Tours and Tickets

Mt. Etna and Taormina provided by Joe Banana Limos

Mt. Etna and Taormina
4
Book in advance
from
£277.98
per adult (price varies by group size)
About
Experience this part of Sicily and discover a fragile world that thrives on and is threatened by its surroundings. Mt. Etna, where the legend says the god of fire Hephaestus has its forges, is a spectacular active volcano that offers a mixed panorama, made of lunar deserts of black lava and lush vineyards where the local DOC wine is produced. Taormina, perched on the side of the mountain and very close to the volcano, is a famous resort town where the second largest Roman theatre in Sicily is located. This incredible example of Roman architecture is still used today and several performances throughout the year are hosted there.
Know before you go
  • Duration: 8-9 hours
  • Mobile tickets accepted
Cancellation policy
  • All sales are final and incur 100% cancellation penalties.
Available languages
English
Know before you go
  • Duration: 8-9 hours
  • Mobile tickets accepted
Available languages
English
Cancellation policy
  • All sales are final and incur 100% cancellation penalties.
Need help booking?
Call the number below and use the product code: 165410P1
Call +44 12 2492 8241
Important information
Inclusions
  • Private transportation
  • Air-conditioned vehicle
  • stop at Mt Etna
  • Stop in Taormina
Exclusions
  • Entrance fees, if required
  • Meals and Drinks
  • Gratuities
Duration
8–9 hours
Departure details
  • Traveller pickup is offered.
  • Ports:
  • Messina port
  • Catania Port
  • Porto di Giardini Naxos, Via Schisò, 98035 Giardini Naxos ME, Italy
Additional information
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Infant seats available
  • Travellers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • This is a private tour/activity. Only your group will participate
Inclusions
  • Private transportation
  • Air-conditioned vehicle
  • stop at Mt Etna
  • Stop in Taormina
Exclusions
  • Entrance fees, if required
  • Meals and Drinks
  • Gratuities
Departure details
  • Traveller pickup is offered.
  • Ports:
  • Messina port
  • Catania Port
  • Porto di Giardini Naxos, Via Schisò, 98035 Giardini Naxos ME, Italy
Duration
8–9 hours
Return details
  • Returns to original departure point
Additional information
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Infant seats available
  • Travellers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • This is a private tour/activity. Only your group will participate
Itinerary
  • You'll get picked up
    See Important Information for details
  • 1
    Mount Etna
    Stop: 60 minutes
    See details
  • 2
    Taormina Film Festival
    Stop: 2 hours
    See details
  • You'll return to the starting point
+

4.0
9 reviews
Excellent
5
Very good
2
Average
0
Poor
2
Terrible
0

Michellecampbell25
London, Canada18 contributions
Don't see Italy with Anyone Else but Joe Bananas!
Jun 2019 • Friends
Our group of four booked the Godfather/Taormina Tour with Joe Bananas out of Messina in June of 2019. Antonio was our wonderful tour guide who did a wonderful job looking after us for the day. I travelled with Joe Bananas on two previous trips to Europe. Two things distinguish this tour company - local, knowledgable guides and tour packages that are unique. Antonio's knowledge of the local area was impressive - he seemed to know people everywhere we went! as a result, he was able to get us into places no other tours seem to offer. We enjoyed a very full day and we seemed to be ahead of all of the full length tour buses along the route. Couldn't be happier with Joe Bananas and highly recommend them. Thanks, Antonio for looking after us!
Written 10 June 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dear Michellecampbell25, Thank you for your gracious review. We are happy to hear about your level of satisfaction and we will make sure that Antonio hears about it too. Our drivers do their best everyday to make the most of your shore excursions, from punctuality and professionalism to being informative and friendly, sharing stories and fun facts about the several places you visit, and being our drivers all local and very well versed in their area, this make our tours unique experiences that you will remember forever! It would be our honor to provide you with services again!
Written 20 October 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Lisa L
Clarkston, WA8 contributions
We loved Sicily. Ricardo did a fantastic job as our driver and guide. Highly recommend!!
Sep 2018 • Couples
Joe Banana Limo service didn't disappoint on Sicily. Ricardo picked us up promptly for our Godfather and Taormina tour. He was very knowledgeable about all of the sites we visited, and we thoroughly enjoyed every minute. We highly recommend Joe Banana Limos, and plan to use them again in the future.
Written 7 October 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dear Odyssey770188, Our drivers want to make your tours memorable and when we receive a kind review acknowledging such efforts, it reinforces our goals for customer satisfaction. Thank you for sharing your satisfaction with our services and for expressing your intention of using them again in the future, we do look forward to having you and your family as our guests soon!
Written 20 October 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Jessica S
Calgary, Canada370 contributions
Sicily was spectacular
Jun 2018 • Friends
I went on the Godfather tour and it was fabulous. Our driver was terrific knowlegeable and very helpful. I would return to Taormina in a heartbeat. Reliving the Godfather movies was fun. The streets were narrow and charming, the people ( mostly tourists ) were treated very well. I loved this tour. It was raining lightly and it made the atmosphere special. the winding roads were something else. I liked seeing the sculpures the local artist did as a nod to Scorsese director of the Godfather.
Written 8 July 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dear starkman2017, We want to thank you for the time you took to write about your experience with our company. We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your tour and that your driver was able to provide you with an excellent service. We really do take pride in our work and consider this much more than a job. We thank you again for choosing JBL and hope to see you in the future! Thanks again!
Written 20 October 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

