Tours and Tickets

Gladiator Gate and Arena Floor Special Access Colosseum Tour provided by Walks of Italy

Reserve Now & Pay Later

Gladiator Gate and Arena Floor Special Access Colosseum Tour

Save
Share
Support this operator:Times are tough for the travel community right now. To show your support, consider leaving a review or posting photos of tours and experiences you have taken. Your support will go a long way in helping tour operators worldwide get back on their feet down the road
View all photos (424)
Select Date and Travellers
From
US$62.48
Date
2 adults
Options
Select tour language
Reserve Now & Pay Later
Low Price Guarantee
Overview
See the Colosseum through the eyes of gladiators on this tour that gives you entry through the Gladiator Gate. Bypassing the long lines that often snake around the ancient stadium, just step inside, straight onto the arena floor. Walk where the gladiatorial games once took place, as you learn the stadium’s history and then visit the ruins of Palatine Hill and the Roman Forum.
Itinerary
+
You'll start at
Via delle Terme di Tito, 73
Via delle Terme di Tito, 73, 00184 Roma RM, ItalyMeet your guide at the entrance of Colle Oppio Park on the corner of Via di Terme di Tito and Via Nicola Salvi. The entrance is opposite Oppio caffè. Colle Oppio Park is located on the corner of Via di Terme di Tito and Via Nicola Salvi. If arriving by metro, please note that there are two entrances/exits for the metro. The caffè where we meet is located on the street above the metro station. You can take the stairs up either inside the metro station or from outside. Once you arrive to the street above the metro, face the colosseum and then walk to your left 150 meters and you will find the Oppio Caffè on the corner and the entrance on the opposite side.
See address & details
  • 1
    Palatine Hill
    Stop: 60 minutes - Admission included
    See details
  • 2
    Colosseum
    Stop: 60 minutes - Admission included
    See details
  • 3
    Roman Forum
    Stop: 60 minutes - Admission included
    See details
    Pass by Arco di Costantino
You'll end at
Foro Romano
Foro Romano, 00186 Roma RM, ItalyColosseum/Roman Forum
See address & details
Highlights
  • No waiting at the Colosseum with admission through a reserved entranceway
  • Learn the Colosseum’s history through your guide’s commentary
  • Catch all of your guide’s stories with the help of provided headphones
  • Skip the line at the Roman Forum and Palatine Hill to spend more time inside
What to Expect
With your skip-the-line ticket in hand, follow your guide inside the Colosseum via a special side gate that opens onto the arena floor. Stepping straight into the footsteps of the gladiators, walk around the arena floor itself, an area that’s normally out of bounds on standard Colosseum tours. As you learn the stadium’s history through tales of gladiators, wild beasts, and emperors, explore the first tier and visit a vantage point to gaze down at the Roman Forum. Continue your tour outside the amphitheater with a stroll to Palatine Hill and the Roman Forum. Learn about daily life in the days of Imperial Rome, and discover the history that harks back to the ruins’ glory days. Your tour ends after the Roman Forum visit. NOTE: There is a new rule at the Colosseum, Roman Forum and Palatine Hill that only small backpacks and regular-size handbags are allowed inside. Guests with larger bags are not allowed to enter (there are no storage facilities) and all guests must now pass through a security check before entering the Colosseum.
Show More
Important Information
Departure Point
Via delle Terme di Tito, 73, 00184 Roma RM, Italy
Duration
2h 30m
Return Details
Foro Romano, 00186 Roma RM, Italy
Inclusions
  • Skip the line access at the Roman Forum & Palatine Hill
  • Expert English speaking licensed tour guides
  • Headsets for every guest
  • Groups of 19 people or fewer
  • No-wait entrance to the Colosseum via the Gladiator’s Gate
  • Entry/Admission - Palatine Hill
  • Entry/Admission - Colosseum
  • Entry/Admission - Roman Forum
  • Guaranteed to skip the lines
Exclusions
  • Gratuities
  • Hotel Pick-Up/Drop-Off
Show More
Additional Info
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Important Note: Due to Covid19, until the end of 2020, this tour will be amended to ensure your safety: - Group size and tour duration may be reduced. This will be amended as as Covid restrictions relax in accordance with local regulations.
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Important Note: There is a new rule at the Colosseum, Roman Forum and Palatine Hill that only small backpacks and regular-size handbags are allowed inside. Guests with larger bags will not be allowed to enter (there are no storage facilities) and all guests must now pass through a security check before entering the Colosseum.
  • Please ensure that all members of your party have a valid ID on them on the day of the visit.
  • Unfortunately we are unable to accommodate guests with strollers on this tour.
  • Please note, this tour is wheelchair accessible with some difficulties. We advise clients to contact Walks Customer Service Team to make further arrangements.
  • Comfortable shoes are reccomended
  • Most travellers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 19 travellers
Cancellation Policy
For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
811Reviews
63Q&A
Traveller rating
  • 548
  • 45
  • 17
  • 6
  • 12
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
More
Popular mentions
Diane wrote a review 10 Jul
1 contribution2 helpful votes
