers
From
US$74.67
(Price varies by group size)
Date
2 adults
Options
Reserve Now & Pay Later
Low Price Guarantee
Overview
Explore Rome’s many layers of history on this guided walking tour through some of its most religiously significant—and perhaps creepiest—sites. With visits to lesser-known catacombs and crypts, including the Capuchin bone crypt, you see a different side of Rome that many travelers miss, hearing guide commentary along the way. A small group size means plenty of time to ask questions.
Itinerary
+
You'll start at
Fontana del Tritone
Piazza Barberini, 00187 Roma RM, ItalyIn Piazza Barberini, just by the Triton fountain in the middle of the square.
See address & details
  • Pass by Fontana del Tritone
    Pass by Piazza Barberini
  • 1
    Museum and Crypt of Capuchins
    Stop: 40 minutes - Admission included
    See details
  • 2
    Catacombe San Sebastiano
    Stop: 45 minutes - Admission included
    See details
  • 3
    Mausoleo di Cecilia Metella
    Stop: 50 minutes -
    See details
You'll end at
Piramide
00154 Rome, Metropolitan City of Rome, Italy
See address & details
Highlights
  • Visit lesser-known catacombs like the Catacomb of Santa Priscilla 
  • Travel with a small group in tunnels where larger ones simply can’t fit
  • Great way to escape the heat during the summer months
  • Gain insight into the history of early Christianity in Rome
What to Expect
Your tour begins in one of the city’s most compelling Roman catacombs, where persecuted Christians were once buried. Your guide leads your small group and tells you about the early history of Christianity. Walk along atmospheric tunnels to see frescos and religious depictions. Next, head to the Capuchin bone crypt, an underground cemetery festooned with the remains of thousands of Capuchin friars. Learn why monks consider the macabre sight life-affirming. Visit a few other lesser-visited locations and see the original structures, which are built into the existing church and left exposed. Head topside, and bid your guide arrivederci.
Show More
Important Information
Departure Point
Fontana del Tritone, Piazza Barberini, 00187 Roma RM, Italy
Duration
3h 15m
Return Details
Piramide, 00154 Rome, Metropolitan City of Rome, Italy
Inclusions
  • Transport between sites in an air-conditioned bus
  • Expert English-speaking tour guide
  • Admission to all sites
  • Entry/Admission - Museum and Crypt of Capuchins
  • Entry/Admission - Catacombe San Sebastiano
Exclusions
  • Gratuities
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off
Show More
Additional Info
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Unfortunately we are unable to accommodate guests with mobility impairments, wheelchairs or strollers on this tour
  • Photography is not allowed in the sites visited on this tour, due to their religious nature
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Most travellers can participate
Cancellation Policy
For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
183Reviews
11Q&A
Traveller rating
  • 84
  • 5
  • 1
  • 0
  • 1
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Popular mentions
Jim D wrote a review Jun 2020
Spokane Valley, Washington5 contributions6 helpful votes
Walks LLC does not honor it cancellation policy. The cancellation policy states: "Walks LLC offers a full refund on cancellations made more than 72 hours prior to tour commencement." I made my initial tour reservations for a party of eight people traveling together on credit
Read more
Date of experience: February 2020
6 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from TakeWalksSF, Guest Relations Manager at Small-Group or Private Crypts, Bone Chapel and Catacombs Tour
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Jim D, We are sorry to learn that you did not have a satisfactory experience with us. That is far from what we want for our clients, and that is why we kindly ask that you contact us at info@takewalks.com referencing your TripAdvisor name as we would love to talk more about your experience and promptly resolve your case. We look forward to speaking with you soon! Warmest regards, The Walks Team
Read more
majesty318 wrote a review Mar 2020
Rahway, New Jersey1,574 contribution274 helpful votes
You never know what you are going to get with a guided tour - will the guide be any good? Will there be a million participants and you can't hear anything? Luckily, Walks of Italy was fantastic, especially the guide Andrea. He told is he is a historian, but his knowledge
Read more
Date of experience: February 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from TakeWalksSF, Guest Relations Manager at Small-Group or Private Crypts, Bone Chapel and Catacombs Tour
Responded 10 Mar 2020
Dear majesty31, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us! We are thrilled to read you had such a wonderful time on our Crypts,Bones and Catacombs tour, and that you enjoyed both the guide and sites so much! We are also happy to hear you were satisfied with our Customer service team, and that you appreciated their prompt replies. We strive to provide only the best possible experiences to our clients and hope you will have the opportunity to visit us again, perhaps in other countries, soon! All our best,
Read more
Christine wrote a review Feb 2020
13 contributions6 helpful votes
I am so glad I booked this tour. It’s lesser known but really adds depth to your understanding of the city and the layers beneath it. The catacombs are fascinating- you get to go down inside and see where the first Christians buried their dead in secret before Christianity was
Read more
Helpful
Share
Response from TakeWalksSF, Guest Relations Manager at Small-Group or Private Crypts, Bone Chapel and Catacombs Tour
Responded 20 Feb 2020
Hi Christinesolo20 We are so glad that you loved our Crypts and Catacombs tour! It is certainly a fascinating look at Rome's past, and we believe every visitor to this ancient city should try to go at least once. Thank you for joining us and for your very kind and thoughtful review, it is much appreciated. The Walks Team
Read more
Helen A wrote a review Jan 2020
Tamworth, Australia4 contributions2 helpful votes
We recently took this tour with few expectations (being from Australia) and had a wonderful time. Our guide Andrea had a broad knowledge of the sites and their history. He was able to give a well informed and appropriately entertaining guide of each site. A highlight for our
Read more
Helpful
Share
Response from TakeWalksSF, Guest Relations Manager at Small-Group or Private Crypts, Bone Chapel and Catacombs Tour
Responded 16 Jan 2020
Hi L3203JZhelena, It is terrific to hear that our Crypts and Catacombs tour was an all-round success for you and your family! It can be hard to know what to expect on such a unique experience, but we feel this is a fascinating exploration of the Eternal City's ancient past. Thank you so much for joining us, and for your kind recommendation! Warm regards, The Walks Team
Read more
loro_44 wrote a review Jan 2020
Morristown, New Jersey30 contributions13 helpful votes
Julia was a terrific guide. We really enjoyed learning about the capuchins and the catacombs. She was so well versed in the history of the subject and very fun in her presentation. This was our third trip to Rome and we really wanted to see and do things we had previously
Read more
Date of experience: January 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from TakeWalksSF, Guest Relations Manager at Small-Group or Private Crypts, Bone Chapel and Catacombs Tour
Responded 9 Jan 2020
Hi loro_44 Thank you so much for joining us for a tour of the catacombs and crypts of Rome, and for taking the time to share your experience. We think that this is a fascinating experience for those interested in Rome's past, and we are so glad that you agree. Hopefully, we will get another chance to tour with you again soon, we would love to have you back! The Walks Team
Read more
About the operator

Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator.

By: Walks of Italy
Michael B
00
SCAM! Dishonest company
SCAM, SCAM, SCAM!!! We booked several Walks of Italy tours for this month and our flights were canceled. Walks of I
Read more
wvunot
00
Do not use this company
I had to cancel my tour due to Covid-19. It took me 3 MONTHS to get my refund! They would not answer the phone no
Read more
_blwiebe1
00
This tour company does not honour their cancellation policy.
This tour was advertised as being totally cancellable. For the last 4 months I have been trying to get a refund on
Read more
thumperrr3
00
Buyer beware!
Do not use this company, they refuse to honor their cancelation policy due to covid. Use viator instead!
Read more
tarentooten
00
Awesome Tour to See Rome in a Day
I went on this full-day tour in June 2019 and it was an awesome experience. Our tour guide Luigi was great and did
Read more
jennaphllps
00
!!!BEWARE!!! DO NOT USE!!!! DOES NOT HONOR CANCELLATION POLICY!!!!
I booked a tour for June 12, 2020 with Walks of Italy for the Early Entry Sistine Chapel and St. Peter's Basilica E
Read more
359mariap
00
THIS COMPANY DOES NOT HONOUR THEIR CANCELLATION POLICY - DO NOT BOOK!
We booked an Exclusive Alone in St. Mark's & Doge's Palace Tour for May 24. We cancelled the tour on March 12th wh
Read more
415brittaneyt
00
Can't wait to do it again!
Best cooking class ever! Denise and Roberto were excellent teachers. Wonderful personalities which makes all the
Read more
kgilbert78
00
Highlight of Our Trip
May have been the best part of our trip to Italy. Mauro was a knowledgeable guide (he's written a good book about t
Read more
BriannaS48
00
No Refund Despite Promises
Do not do business with these crooks! I've booked 3 tours that were all supposed to happen at the end of May. I can
Read more
geordie29
00
Ripped off
I cancelled a June tour at the beginning of March. I was offered a credit which I didn't want I was told a refund w
Read more
WIllied425
00
Refund promised, then retracted!
I cancelled well within time for a full refund. They first said I would get a full refund. A few weeks later, asked
Read more
lisa_marie_irwin
00
Terrible company who backs out of promised refunds!!!! Book City Wonders instead!!!
Like everyone else on here i have not received the refund i was expecting. I cancelled my tours on March 25, 2020
Read more
NewMomCanada
00
Customer Service is Terrible - Book with ANY OTHER COMPANY
I cancelled my tours over 2 months ago. Their cancellation policy clearly states that if you cancel within 72 hour
Read more
NicoleSK
00
This company BLOWS!
Another complaint about the way this company does business. I cancelled this scheduled tour in February for a Marc
Read more
Key Details
  • Duration: 3h 15m
  • Mobile Ticket Accepted
  • Free Cancellation up to 24 hours in advance
  • Instant Confirmation
  • Languages Offered: English
Why Book on Tripadvisor?
  • Reserve Now & Pay Later
  • Free Cancellation up to 24 hours in advance
  • Low Price Guarantee
  • No Booking Fees
  • Secure Payments
  • 24/7 SupportCall:+44 12 2492 8241

Cultural Tours

Frequently Asked Questions about Small-Group or Private Crypts, Bone Chapel and Catacombs Tour