mikee332
Marco Island, FL61 contributions
Godfather and Taormina tour
Jun 2018 • Couples
We had used Joe Banana tours in our other stops in Italy and were satisfied with them and they didn't disappoint here either. If you are a Godfather fan this is right up your alley. We were taken to the town of Savoca by our driver/guide who was also prepared for the day with umbrella's, as there was a chance for some showers, very thoughtful.
They shot 2 scenes here, The Bar Vitteli, and the church were he married Apollonia. We also went to Forza d'Agro, another small village with a church scene from Godfather 2.
From here we went to Taormina, a touristy town with lots of shops and some scenic views.
I recommended JB tours in our other stops and would do so again here.
Written 2 July 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dear mikee332, Thank you for your gracious review. We are so happy to hear that your experience with our company was positive. Our drivers do their best everyday to make the most of your shore excursions, from punctuality and professionalism to being informative and friendly, they pride themselves in giving you an experience that you will remember forever!. We appreciate when we receive a review such as yours as it reinforces our efforts for your tour satisfaction. Thank you once again for your time in writing this review and for allowing us to show you our beautiful country! We hope to see you again in the future
Written 20 October 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

mura831
Brooklyn, NY6 contributions
Tour from Catania to Mt Etna and Taormina, May 2018
May 2018 • Friends
Luca was an excellent guide for this enjoyable tour to Mt. Etna and then Taormina. Since we'd been to Taormina just a few months earlier we took his advice for lunch at a small place a bit off the main road. Excellent English and plenty of information for our group of 8.
Written 9 June 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dear mura831, We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your tour with our company in Sicily. It sounds like you were able to discuss your preferences for the day and your driver was able to accommodate them well. We love receiving this type of feedback because we do our best to be flexible when organizing the tours as well as on the actual tour day to make yours a personal trip. Thank you once again for choosing us and for writing about your experience for others to know. We do hope to welcome you back soon.
Written 20 October 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