I had to cancel my tour due to Covid-19. It took me 3 MONTHS to get my refund! They would not answer the phone nor emails. I finally had to get my credit card company to help me get my "guaranteed" refund. This is a very unbusiness-like business!
Read more
Date of experience: June 2020
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from TakeWalksSF, Guest Relations Manager at Gladiator Gate and Arena Floor Special Access Colosseum Tour
Responded 4 days ago
Dear wvunot, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your feedback and are sorry to learn about your negative experience thus far. We take customer reviews seriously and we always seek to find effective solutions. That is why we kindly ask that you reach out to us at info@takewalks.com referencing your TripAdvisor username, and we will ensure your case is resolved promptly. Warmest regards, The Walks Team
Read more
kgilbert78 wrote a review Jun 2020
Columbus, Ohio2,420 contributions239 helpful votes
May have been the best part of our trip to Italy. Mauro was a knowledgeable guide (he's written a good book about the Colosseum, which we purchased when we got home). He had good explanations, good stories, and had a picture guide with him that helped us see what things were
Read more
Date of experience: July 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from TakeWalksSF, Guest Relations Manager at Gladiator Gate and Arena Floor Special Access Colosseum Tour
Responded 2 weeks ago
Hello kgilbert78, Thank you for your glowing review. Learning that our tour may have been the best part of your trip is truly heartwarming and makes us all the more proud of the work that we do. We will be sure forward your review to Mauro as it will certainly make his day just as it did ours. We hope that you will get the opportunity to share another walk with us soon! Warmest regards, The Walks Team
Read more
BettyMartha31 wrote a review May 2020
Kernersville, North Carolina6 contributions1 helpful vote
Cancelled two tours booked with this company due to CO19. Asked me if I wanted a credit. I said no. Asked me again. My answer didn't change. Two months later and I still don't have my refund of almost $700. They've quit responding to my emails requesting an update.
Read more
Date of experience: May 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from TakeWalksSF, Guest Relations Manager at Gladiator Gate and Arena Floor Special Access Colosseum Tour
Responded 7 Jun 2020
Dear BettyMartha31, We would like to express our apologies for the delay in your refund request being processed. As you can imagine Covid19 has had a tremendous effect on the travel industry as a whole, and for Walks, this has meant a reduction in our team. Unfortunately, as a ripple effect, this has meant that our processing times have been longer than we would like, but our team is working around the clock to resolve this. To reduce the workload we have sent out incentive plans to our guests, however, we understand that this may not be to the choosing of some, and in those cases, we are indeed working towards processing these requests. Customer satisfaction is our number one priority above and we seek to come to a satisfactory resolution for your case and kindly ask you reach out to our feedback team at info@takewalks.com to ensure that your issue is resolved promptly. Warmest regards, The Walks Team
Read more
Giles Family wrote a review May 2020
1 contribution2 helpful votes
We booked this tour for our family of 5 back in 2019 for a trip to Italy in May 2020. Unfortunately, COVID caused the cancellation of our flights and cruise, and we were forced to cancel this tour. We read the cancellation policy which stated it was fully refundable, and so in
Read more
Date of experience: May 2020
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from TakeWalksSF, Guest Relations Manager at Gladiator Gate and Arena Floor Special Access Colosseum Tour
Responded 17 May 2020
Hello Y8959QIjackr, We are terribly sorry for the delay in your refund request. Unfortunately, with the ongoing COVID-19 crisis causing massive shifts in travel around the world, in virtually every one of our markets, many of our guests have had to cancel which has consequently resulted in a backlog, but please rest assured that your refund will be processed as per our cancellation policy. We work so hard to ensure our clients have the best possible experience and always strive to find a solution. If you're interested in discussing this matter further with our feedback team feel free to reach out at info@takewalks.com. All the best, The Walks Team
Read more
happy birthday wrote a review Mar 2020
Sydney, Australia5 contributions1 helpful vote
we Booked this tour and on the morning of the tour we were informed that musuems and such were closed. We had the offer to cancel or take the revised tour, which we did. We walked around the colosseum then the tour guide took us through the city streets to a number of other
Read more
Date of experience: March 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from TakeWalksSF, Guest Relations Manager at Gladiator Gate and Arena Floor Special Access Colosseum Tour
Responded 29 Mar 2020
Hi bpop12, We are thrilled to learn that our guide was able to provide you with the excellent customer experience that we always strive to achieve despite the circumstances. We hope that you had a fantastic time in Rome and that you are keeping safe. We look forward to touring with you soon. Warmest regards, The Walks Team
Read more
About the operator

Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator.