lizwoods49
Dublin, OH49 contributions
Sicily, Italy
Apr 2018 • Couples
Our party of 4 prebooked a tour in Sicily recently while on a Celebrity Cruise. We used Joe Banana Limos for the tour. The driver was a great guy and a great driver who took us on the Godfather Tour and Taormina. The problem was we could not understand his English. The couple with us used Joe Banana for a private tour of Rome and one of The Amalfie Coast. Both of those drivers spoke fluent English. The company seems to be good overall but be sure to ask for an English speaking driver.
Written 1 June 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dear lizwood49, We want to thank you for the time you took to write about your experience with our company. We are very sorry to hear that you found your driver English level not to be satisfactory and we will make sure to take action regarding this matter, nevertheless we are also to know that your overall experience was great. we hope to see you again in the future and have the chance to offer you an excellent service during your next visit in our beautiful Country!
Written 20 October 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Gonzo
Park City, UT3 contributions
Mt. Aetna/Taormina all day van ride
Apr 2018 • Couples
We were expecting an interesting, informative tour of these two areas in Sicily. We'd been looking forward to learning about the local history (ie: Greeks, Romans, WWII) for months. Instead, we got a chauffeured van ride with no narration. Luca, our "guide", merely drove us to Mt. Aetna, said no words on the long drive unless we asked, and dropped us off for a short hike (after giving us a minute or so of eruption history). So, we then proceeded on another long, silent drive. The only conversation was amongst the 6 tourists onboard. No history, no color, nothing from our driver (guide) unless asked. Too bad, as he grew up in this area. We were then deposited in the tourists/shoppers haven of Taormina for 2 hours, on our own, with no background or history provided. No tour of the town, just dropped off/picked up.
Basically, I knew more from Wikipedia about these sites than our "guide" was willing to share. We felt ripped off, as it was a long day with no history provided.
Written 24 April 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dear Bruce, We would firstly like to thank you for your time in leaving this feedback after your recent shared service in Sicily with Italy Tour Sharing. We do always appreciate to hear from our guests as we strongly believe that feedback is the strongest tool to help a company grown and improve their game. We are surprised to hear you were not satisfied with Luca's level of information provided along the way with this tour as we did not receive any negative feedback from the other group's components and based on our previous experiences, he usually is a really appreciate member of staff and will make sure to follow this up with him to see what happened on this occasion. We do feel the need to point out, that as per explaination on our website and info provided via email, our drivers are not professional licensed guides and can only assist with general information and fun facts around the area you visit and only from inside the vehicle, as leaving the vehicle with guests could result in authorities checks and license loss with high fines. We would nevertheless like to thank you for your feedback and apologize if we did not provide the level of service you were expecting from us and would love to welcome you back on a different occasion to do our best to provide with the level of service we have become quite known for over the years.
Written 20 October 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Att2d
Colleyville, TX26 contributions
Amazing first half of the tour! The 2nd half was horrible
Jun 2017 • Couples
I have used Joe Banana several times in the past and I always highly recommend them to other travelers.

The first half of this tour was amazing! Luka our driver/guide picked us up promptly and got us to the villages before the crowds. The views were amazing and Luka provided excellent information. He even knocked on the door of an older women who had been in one of the Godfather films. She came to the door and showed us her framed photo of her scene in the movie.

We had one stop at an establishment for a taste of Almond Wine and to take in some amazing views. For some, this establishment would be offensive and pornographic. It is "adult" themed and in my opinion, is very inappropriate for a family with young children or for anyone who is very conservative. I'm not sure if this stop is included on all tours or if the driver gauges the tour group. The wine was excellent.

There were several spots where we asked about having something to eat and were told, we would eat later in Taormina and what was being offered in these other villages was not very good.

Taormina is where the tour fell apart for us. Be prepared to be dropped off at this overpriced, crowded tourist trap for 3.5 to 4 hours. That is half of your tour without a guide. If you are a shopper, you will be in heaven. If not, well, you know the name of the other place and that is what it was for us. At most, Taormina deserves to be a one hour stop. There are some nice views and a garden. Add another 45 minutes if you want to do the Greek Theater, but make sure the driver drops you off there and you have to navigate the crowds.

The good food we needed to wait for was at the restaurant where Luka dropped us off. The least expensive item on the menu was 12.50 Euros and that was for a plate of pasta with nothing on it but olive oil. One member of the tour spent 28 Euros on his lunch. The food was average at best. And be prepared to be charged a service charge in addition to the menu prices.

If you are a Godfather fan, but don't like to shop and/or want to avoid a long stay at a tourist trap, organize a private tour with Joe Banana--don't do the group tour. Be very specific that you only want to spend 1-1.5 hours at Taormina, and you don't want to eat lunch there. Ensure they don't try and fool you like our driver did by saying that you will only spend 1.5 to 2 hours there, and then later say the 1.5 hours budgeted for lunch was not in the "Taormina time.
Written 10 June 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dear Teri J, Thank you for taking the time in writing this review to share your experience with future customers. We are glad to hear you had a good start of the day with the shared tour but we sorry to hear the day did not proceed as expected. We would firstly like to clarify we have checked with your driver Luca about the reported “adult themed” winery you have visited during your tour, and although we are sorry to hear you have personally found that to be too explicit, the driver has informed us that he has firstly judged there were no minors in the group and has informed you of what was to be expected in the winery, which is - just to let possible future customers aware- a well known winery with a frontal view of Mt. Etna, full with references to the Sicilian heritage. As your driver surely explained, the penis is not intended in a dirty or vulgar way, but as the greek heritage would have it, as a form of fertility and of second birth. We are sorry this choice was not suitable to your preferences, usual feedback has it that the bar is one of the favorite stops on the tour. As per the lunch stop issue, our drivers do advise on timings and places where it would be best to stop based on technical reasons with itinerary and timings throughout the day for an optimal tour outcome. Unfortunately with shared tour services we do need our guests to be flexible with driver’s suggestions as we cannot tailor the day on a single party’s requirements. We are sorry you have found the restaurant to be expensive and lacking in quality, this is clearly something personal and we respect your opinion. As per your suggestion, guests who wish to go for a more customized day, where they can plan the itinerary directly with the driver can of course request a quote for a private day tour of the area. We do hope you will consider the option on your next trip to Italy and thank you again for your time.
Written 20 October 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

CatsAustralia
Melbourne, Australia254 contributions
Taormina and Godfather Tour
Oct 2016 • Couples
We take many cruises and usually take private tours which we have noted from the Cruise Critic Roll Call. Although the name sounds unusual, Joe Bananas Limos has shore tours departing from Cruise Ships at a number of Ports in Italy and nearly all reviews of their tours are rated excellent. Booking is simple through the website and the 8 seater a/c Mercedes van is ideal for 8 people. Not expensive for 8 people, but the cost is higher for less people. This beats ships tours as the van can access much closer to Taormina than large buses and as with our other Joe Bananas Limos tour was very professional.
Each person registers on the website with a credit card to guarantee payment, but payment is in cash and the credit card is only charged if someone who has registered and has not cancelled within the prescribed time, does not show. The organiser on the Ship should contact all participants on board and ensure everyone disembarks together so that the the tour leaves at the appointed time.
Giovanni met us close to the disembarking point and we travelled to the towns of Savoca and Forza D'Agrò.en route to Taormina. Savoca. is where Al Pacino filmed part of the Godfather film and a visit is made to the famous Bar Vitelli and the church of St. Lucy where the scene of the wedding between Apollonia and Michael was filmed.
The views along the way over the sea are spectacular from the steep cliffs, especially from the town of Forza D'Agrò. Taormina and this coast line are "must see" locations and although the recommended restaurant was closed on Mondays (lunch is not included in the tour), there are no end of restaurants and places to eat along with many interesting shops. We had an excellent lunch at Tutti cca, just off the main street. We did not visit the Greek Amphitheatre, but we probably should have. The food, Sicilian wine, the coffee and the gelato all added to a great day.
We were back in Messina in plenty of time before the departure of our cruise and I
don't think getting back on time should worry cruise passengers who use Joe Bananas Tours.
Highly recommended
Written 3 January 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dear CatsAustralia, Thank you ever so much for the positive review. We believe your review offers a very clear explanation of how our Italy Tour Sharing website works, which is something we are really proud of, as well as a great description of what to expect on our Taormina and Godfather tour. We do believe this is the best way for future guests to get to know us and our job: from a satisfied customer. We thank you once again and sincerely hope to be able to welcome you back on your next trip to Italy.
Written 20 October 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
About the operator

Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator.

By: Joe Banana Limos
Timmcl
Timmcl
00
Great driving tour with plenty of stops and lots of information and insights from Roberto (our driver).
Fabulous route along the seaside and climbing up the roadways to viewpoints with tremendous views. Great snack and
Andrea B
Andrea B
00
Godfather tour and Taromina
We had a fantastic tour on June 20th from Messina. Our driver/guide was wonderful and we all thoroughly enjoyed th
Bronwyn G
Bronwyn G
00
Something a little different to do on our one day in Sicily
Enjoyed our day seeing the sights of Sicily-Cyclops, Catania and Acireale-picturesque coastline, an amazing church
georgesX1183QG
georgesX1183QG
00
Taormina and Messina private tour
Did a little research and book this tour as our cruise was scheduled to stop here. We were fortunate to get Antoni
Judy and Allan S
Judy and Allan S
00
Joe Banana is top banana
We booked the Godfather Tour but it is so much more than that. Antonio, our guide, shared many insights into not o
Frequently Asked Questions about Mt. Etna and Taormina

Mt. Etna and Taormina price starts from £278.23. Discover and book Mt. Etna and Taormina on Tripadvisor

Mt. Etna and Taormina cancellation policy: All sales are final and incur 100% cancellation penalties. Discover and book Mt. Etna and Taormina on Tripadvisor

Mt. Etna and Taormina is hosted by Joe Banana Limos. Read reviews, discover additonal experiences or contact Joe Banana Limos on Tripadvisor. Discover and book Mt. Etna and Taormina on Tripadvisor