By: Walks of Italy
X7229GMbrucek
00
Cancellation policy not honored
Walks of Italy will not honor their cancellation policy and refund paid tours for which our trip was canceled due t
Read more
karladC3593JA
00
Ripped Off! Do not use this company!
Do not book with this company! Even when they promised a full refund I'm still waiting after 4 months! Multiple c
Read more
Michael B
00
SCAM! Dishonest company
SCAM, SCAM, SCAM!!! We booked several Walks of Italy tours for this month and our flights were canceled. Walks of I
Read more
_blwiebe1
00
This tour company does not honour their cancellation policy.
This tour was advertised as being totally cancellable. For the last 4 months I have been trying to get a refund on
Read more
thumperrr3
00
Buyer beware!
Do not use this company, they refuse to honor their cancelation policy due to covid. Use viator instead!
Read more
tarentooten
00
Awesome Tour to See Rome in a Day
I went on this full-day tour in June 2019 and it was an awesome experience. Our tour guide Luigi was great and did
Read more
jennaphllps
00
!!!BEWARE!!! DO NOT USE!!!! DOES NOT HONOR CANCELLATION POLICY!!!!
I booked a tour for June 12, 2020 with Walks of Italy for the Early Entry Sistine Chapel and St. Peter's Basilica E
Read more
359mariap
00
THIS COMPANY DOES NOT HONOUR THEIR CANCELLATION POLICY - DO NOT BOOK!
We booked an Exclusive Alone in St. Mark's & Doge's Palace Tour for May 24. We cancelled the tour on March 12th wh
Read more
415brittaneyt
00
Can't wait to do it again!
Best cooking class ever! Denise and Roberto were excellent teachers. Wonderful personalities which makes all the
Read more
BriannaS48
00
No Refund Despite Promises
Do not do business with these crooks! I've booked 3 tours that were all supposed to happen at the end of May. I can
Read more
geordie29
00
Ripped off
I cancelled a June tour at the beginning of March. I was offered a credit which I didn't want I was told a refund w
Read more
WIllied425
00
Refund promised, then retracted!
I cancelled well within time for a full refund. They first said I would get a full refund. A few weeks later, asked
Read more
Jim D
00
Walks LLC does not honor its cancellation policy.
Walks LLC does not honor it cancellation policy. The cancellation policy states: "Walks LLC offers a full refund o
Read more
lisa_marie_irwin
00
Terrible company who backs out of promised refunds!!!! Book City Wonders instead!!!
Like everyone else on here i have not received the refund i was expecting. I cancelled my tours on March 25, 2020
Read more
NewMomCanada
00
Customer Service is Terrible - Book with ANY OTHER COMPANY
I cancelled my tours over 2 months ago. Their cancellation policy clearly states that if you cancel within 72 hour
Read more
Key Details
  • Duration: 2h 30m
  • Mobile Ticket Accepted
  • Free Cancellation up to 24 hours in advance
  • Instant Confirmation
  • Languages Offered: English, Italian
Why Book on Tripadvisor?
  • Reserve Now & Pay Later
  • Free Cancellation up to 24 hours in advance
  • Low Price Guarantee
  • No Booking Fees
  • Secure Payments
  • 24/7 SupportCall:+44 12 2492 8241

Travellers also viewed

Fast track Colosseum with Arena floor small group tour
from $64.79*
Popular: Booked by 9,400 travellers!
Colosseum with Arena Access and Ancient Rome Small Group Tour
from $63.63*
Popular: Booked by 4,145 travellers!
 Colosseum Underground and Roman Forum Tour
from $68.26*
Popular: Booked by 975 travellers!
Small-Group Ancient Rome and Colosseum Underground Tour
from $49.75*
Popular: Booked by 5,011 travellers!

Cultural Tours

Frequently Asked Questions about Gladiator Gate and Arena Floor Special Access Colosseum Tour